We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BREAKING NEWS-GUS IS BACK!!!!!”
Review of Knocknock Home

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Knocknock Home
Ranked #2 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our stay at 'Tiny Knock-knock' was simply awsome....think impeccable taste and style in a beautifully decorated retro shophouse. Combine this with Gus's extraordinary hospitality and you get part of this wonderful experience...thanx for the G&T's listening to the radiogram Gus,for the wonderful city tour and delightful cuisine experiences, we all so appreciated your kindness and learnt so much about your wonderful city through your educational and good fun guidance. Tiny Knock-Knock was a dream, and your generosity unmatched in many years of travelling....are we coming back? You bet we are!!!! Good luck with the new place, we are sure it will be equally as fantastic! Simply Gus,simply fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank audreytatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AugustineLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to review "tiny Knocknock" ,glad you and your family enjoyed your stay here.It was a pleasant experience hosting all of you,hope you will visit Melaka again soon and stay in our new and bigger unit "Knocknock Home" .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

If only Knocknock Home had remained open, I wouldn't need to look for other accommodations in my future trips to Malacca. The place was close to perfect really. The pretty decor, thoughtful details, thorough cleanliness and the great location has definitely set the bar (and makes it difficult to beat) for those looking to stay at a traditional shophouse type of home in Malacca. The owner Gus was very friendly and took the extra mile to make sure that our stay was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Michelle,Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Knocknock Home,don't worry ,we are only temporary closed,will update you once the renovation is done.Can't wait to welcome you into "The New Knocknock Home" !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I believe, Knocknock will give you the right fix of genuine/classic experience of Malacca no hotels could possibly offer.

To name a few highlights; nothing beats competent and thoughtful service when it comes to travelling/ The cleanliness and up keep of a 100 year old building which is second to none/ Strategic location/ most tourist attractions within walking distance/ Hospitality of gold, Gus the owner was very helpful w my visit and offered plenty of good advices of what to see and where to eat / Value for money.

I have been to Malacca plenty of times, staying in hotels mostly. But this visit to Knocknock has changed my appreciation of this city.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for taking your time to review us on your recent stay in Knocknock Home We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay It was truly an honour to have you girls staying at our place,can't wait to welcome all of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Tiny Knock-knock home may be tiny on space but giant on charm and comfort. It used to a former antique shop which is converted into a guesthouse. Those who wants reminisce the good ol' days of living in a shophouse (with steep, narrow staircase) will have a chance. Sheets and toilet is clean and well-equipped. Location-wise it is close to near Dutch square and Jonker street. No shortage of things to see!

Gus and his team had been a great host and it is no wonder that knock-knock home continues to get raving reviews all the time. Will definitely stay again if there's opportunity!

Room Tip: Ask Gus to recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brotherbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review, can't wait to welcome all of you back into the family of Knocknock again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Knocknock Home is amazing. The room is cool, bright and spacious, and the shower is to die for. We had five adults sharing the space, but it never felt cramped. In a quiet street just a short walk from all the sights (and the shopping & restaurants, of course!), and with the wonderful, welcoming, well-informed Gus as host and occasional tour guide, Knocknock Home is one of the best places I've ever stayed in. The perfect base to explore & enjoy Malaka from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking your precious time to write such a wonderful review on Knocknock Home,
will update you once our new place is ready,till then,take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We went to Melaka with our young adult family - daughter, son & daughter in-law. We had the best time, able to wander off independently for site seeing and shopping, all within walking distance. It was lovely to meet up for dinner and share out stories or go to sites together. Lots of room at the accommodation, very clean etc. Loved it and would recommend it. Gus is lovely, took us for a tour around the town. He has lots of local knowledge you wouldn't get otherwise. Great place and great host.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Kathryn,

Thank you for the wonderful review on us,glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay with Knocknock Home ,it was truly an honour hosting you and your family,can't wait to welcome all of you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

we booked the place months ago but had to postpone due to the haze situation, the host was very nice to readily accomodate our changes (not just once!).
i like that the bedsheets were fresh :)
the place has many years of history so even though there was a friendly note to request guests not to plonk on the wooden floor (we sleep upstairs) it was at the same time a warm touch to remind us of the precious heritage the shophouse represent for the whole town actually. there was a wonderful bonus as the host also opened his other place Tiny Knock Knock to us for foto-taking. we enjoyed Gus' hospitality as he went out of his way to be a guide and not just another guesthouse operator.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GusLye, Owner at Knocknock Home, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Clara,

Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write a review on us,glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,431 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knocknock Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knocknock Home

Address: 10E Jalan Taman Kota Laksamana | Jalan Laksamana 2, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £95 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Knocknock Home and "tiny Knocknock",cosy accommodation very close to the core zone of the Malacca UNESCO World Heritage Site and just a stone's throw away from all the city's major attraction. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing