We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good price with good location!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Venus Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Venus Boutique Hotel
Ranked #49 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good price with good location!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The room maybe small, but utimally I got no complain paying for SGD50 per night... the interior design is stylish and bed is comfortable. The only complain is the shower, there heater is not strong enough... location is just next to the shopping mall, just 5 mins away.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian_Chua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Vivian,

Thanks for your feedback. We had improved our water pressure by adding the water pump. So far, we only heard our guests complaint at the reception counter of low water, we manage to encounter this problem by advice our guests to pull up the water knob, not left and right.
For your information, we put the tips at the shower corner lately (20.04.2012) to inform our guests of the usage of the water knob. Hope you can get your strong water at your next visit. If you do find any unfavourable matter, kindly proceed at our reception. We will try to solve the problem and let you enjoy our facilities while you still in house.
Thanks you for your valuable feedback, we hope to serve you again in nearly future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    84
    62
    16
    9
See reviews for
57
62
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

This hotel is located at Melaka Raya also known as Plaza Mahkota (nearby UOB Bank). For those guest who drive to this hotel, parking is available upon check-in under the bridge just across the hotel. Please take note, parking in front of hotel required parking coupon as it is public parking bay and you might get parking ticket if you leave your car unattended.

Once you have check-in, you may just walk around 10-15minutes to few shopping complex such as Pahlawan Square, Hattan Square and Mahkota Parade. Tourist attraction spot such as A'Famosa, Jonker Street and many more is also within walking distance. There is weekend night market (Fri, Sat & Sun) nearby hotel too.

Back to hotel room, it had nice decoration and clean which make me feel comfortable esp the bed (pillows & blanket) is soft, just the way i like it. Kettle is provided in room with coffee and tea. Breakfast is not provided but nearby hotel got variety of restaurants so i don't think there's any problem with it. Water dispenser is also provided just outside the room. Free WiFi for hotel guest. Would recommend this hotel as the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artic128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

i stayed here with family for only 1 night. the hotel is new with small rooms. the front desk staff was nice, room was small but okay, bathroom was wet style and the wifi was also okay.

i took bus from bus terminal and stopped in front of mahkota shopping mall which has caused me had to walk far enough. it's better to stop in front of holiday inn and the hotel is in front of it.

the area is crowded full with hawkers and clothes sellers on weekends.

it's 15 mins walk to jonker street.

if you come here in weekdays, better to stay in the jonker area.

no breakfast is provided but many restaurants around.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed in this hotel over night when traveled to Melaka. We chose it because of its location, really close to everything - Jonker street, museums, malls, etc. The hotel itself is very small but well decorated inside. Rooms look exactly like they are on the pictures although photos don't reflect the size of the rooms..Be ready that they are tiny and all of them have pretty bad view out of the windows. At the same time rooms are very clean and have conditioners and big flat screen TVs. Somebody was complaining about weak water pressure in the shower, so, there was no such poblem.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel mostly for backpackers. Hotel is really cheap and well located and offers decent accommodation. And the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NDarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
A very good morning to NDarya,
We have improve our water pressure by putting extra water pressure pump. Hope you will enjoy our hotel at you next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I have made booking to this hotel a month before my stay. The hotel personnel said my booking was confirmed. However, on the day i was supposed to check in, the hotel people said my name was not on the booking list!!! What a nightmare since my family and I had no else to stay. Sadly enough, the receptionist mentioned that 'there's nothing they can do to help!!' and there were all of us, left out in Melaka with no place to stay. Imagined how my kids were frustrated. Ended up we had to find an adhoc place to stay. Avoid this hotel unless you have a written confirmation from the personnel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Padilharun79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights over the New Year holidays. I love its location - right next to Mahkota Shopping Mall which is across the road from Dataran Pahlawan. It's also strategically located opposite Holiday Inn where my coach from Singapore stops, and only a 15min walk to Jonker Street where all the hustle and bustle happens on weekend evenings!

Room is pretty but small, with tea making facilities. The big plasma TV was a bonus although there weren't many channels to choose from. Beds are comfortable (the way I like them) - firm but not too hard. The room is generally well-kept although my biggest complaint is that the walls are too thin and you can literally hear your neighbours snoring away! Ear plugs were essential on this trip, which was a shame really.

The bathroom was ok but with no shower curtains, the floor is almost always wet. It was tricky trying to get hot water too. Basic toiletries are provided (soap bar and shampoo) but I've always preferred to use my own whenever I travel. The hairdryer came in handy on those nights when I'm too tired to wait for my hair to dry before turning in.

Lobby area is airy and classy with its reading lounge but a child playpen looked quite out of place with the entire decor of the hotel. There's also a computer there that's supposed to provide free internet access to its guests - unfortunately that didn't happen during my stay. The internet just wouldn't connect. Not sure if it's because the network was busy over the New Year period or if the broadband just wasn't working.

I'm personally not too impressed with the reception staff. They couldn't give me clear directions or recommendations for food (there's no cafe or restaurant in the hotel), and didn't appear like they really want to help. It may be because they're new and inexperienced - given that the hotel is only a year old. Once, I had to make a local call to book a bike tour but the staff had absolutely no clue where the nearest public phone was. I thought that was unacceptable, especially if they know that the hotel phone does not allow outgoing calls. I don't like making international calls on my mobile if I can pay for a local one.

All in all, I think this is a pretty little hotel that has great potential with a few improvements!

Room Tip: Strict check-in time at 2pm only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank checkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Checker,
Thanks for your feedback regarding our hotel. We have made investigation and some solutions has beed solved. For your information, our wall was made up of sound insulation system, we made the complaint to our supplier, and they had improved their system by changing the materials. However, we cannot hack our existing wall, but we will apply this method at our new design rooms where in planned will be started in end of this year.

For washroom and toilet, we try many solutions to avoid the water splashed over after shower, however, the only method is to install a shower curtain, we had order from overseas the anti-mold shower curtain and expected will be delivered in June for installation.

For Lobby, we have installed new wallpaper on 26.04.2012. Hope you will enjoy different scene at your next visit. We had enhance our WIFI by installing the firewall to limit the usage per individual. For your information, if some of the guests were using WIFI to download movie or watch movie at youtube, this will causes lower speedcount for the other WIFI users.

For Reception, some of our staff aren't local. However, we had trained them and even publish the attraction places at our website (home > travel info) at www.venushotel.com.my. Again, we upgrade our reception keyphone system to allow outgoing call from reception area with surcharge applicable.

Thanks for your valuable feedback and let us know about our weakness. We will continue improving ourselves for make your stay better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Very nice decor boutique hotel and good location within 5 mins walk to Plaza Mahkota.
Only 27 rooms and heard from reception may will be expanded.
Housekeeping very efficient. But for the superior twin room abit small. Do have all the basic amenities in room. No free water bottle provided but you can find water dispenser machine near the lift which is good also. Kettle provided in room and FREE one pack of coffee and tea only for 2 persons in a room.
Located very near by Nadeje cafe which is best cake I ever eaten.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLoveBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#53 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Syaz Meridien Hotel
Syaz Meridien Hotel
#59 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sunshine Inn
Sunshine Inn
#54 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#56 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balik Pulau Hotel
Balik Pulau Hotel
#73 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Property: Venus Boutique Hotel
Address: No. 18 Jalan Pm 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing