We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Nearby Hotels
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RC Hotel(Melaka)
US$67
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
US$184
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
US$55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$53
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
US$48
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$35
US$22
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
87
206
104
33
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
206
104
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiaoutdoor jacuzzicapitol satay celupjonker streetcolonial buildingnice showerrain showerprivate parkingshower headmin walkspacious roomsofa bedplus pointearly checkdecent hotelpleasant staydutch square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
287 - 292 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked a 2-night stay over the Good Friday long weekend. Nice location to experience the charm of shophouses at Little India which is a little short street. It looks colonial but was only built 2 years ago. Parking is very safe within the hotel compound.

Excellent location, quiet and away from the crowd but yet all the nearby attractions just around the corner - Christ Church is 7 mins stroll, Jonker Street 9 mins, St Paul 10 mins, Dataran Pahlawan Mall around 12 mins.

The rooms are clean and new. Much better than most Malaysian hotels. Pretty small and basic hotel with no additional facilities like gym or pool. We absolutely love the staff there, very friendly and volunteered to take care of our needs (very rare in Malaysian hotels).

A minus would be the breakfast - it is a set main course (choice of Western, local or Healthy), with free flow of bread, croissant, tarts, juice and cereals. A simple buffet spread would perhaps be better.

Price-wise against the value returned, maybe a bit on the higher side.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watertay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The staff at The Sterling is nice and attentive, no questions asked. They are the best of this hotel. It is over priced for what you get it terms of infrastructure. The location is great but there is no pool. Restaurant is so so, and the second room balcony would be nice if open to public (it is accesible but bar is closed and there is nothing else but dust and a nice view). You can get rooms as nice as this at the same price or cheaper with nice pool (which is a huge plus in hot Melaka) in nearby hotels . The rooms are OK, nothing very special. The breakfast is less than OK, poor choice of bread, fake fruit juice, bad coffee. Was expecting much more for the price. Overall, our stay here was not bad, but we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maca222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

we ended up staying at this place at the last minute when we decided to just take a drive to Melaka from Singapore for the weekend at the last minute - so we basically stumbled upon it and decided to stay there for a couple of nights. I was really surprised to see how much it was (over $200 Singapore dollars walk in) for a basic/cheapest room.

anyway, it is clean and staff are friendly, food is fine - nice restaurant at the top of the hotel.

but honestly, it is very run-down. it reminded me of a place where they put the least amount of money possible to just give it a modern feel but something seemed just off- run down lobby, elevator, carpet etc.

overall it was OK but do not expect this to be some kind of a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: the Jacuzzi room is not worth the extra $$$
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Washingtonienne73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I am very impressed by this hotel and i can't wait to share my comment immediately back from my Melaka trip. This hotel isn't big as what they claimed that they are "Boutique Hotel". When we first arrived the hotel, we were very impressed with the looks, it is more like a Colonial style, the check in was fast and efficiency, as they expecting our arrival (we booked it online) and they have prepared it earlier, so we probably spent less than 3 mins for the check in process.
We stayed in the Family room (The windsor), big enough for 5 of us, simple and nice design, comfortable bed and pillow, toilet is clean and big enough with the strong water pressure and at a very reasonable and affordable price.
One thing i must compliment is their service, all of them from bell boy, front desk officer and the lady who served our breakfast, their service is EXCELLENT, very polite , professional and friendly. Even though their breakfast variety is quite limited, but what else can i ask more with such a good customer service.
I sincerely hope that they will keep up the good work. I WILL DEFINITELY GO BACK THERE AGAIN!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyoichiKurosaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After reading some of the negative comments, I was pleasantly surprised after checking in my room.

There is no swimming pool which didn't bother me as Melaka isn't resort/beach designation. The breakfast is adequate. The room is beautifully decorated and well appointed (one comment said to bring your own toothbrush - what was he talking about?!) in mint condition. For what you pay for it is great value. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheers_A_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews