We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Venus Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good value”
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3nights in april. Very new and clean hotel. Comfortable bed, flat screen tv, small but clean bathroom. Tea making facilities were a nice touch.

The 2 main malls and jonker street are within walking distance to the hotel, making the location perfect.

Only gripe is about the breakfast. One day we got up late, and there was only bread left. Got up earlier the next day, only bread left. I did not bother on yhe third day. Replenishment of food was an issue, however i understand breakfast was a very new addition to venus boutique. So i really hope they take my advice on board to refine this area.

The hotel is very good value for money. I would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kadoo-pappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    86
    64
    17
    9
See reviews for
57
64
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Just came back from Melaka with a group of relatives. We stayed a night here. Hotel room was comfortable though we were not able to check in immediately when we arrived before 12 noon. The hotel was within 20 min walk to Junker Walk. The wifi however is not stable. In one of the room we stayed, my relative was locked in the bathroom, when the lock jammed. She could not get out of the bathroom. For the rest of the trip, we did not lock the bathroom door when we used it. Perhaps a phone should have been installed in the bathroom in such emergencies.
Car parking is easily available also.

Room Tip: Get a high room facing the flyover. You can see the sea from your room. The other side, you face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear hawkuan ,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka. We have test the WIFI lately, it seems quite stable. However, the connection will be cut off if you didn't use the internet for sometimes. This is the special setting so that everyone can enjoy the WIFI. If you found this error, please re-login again to our WIFI pages.

Thank you for your suggestion for the phone line in shower room. We will upgrade the system in next phase renovation.

Thank you for your feedback and welcome to our hotel again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The hotel room is cozy, clean and comfortable. And most importantly, it is affordable. We booked it at SGD 73.50 for a night. They also provide complimentary wireless connection in both lobby and inside the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristalglace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Cristalglace,

Thank you very much for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka.

For your information, our Venus Restaurant has opened. You may enjoy our buffet breakfast, and a-la carte lunch and dinner in the future.

:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The 3 of us stayed here over the Easter weekend. We paid about SGD210 for 2 nights so it's about SGD35 per night. The hotel was clean though the service from the front desk could be better. No greeting, no smile. Wi-fi was not stable and hardly available even though the website states that it's free. We could only access it for a few minutes if you're lucky. Front desk claimed that because the hotel was full housem hence, they could not give us an extra keycard so the 3 of us had to share 1 keycard.

Location wise, it was about 15min walk from the hotel to Jonker street which is not too bad considering we could walk off the food we ate. The hotel is just beside Mahkota shopping mall (less than 5min walk) and opposite is Palladium shopping mall which was much better than Mahkota. Though Mahkota is newer, there were limited shops. Palladium has more shops and more things to see and buy. There is also an archery, cinema, arcade and some laser game at the upper floors if you are looking for entertainment.

I would stay here again just because of the price and location but not the service. Oh, there is no conditioner or shower gel provided in the hotel. Only a small tube of Shampoo which smell rather nice and a bar of small soap for shower.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlust_marlzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear wanderlust_marlzy ,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last vacation visit in Melaka. I'm rather sorry about my friendliness at the front desk. I'll remind them and motivate them again. Thank you for your feedback so I will continuing monitor my service at frond desk.

We were sorry about the extra key card, I think you had check in late that day, and all the key card has been requested.

The mall that you mentioned in the feedback is Pahlawan Mall, Mahkota Mall is elder than Pahlawan Mall.

I will guide the service again to meet the satisfaction level. Thank you very much for your feedback. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a one night short excursion. Booked via a third party on line reservation for a family room. It turned out to be a disappointing experience as compared for the 4 star price I've paid. It's way too small for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, guess it's only about 24sqm in size. It has a double bed and a single one with one additional free of charge rollaway bed, courtesy from the management (after a complaint).
Another issue was the lighting inside the bathroom which seems too dimly lit though on the brighter side, the hand and rain shower was excellent and most importantly has good water pressure. Other amenities such as toothbrush, bathtowel and basics like soap and shampoo are provided. On the other hand please vacuum the floor inside the room especially underneath the beds and do not forget the rollway bed too as it's layered with dust...
The condition of the thinly carpeted corridorway starting from the guest lift landing all the way to the front of the room was strewn with bits of rubbish and was rather dusty! - location Level 2. Even the washrooms in the lobby level were in filthy conditions. It's certainly not a bad idea, should the Management decide to spare some time to do a walkabout inspection within the hotel to see the situation themselves.By the way, the free wifi connectivity was reliable and so poor in reception that we had a tough time logging into the service consistently with only 2 signal bars!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malaichai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear malaichai,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka. We are sorry for what you had experienced with the "third party" reservation channel. For your information, all the while our price is reasonable. Please write to us at info@venushotel.com.my for the third party channel that you are using, so that we can improve our marketing team for the experiences that you shared.

:) the shower room light were designed in dimmer effect for the newly renovated room. We will take note of that. We will change to brighter effect if majority do not like the dimmer effect.

For the cleanliness underneath the bed, we will improve at housekeeping department. Thank you for sharing, so that we know the rooms were improper cleaning. We will improve on the extra bed cleanliness too. Thank you very much for your feedback. We have done with the inspection and found the conditions that you had mentioned, corridor and lobby public toilet has been improved. I'm apologize on my housekeeping department behalf and myself as we are not doing our best to the satisfaction level. Thank you for the awareness.

For your information, we had just adding one more communication line to improve the signal. These has solve majority problem of the WIFI. The only things that we cannot guarantee on the connection is the busy hours and the low domestic server. It is really out of our control, however we will still putting effort from time to time to find a solution for this.

Thank you again for your feedback. Hope to see your feedback again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

It was such a pleasant experience in Venus. The Air-condition wasnt too cool in our room, the service staff gladly swapped us to another room even though it was 11.30pm at night. This place is a few steps away from Mahkotah Parade and night market.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShezaDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear ShezaDeanna,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your ideal host for your last visit in Melaka. We are glad that you are happy with your stay and we will continue and maintain our service to you.

Thank you for your feedback.
With Warmest Regards from crews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is newly build. It's has a nice environment but the location is a bit further away from jonker street. its close to one of the market and but still walking distance and its nearby to 2 shopping centre makota parade and the other one I forgot the name and every Friday Saturday and Sunday there will be night market and there is a must try chicken rice ball the one that is near the bridge and don't forget the durian chendol

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank XMGGX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koon Jit T, Owner at Venus Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear XMGGX,

Thank you for choosing Venus Boutique Hotel as your host for your last visit in Melaka. The night market that you mentioned is Dataran Pahlawan Walk. It is just 2 minute walk from our hotel. The Jonker street may be a little further, but still within walking distance. It is about 15 minutes to walk from our hotel. You may have sightseeing by walking from Venus Boutique Hotel to Jonker Street, the shortest route where you may pass by the Maritime Museum, Samudera Ship, river quay, you will see uptown (market) especially on Friday and Saturday. Then you will pass by the Tourism Information center before you reach the Jonker street. You may also google the map for the shortest walking distance along the river quay.

Besides chicken rice ball, and durian chendol, we have many good food in Melaka, example Nyonya Laksa, local chendol with coconut black sugar which is very delicious as well. You may found this in Jonker street.

Hope you will come again for food in Melaka. I'll try to put some dedicated cafe and restaurant name in front office for you to try out.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#51 of 166 in Melaka
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#42 of 166 in Melaka
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balik Pulau Hotel
Balik Pulau Hotel
#72 of 166 in Melaka
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Explorer Hotel
The Explorer Hotel
#52 of 166 in Melaka
145 reviews
1.6 mi away
JW Boutique Hotel
JW Boutique Hotel
#38 of 166 in Melaka
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 166 in Melaka
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Boutique Hotel

Property: Venus Boutique Hotel
Address: No. 18 Jalan Pm 6 | Plaza Mahkota, Melaka Raya, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Venus Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Venus Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing