We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean and tidy, but the hotel has a bit too much wall-to-wall carpets for a city like Malacca. Breakfast was good, although a little confusing, as there is a buffet and a choice of menus...some if which overlap with the buffet. Staff at reception were friendly but not very helpful or proactive in providing or looking for information. The porter on duty is super chatty and friendly, and willing to help.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SailingPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    187
    91
    31
    17
See reviews for
161
144
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

omg....this hotel was a joke comparing to the price we paid...

bad breakfast...bad service at front desk..jacuzzi was leaking and the hotel dint even try to make it right when they couldn't fix the jacuzzi...room look like from a antique horror movie..and worst...NOISE FROM TRAFFIC whole night couldn't even get a wink of sleep...what a joke.....never staying here again.....truly terrible..........embarassing..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yyaya2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Came to Melacca for a night stay on 29th Dec. Many hotels were fully booked by then and picked this hotel mainly for its convenience, good reviews and not-too-bad rates (~S$150/night/room)

- exterior building has the victorian style look
- pretty close to Jonker street (10mins walk)
- room is new, clean, quiet and modern-looking
- staffs are very friendly and warm
- check-in/out were a breeze
- brekkie is at 3rd floor with part buffet on sides and choices for mains

the best of all is its special guarded private parking area for guests. felt very safe with a foreign car. overall satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sn9wolfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We planned to stay at this hotel as they have family room to allow 4 in a room. Although we stay there for 2D1N. When we first reached the hotel i was like wow it was different from the hotel i used to stay before.. The hotel is at one corner and it was so quiet in the night.. Everything was good for the room.. As i think there isn't alot of people staying there.. The only thing i don't feel ok is the breakfast. If u thought of the breakfast having alot of variety then u are wrong, The only breakfast buffet is the bread and cereals. The main course is only served once and you got only three to choose from. The staffs i met during the stay was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

After more than 20 years of regularly visitng this city, we have stayed at all classes of hotels. On our previous trip, we enjoyed the Majestic & left with fond memories. We noticed The Sterling & decided to book for our next trip.
Alas it was a bad idea. We booked the Family room, Windsor. When we first drove to the front entrance, the school uniform store was the main feature; carpark was full with vehicles of their customers & nearby eateries. I had to park my car in an awkward & illegal spot.
I had let my family off at the front steps earlier on; no doorman, no concierge to assist....
At check-in, the hotel informed us that the hot water supply was not operationable but shouldn't be a problem that would be resolved tonight.
Once into the hotel room, though new, the furniture & fittings were shabby.
The toilet wc was unserviceable after the first use, unable to refill the water cistern. As we left for downtown, we informed the front reception of our toilet flush mechanical failure.
We returned to our hotel after dinner, when the real drama began. Ard 11pm, our 1st of 4 family members went to bathe. No hot water. Just cold icy water. I went down to reception ard 11.30pm, the lobby was dark lit like a normal home. This was when i found out this hotel had only 2 other guests......Was told ..."sorry no hot water".
So they send 2 pails of hot water for us to mix with the slow low pressure water. Oh yes, please don't forget our still unoperationable wc.
Next morning, when I came down to enquire on our situation:
The morning shift was quite interesred in asking me if we knew how to use the taps.....
I asked to speak to the manager..."not in till 10am"...after 10.30am i asked again..."sorry manager not in"
Upon that, I had to insist & stood at the front counter to make sure they followed up to reinstate the hot water & water for the toilet....apparently when I was at the front counter, the morning shift staff was still insistent on teaching my family on how to use the taps....whilst the hotel technician later sheepishly confessed that the hot water was indeed shut down....
To complete my ranting, we never did see or speak to the invisible manager.

This hotel's colonial facade is really deceiving...neither a boutique nor classy hotel.
No gym, no pool, no facilities we accepted when we booked. But no water? No manager?
The security post overlooking the carpark was never attended by anyone nor lit up.
In the days of hotel bookings & paying up front...could I have walked out? No manager to assist to resolve the issues...the existing staff who were available were polite no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SGrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

At 4 star price I would rate this as a 3 star. Look at the toiletries ( bring your tooth brush please )
and the mediocre coffee and tea selection in the room.
No newspapers.
Towels are thin and cheap
Plus points : good breakfast, good location, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melaka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here for 3D2N recently at the Leyton room with my wife during a short getaway. Main thing good about this hotel is that it's a small set-up in an accessible location (7 mins to Chicken rice ball place). You are safe from mobs of tourist during breakfast and checkout. Decor is tasteful, rooms are clean and I personally like the rain shower combo.

That's not to say it's without flaws. As mentioned by many reviewers, there are no facilities whatsoever. No gym, sauna or swimming pool to rest and chill out. You are also better off getting authentic local breakfast from the nearby shops in Little India (Madras cafe) unless you are a fan of omelettes and not-so-great nasi lemak.

Staff are very friendly and helpful. Carpark lots are available for those driving. Otherwise, quite an enjoyable stay at The Sterling.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nightchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#17 of 166 in Melaka
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#10 of 166 in Melaka
1,211 reviews
0.6 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
387 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka

Property: The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 43 Jalan Temenggong, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly The Sterling Melaka by Gloria)
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sterling, Malacca's latest luxury boutique hotel is a mere five minute walk from Jonker Street, world famous for antique hunters and popular amongst visitors to historical heritage Malacca.In addition, The Stadhuys, St.Paul's Hill, Church of St.Francis Xavier, Christ church and A'Famosa are all within 8-10 minutes on foot. Enjoy sheer luxury in our signature rooms that feature its own private sundeck and outdoor jacuzzi. Dine in heritage Malacca's unique rooftop diner and catch the stars above Malaccan skyline at The Balcony, a place to kick back and relax. The Sterling and its English heritage concept is all set to transport her guest back to yesteryears yet ensuring that everyday comforts are not compromised. Welcome to The Sterling Melaka by Gloria, A GOOD PLACE TO BE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing