We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Excellent !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #22 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Langkawi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beyond Excellent !!!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

It is not always that you get a chance to experience something so beautiful and so magnificent that you would wish that moments like that would lasts forever . It is also a surprise that moments like that would come from experiencing a truly wonderful hotel stay .
My family and I checked into the Sterling after reading about it in the TripAdvisor . The 3 nights that we stayed there were truly magical . We checked into The Riley . We booked two rooms , as my children are already in their late teens . Check in was smooth . The rooms were huge , the finishing , wow , superb . The bathroom is truly a work of art . Since it was the Raya holidays , most part of the tourist spot ( all so very nearby The Sterling ) was crowded . However the location of The Sterling made it a breeze for us to move around . Special mention goes to Mr. Keith , with his knowledge of the nearby attraction made our stay a joy . Also to Hafiza and Zul at the Loft , and to Tony , so charming . Asther who greeted us with such warmth . As well to all the people at The Sterling . Thank you so very much for making our stay such a joy . Will definitely stay at The Sterling when we return . - Yogesh Thaker and Family Langkawi

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogesh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Mr.Yogesh Thaker

As with most holidays, Melaka enjoys the patronage of many visitors, and the focal point of the city centers around the historical heritage zone.

With our hotel location within that zone, guests do enjoy that easy reach especially so when road traffic is amplified during these short breaks.

All our rooms in The Sterling are interconnected making it easy for families to decide on extra rooms, whether they are for younger or older children.

Our Riley rooms are equipped with a Jacuzzi hot tub and makes for nice private time after all that walking around.

Thank you for the special mention of our staff, whom we constantly remind to assist our guests in any way possible.

It is our honour to have made your stay memorable and an enjoyment, and please accept our appreciation in sharing these beautiful thoughts with the Trip Advisor community.

We hope to see you again when you next come to Melaka.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    180
    83
    29
    18
See reviews for
147
140
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Spent the Hari Raya long weekend here. At first glance the hotel face doesn't actually face the road. This may seem like a disadvantage but believe me with the traffic around this was a great and valuable design.

Got upgraded to the Leyton, King Size bed, massive room! The welcome drink is nice (chinese pickled lime drink) on the 2nd floor. You are 10 mins away from Jonker, but once inside you don't notice the hussle and bussle of Malaka.

We wanted to go to the Mall to walk around, and the hotel has its own car service. For RM20, that is quite a bargain. I am very surprised that people have not discovered this hotel. Truly amazing stay.

Breakfast was ok. But compared to what you can get outside, this was amazing.

Although no gym/pool/spa, you can get this outside cheap anyways. Worth the high cost!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctrineofGabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear DoctrineofGabe

Melaka should not be mistaken for 'just another city' as the historical heritage part of the city is precisely where everyone wants to be. From the vendor to food eateries and the tourists, of course.

Our hotel location provides a very private space from parking to rooms, so with the hustle and bustle in the background, guests can venture out easily whilst knowing that the luxurious comforts of The Sterling is just around the corner.

Almost all the 'must see' sights are within 10 minutes from The Sterling, making it a strategic and preferred accommodation. Our Balcony bar provides that extra for those kicking back for a relaxing drink, and our welcome mocktail drink is changed regularly to suite that.

For instance, we are currently serving the cardinal punch, a mixture of pineapple and orange juice, with grenadine syrup and topped up with ginger ale, yet during your stay a mixture of pickled lime drink was served.

Our hotel van service charges minimal - the same as what taxies will charge, and was introduced when guests complained that street taxies do not come by that easily.

At The Sterling, we are constantly listening to what our guests are saying to ensure that their stay will be a memorable one for the right reasons.

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and we do hope you will tell your friends about us.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Strategic location, 5 mins walk to Jonker Street and Christchurch and this has 'saved' us from heavy traffic jam especially during public holiday. We've been ungraded from Windsor to Riley where Jaccuzzi tub is provided. Since we've a total of 4 family members, 2 extra single beds was provided. We were all impressed by the thougtfulness and service of this hotel! The simple meal is provided on Hari Raya day itself at lobby and is complimentary! Besides, a box of Malacca tradisional biscuits is sent to our door when we just checked in to our room. When we came back at night, we were surprise the cleaner has tidy up our room. The room is big and comfortable and perhaps the most important is it's clealiness. We have experienced the great thing of this hotel. Perhaps the only downside is the time taken to check out the room took a bit long time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel861024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Travel861024

Thank you for staying with us during your stay, and more importantly taking your time to review us.

Extra beds are integral in hotel operations to suit the needs of our guests, and like any other hotel, we have standard hotel extra beds with hard and soft mattresses. We have also been testing out a water bed in case there may be some request for this.
These are chargeable at RM80.00++ which includes breakfast.

The practise of giving traditional Malaccan cookies is something we are proud to showcase, 100% local produce for our guests to sample!

During the Hari Raya weekend (Al-Eid) the Malaysian 'Open House' concept was adopted for our guests to sample traditional Malaysian offerings when they visit their muslim friends.

We thank you once again and hope that you will return again.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My family spent just one but wonderful night in Malacca recently. As it was a long weekend for most Singaporeans, most of the popular hotels were fully booked. I called about 10 hotels before getting an affirmative on room availability @ The Sterling. It was the last room and I grabbed it. From the pictures on Tripadvisor, it looked like a decent hotel and I was looking forward to it. After a long day out and about in Malacca, we finally checked in at 4.00pm into a room called The Leyton. When we got to the room, my kids screamed in delight at the spaciousness and the modernity of it. The hotel told me it could easily fit a King Size bed as well as 2 extra single size beds. I was apprehensive about the space but I was proven wrong - there was enough space for my kids to run around and definitely space to fit in 2 more beds if you ask me! The room was how I like it - modern, clean and well lit. I will definitely stay at The Sterling again and would like to comment on the professionalism of its staff too. Special mention goes to Ms. Faizulah who helped me with the reservation a few days earlier and Keith who was at the hotel reservations desk. Keith was extremely helpful with our check-in and in suggesting places to eat around Malacca - he definitely added flavour to the colonial theme of the hotel with his crisp British accent. Thanks for the Sterling experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Rita D,

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel.

We are happy to note that you had pleasant experience during your stay.

Our Leyton rooms are configured differently to meet the requirements of our guests. With 37 rooms that make up 6 different categories, our most popular being The Leyton and Windsors, we recommend our guests to book early especially ahead of weekends.

Thank you once again for giving us the opportunity to serve you during your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We chose the hotel based on past reviews and thought staying in a colonial styled hotel would be an interesting experience. After a 2 night stay, my family and I are truly impressed with the rooms and the service rendered. My mother was experiencing some difficulty in walking due to a recent injury and upon seeing her walking slowly with a limp, we were quickly offered a wheelchair without us even asking for it. Check in was also efficient. Both the Management and staff were all very friendly and helpful. We particularly loved the night ambiance as the LED lighting evokes the timeless feeling of romance and adventure of the East India era. Even the uniforms are styled after the early century.The open air Balcony creates a perfect atmosphere for our family gathering too. Most importantly it is literally just minutes away from the famous Jonker Street. We would certainly come back to The Sterling !

Room Tip: The Riley rooms overseeing the carpark is quieter as it's on a separate wing by it's own
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101tigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear 101Tigerlily

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel.

Our policy is to always try to make our guests welcomed and comfortable. We do have a wheelchair on standby to assist our guests, especially the elderly to move around more easily.
We are happy to be of service during your stay and cannot be more pleased with your
pleasant experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
The Management and Staff of The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Sterling has provided excellent services for my boyfriend and I. We were given a complimentary upgrade to Riley room when they know that I'm planning a surprise birthday trip & it was our first time to Malacca. The room was big, comfy & pretty! Not forgetting the jacuzzi bathtub that relieve our tiredness after walking around the whole day. We even receive some complimentary tarts as welcome gift.

The complimentary drink, pineapple juice, however was rather disappointing and their outdoor bar could have been better with more tables & chairs arranged for customers to chill out. Probably have some music playing in the background would have been better.

The hotel manager/staff responded very quickly when we inform them about the faulty headlamp and shower head. Everything was fixed while we were out shopping. When we return back to the hotel, they even get a staff to demonstrate how to operate the jacuzzi.

The breakfast has a few variety which was good enough for me, even though it is not the usual buffet style. I love the setting of the dining area, which is really classy.

The hotel is about 10-15min walk to jonker street & Christ Church which is quite convenient.

However, it will be pricey for a budget trip but definitely a great choice for couples who're looking for a romantic place to stay.

Overall we really enjoyed the stay in here. We LOVE the room, the design of the hotel, the service & the location. Once in awhile, it's really worth to indulge in such lovely hotel. Thank you Sterling~ =)

Room Tip: Get the Riley room for 2 pax if you have the budget. The jacuzzi is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twofivefeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear TwoFiveFeb,

Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel and services.

At The Sterling, we endeavour to rectify any problems that might occur during one's stay, and rest assured that we will try to make that memorable day extra special!

We have changed our welcome drink to suit the requirements of our guests, and as of now, we are looking to implementing an array of welcome drinks rather than fruit juices and punches.

Our hot served breakfast remains the special item of our hotel as opposed to buffet spreads.
As indicated before, we do have a selection of beverages, juices, cereals, fruits, and breadrolls for those who prefer to help themselves before their hot meal arrive. This as a result of observation of guests preferences whenever we experienced as full house status.
We do however serve all our main meals freshly prepared from the kitchen.

With our proximity and private driveway and carpark, The Sterling offers that little extra for guests looking for that added luxury and privacy.

Sincerely,
Tony Yew
Resident Manager
The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The hotel management and staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent, in the middle of Little India and 10 minutes walk to Jonkers Street. Free wifi in the room. Room was very large.
Cons: The restaurant. The waitress was so slow, we wasted an hour waiting for breakfast while we had a limited amount of time in Melaka.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSterlingMalacca, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear SamMLM,

Thank you for your taking time to review our hotel.

The Management has always stressed on the need for prompt and precise service as demanded by our guests, however we do face these challenges especially so whenever one of our staff call in sick.

As a result of the recent reviews, we have now engaged new personnel to counter this issue, and hope that we will be given the opportunity again to provide service to you during your next visit.

We would also like to take the opportunity to announce that we have now secured the use of facilities such as swimming pool and gym for our guests who prefer to also have some time to relax other than sightseeing.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely
Tony Yew
Resident Manager
The Sterling, Malacca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#15 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Property: The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing