We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Dominica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hospitality is amazing and you feel so pampered here. The hotel are absolutely gorgeous. The rooms are very spacious and decorated beautifully. I really can't say enough about this hotel. We will be back for sure. Overall, a great hotel with wonderful staff and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dorg_detch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CynthiaSter, Manager at The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Dominica

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next trip when we can pamper you again.

Regards
Cynthia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    187
    91
    31
    17
See reviews for
161
144
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

The sterling is a young property under 5 years old. I spoke with the staff of the hotel (friendly) and they mentioned the hotel use to be an open space car park before the hotel was constructed.

Now the property have the touch of an old British colony building which the white facade and pillars on the exterior of the building. But mind you this building is not historical, however they did a good job of replicating it. Therfore I felt the price I paid for this hotel was certainly a question mark.

The Sterling is a gorgeous boutique hotel but with no facilities at all. No gym, no swimming pool nor recreation club or sauna. Is basically only rooms, restaurant and a open balcony bar that closes at 11pm. I wonder why the expensive price tag.

The hotel rooms are beautiful and tastefully decorated. My toilet contain a rain shower which was fantastic and is clean. I don't know if there are travelers anal about toilet but I sure m. Therefore I happy with Sterling clean n awesome toilet. The room i stayed in was The Strokes which is a family room. The room is big and comfy. Easily can have 2 extra beds and lots of spaces to walk around.

The Sterling breakfast is not a Wow factor for travellers who love their breakfast heavy and full of varieties. Basically their breakfast comes in sets. If my memory serves me right, there are 5 sets. Every sets come with buffet to drinks (eg, juices, water, coffee, tea and milk), bread (eg, white bread, multi grain, cinnamon roll & crossionts), cereals (2 types) and fruits. Therefore dont expect too much from the breakfast, looking on the brighter side. Malacca is a food paradise, keep your tummy half empty for other goodies!

Lets talk about Sterling location via walking (I walk alot). The hotel very much centralised in my opinion. From the hotel to Jonker walk is approximately 10mins. From the hotel to datarwan palawan mall is approximately 15mins walk.

Hope it helps :)

★Live to Love & Travel to Create Beautiful Memories★

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElisaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Sterling is a heritage building, not sure what it used to be but it has been done up nicely. The staff were friendly and dress in those traditional british outfit. Check in was fast and easy, we arrived an hour ahead of check in time but the room was already ready. Parking is safe within the hotel compound and ample space. We stayed in Winsor room (family room) with 2 queen size bed, fresh smell. Bed is comfortable and clean, room is spacious for the kids to run around. The kids like the bathroom shower feature with massage spray.

A short 5 minutes walk will take you to the famous Jonker street (Try not to drive to Jonker, very difficult to find parking space on weekends) and a further 5 more brings you to the shopping malls. Most of the heritage places are nearby as well - The "Red building" and ship are all within walking distance.

Welcome drink is available at "The Balcony" however as the Sumatra haze covers the area we had ours in "The Loft" an air condition restaurant, breakfast is also served here. Set breakfast is offered.

Overall - A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triumphst3fraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My hubby & i stayed at this hotel for 2 nites during our weekend trip in Malacca. Overall, we liked this hotel even we had an unexpected occurrence first night. Here is a few good points & improvement point.

1) Great location and easy walk to the centrl town.
2) Great services & very friendly staffs (which turned my review from negative to positive)
3) Good breakfast
4) Nice room with English channel ( we were able to watching the rugby game, and my hubby is happy with it)
5) They gave us the masks for Indonesia haze problem....

Improvements
1) The towel need replacement, its old and smelly
2) The room facilities should be checked before put guests in.
3) The room keeper should be more detail oriented. ( we are missing hand soap & tooth brush )

We really truly happy with the services of this hotel & it is really matter when you are traveling :0)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxgirl_coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

this hotel tucks quietly nearby to the main attraction area of Melaka (Afamosa fort).
it's walking distance to hard rock cafe, jonker street, as well as there's the famous Capitol Satay Celup (local variety of steamboat using satay sauce to cook the skewers rather than the usual soup/water). capitol satay celup i just practically at the doorstep of this hotel, but good luck figuring out the right timing to eat that without long queue.
back to the hotel, it is clean and lavishly renovated to give a very colonial outlook from the hotel facade.
within the hotel, the staffs and frontdesk are all very polite and helpful, even dress like in colonial days.
leyton rooms designs are chic and clean.
breakfast are prepared to each person rather than the buffet spread and crowd rushing over the eggs counter.

rooms does not come with toothbrushes and toothpastes, so prepare your own or but one from the convenience store just outside of the hotel
shower knobs where pretty misleading, guess the technician just install it without looking at the manual, but just take a few tries to figure out which knobs are for which, after that you can enjoy the rain shower, massage shower, hand shower.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaquinChanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We love the fact that it's just a few hundred yards from the city centre (Jonker Street) and that it's tucked away from the main road. We were delighted to find a parking bay reserved for us when we arrived. The hotel is fairly new and amazing to know that it was previously a car park! The exterior is done up in a vaguely Georgian style, but the rooms are modern with a lot of black and dark colours used. I think the rooms are only on two floors (the first and second), so there was no issue with noise. Amazing shower with lots of dials. The staff were attentive and friendly, and the breakfast was good.

Because of the white used for the exterior (and it is difficult to maintain the white in the tropics), it probably needs another lick of paint now. (There were bits yellowing on the front façade.)

Room Tip: Because of the busy city centre location, there won't be much of a view. I think all rooms are r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natkretep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I stumbled upon this boutique hotel while looking for a hotel for a short 2-nights getaway with the family. Based on the pictures on their website, I thought it was located in a restored colonial building (and I was expecting that). It turns out that this is a brand new building built in late 2011.

Finding the hotel was not too difficult with the GPS and the location is actually really good being so close to Jonker street.

Check in
Fuss-free process. Since it was rather quiet at the hotel, we didn't have to wait and the entire process took less than 10 minutes. We were give vouchers for 2 complimentary drinks and rooms came with breakfast for 2.

Carpark
We drove and fortunately ample parking was available for all guests. There is a security post overlooking the carpark and so, safety was not an issue.

WiFi
Free wifi was available throughout the hotel. Speed was reasonably good and we had no trouble with their network.

Room
We chose The Leyton room. Room size was just OK as I was expecting a larger room base on the photos on the website. I was a little disappointed but it was still OK. Bathroom has frosted glass and was a tad too small - you couldn't leave the bathroom door open while using the washbasin. Shower stall is good and equipped with rain shower. The glass screen is rather transparent and occupants in the room can actually make out more than your silhouette. So beware if you are sharing rooms with someone "not too close".

Breakfast
Breakfast is at their restaurant on the roof (3rd floor). We went for breakfast at around 10am and there was only one other table occupied. There is no crowd (which is good) and the place was quiet (which is really nice). There is no buffet but just 4 set meal options for you to chose from. Choices are pretty OK - two kinds of continental breakfast sets (eggs, toast, bread, cereal), chinese porridge set and a local "nasi lemak" (fragrant rice with spicy curried chicken) set. The portion was pretty decent.

Overall
Service staff were all very helpful and nice. The only thing that is missing is a swimming pool. Then again, this is a boutique hotel. Definitely a hotel that I will visit again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttChet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#17 of 166 in Melaka
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Property: The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing