We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Ranked #1 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The appartment was great, clean, spacious and has the biggest shower room there is. Location is perfect to walk the city. And on top of that Gus is the perfect host and makes you feel at home. You will never eat at the wrong places. And sure he will show you all the sights - plus the ones not mentioned in your guidebook. Thanks Gus for a great time!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annacita99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write a review on us,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.I am honoured to have you as my guest ,do hope we will meet again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
18
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We've been many times to Melaka but thanks to Gus, this was the best stay we ever had. Gus took literally care of everything from providing directions to having beers @ Me and Mrs Jones. The place he is renting out is awesome compared to all the accommodations we tried in Melaka so far. Super clean and the whole place is simply charming. Careful with the rain shower, chances are high that you spend more time under it then intended.

The only downside was that there were only 10 beers in the fridge;-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millencolin2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Mitch,

Thank you so much for reviewing us here ,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.I love the rain shower too, I myself will take a shower there when we have no guests,haha ! Promise will have a barrel of beers stock up on your next visit. It was truly a great honour to have you and the others staying with us.Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

After Malacca joined the unesco status, it was flooded with tourists. the famous chicken rice ball had long queues at 8.30am. thank god, gus came to the rescue and showed us the charming and idllyic side of malacca that i would never had chance upon.

knock knock home was equally charming with total privacy and felt like home.
Also, it was in a extremely goodquiet location without tourists peeping through your windows yet minutes walk to jonker street.

I strongly recommend knocknock for a pleasant charming visit of malacca.
good job gus!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mootou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Dear Ting,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write such a wonderful review on us,it was my great pleasure hosting both of you.Glad you enjoyed your stay,can't wait to see both of you again and show you more nice eateries and hidden gem in Malacca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Gus, the owner of this place. He is amazing guy and very helpful. This is my first time to Melaka and Gus bring us to explore all the places..that's so wonderful experience. I am very impressed for his kind and always take care us during the trip. About the place, it's such a nice and clean. You can get everything you want from 5 star hotel at this place.. Thank you so much and we will go back to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bksolotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Ling,

Thank you very much for this kind review,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Please visit your "home" in Malacca again,will show you more hidden gems !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is the first tripadvisor review I've written, appropriately dedicated to my experience with Gus at the Knocknock Home. His guesthouse is beautiful--spacious, impeccably decorated, and comfortable. We enjoyed Gus's company, his knowledge of the area, his sincere kindness, and his great taste in restaurants. I cannot imagine our experience in Melaka without Gus. If you want an incredible place to stay with an owner (and his great cousin) that will make you sad to leave, you must stay at Knocknock. Go on the guided bike tour with him. I am happy to have found a friend in Melaka and look forward to coming back in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalena10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Lauren,

Thank you so much for your kind comments,I am very happy that you enjoyed the bicycle ride with me,there are few more nice eateries and cafe just set up here recently,I am sure you will like them. hope you will visit Malacca again soon ,take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Highly recommended if you have to stay in Melaka. Everything is just perfect: great situation, the size of the room is just amazing, the bathroom is really beautiful and so typical and Gus (the owner) is such a great host, everything you need or ask for, you will get it. Maybe a bit expensive but worth it. I definitely go back there for my next trip in Melaka

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rej965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Rej,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2013

A Melaka trip would not be complete without a stay in this cultural homestay - knocknock home. Knocknock home is located near to the jonker street. It is spacious, clean, and has very interesting concept. Most importantly, it is affordable for budget travelers like us - definitely value for money. The owner, Augustine, is very friendly and would bring us around to show us whr are the nice food in Melaka. He wld also explain to us some of e history of Melaka. As we were travelling w an elderly, he was very attentive and shows extra care to her, something which we appreciate. We are extremely satisfied w the service and the standard of e rooms. I will definitely stay again the next time I visit Melaka. Thanks Augustine for your hospitality and making Melaka an enjoyable one for us. :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermaineGermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Germaine,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to review us,I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and our services,can't wait to welcome all of you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 166 in Melaka
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
714 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Property: Knocknock Home
Address: 10E Jalan Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing