We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sterling Boutique Hotel Melaka
Nearby Hotels
US$70
US$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
US$183
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RC Hotel(Melaka)
US$67
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$25
US$22
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
US$48
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
US$33
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
87
206
102
33
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
206
102
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle indiaoutdoor jacuzzicapitol satay celupjonker streetcolonial buildingnice showerrain showerprivate parkingshower headmin walkspacious roomsofa bedplus pointearly checkdecent hotelpleasant staydutch square
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
276 - 281 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel is about 5-10min walk from Jonker Street. The famous Capitol Satay Celup is just a stone throw away.
Excellent service they have there. Staff is friendly and helpful. More importantly, they never fail to put on a smile. Two thumbs up! Keep it up!

Room is a bit pricely but nice and clean!
Need to improve on the breakfast though.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janisheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Our friends had booked us at this newly opened boutique hotel. It has a very colonial outlook. Rooms were decent. I had one twin room and a double room. Unfortunately the aircondition in the twin room was very poor. But the service from the staff made up for the bad experience. They put a powerful cooler in the room which helps. Breakfast was good too for a boutique hotel. Nice environment and smiling staff. It's situated near to Malacca's little India and about 5 to 8 mins walk to the famous Jonker street. If you have a family of 5 they do have a family room that' fits but it's limited so need to reserve earlier or call to check.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Honestly, we plan to stay at Hotel which have facilities and sea facing but end up we decided to give a try at this boutique hotel which open in Year 2011 and hidden at Little India.

We love the peaceful atmosphere of this hotel, clean room and strategic location. Short distance to Jonker Street / famous Capital Satay Celup and fried oyster along Jalan Bunga Raya

Overall, thumbs up for the awesome service provided by the hotel staff. (they were always friendly and prepared to give us time and attention. I wish to thanks: Dal & Singh by gave us a wealth of travel information of this Historical Town)

Room Tip: Choose room not facing the main street
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ailee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is somewhat hidden from the main road and you're able to avoid the jam that lead to Stadthuys and Jonker street. Ample of parking spaces for guests within the hotel compound. The downside of the car park is not shaded and not so convenient if raining. The room we had was spacious for 2 of us and the Internet speed is considerable good as the 3G services in Melaka is terrible. My room package included the breakfast, and you have the option to choose what you want to have from the menu.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanzhung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

It's a shame that the main hotel facade is hidden from the main street, because it is quite grand by Melaka standards. It's my second time in this culinary paradise (I've been last year) but my first time staying at this hotel with my family.

There is free parking (uncovered and at your own risk), check-in was a breeze. The rooms that we were billeted 210-212 (adjoining) don't have any views and Rm 212 is larger than Rm 210. Breakfast wasn't as good and you have to choose between 4 different sets (Continental, Asian etc). It was quite simple, and I wished they had Melaka inspired breakfast. The service was pretty good and the staff very friendly, the room newish.

It's walking distance to Melaka's main attractions, 10-15 minutes walk to Portuguese and Dutch Quarters and a lesser distance to the Jonker Walk. Parking is difficult to find around these areas so it's much better to walk instead (bring an umbrella as Melaka is a notoriously warm and humid city).

Overall, The Sterling is quite a good place to stay overnight. The main drawback is the price which is I think a bit too much for Melaka. There are no swimming pools, and for 200USD a room/night with only basic amenities can sometimes be a deal breaker for most people.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews