We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but poor sound proof wall”
Review of Jiong House

Jiong House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jiong House
Ranked #36 of 211 Melaka B&B and Inns
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good service but poor sound proof wall”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The location of the hostel is quite strategic as the famous Jonker Street is just few streets away if you know the shortcuts. There are no extra parking lots available, only those along the street (you must be very lucky to get a parking lot!), but to be fair, i think other hostels around that area also facing the same parking problem, so can't really penalize them.

Interiorly, the stairs are very narrow and steep! For those who carries a large luggage might need some time to carry up. The room that my friends and I stayed was a quadruplet room. The room is very simple and small, which make walking difficult. The 4 mattresses are lying on the floor with a small pillow. The mattress is so thin and the blanket is also very thin, small and short( can't even cover up to the chest level) ! All of that i can still tolerate as I know this is a budget hostel, but there was one thing i can't tolerate - poor sound proof wall !! Perhaps i should say is a hard cardboard wall.. I can hear CLEARLY what others spoke in next door!
The room is like a loft which has no windows at all.
I hope this is only happened for the quadruplet room because while I was checking out, I saw the other room in the same floor, i think is a double room, and it seemed quite decent.

Despite all those bad experiences, there is one thing worth praising. My friends and I went out in the morning on check-out day, we were stucked in the traffic jam as the whole Malacca was packed with cars in conjunction of Hari Raya, and we were unable to return to the hostel to check-out on time, but the staff didn't charge us for that and she just smiled to us when we apologized to her.

If you ask me, I will think twice before I book this hostel again, but definitely not the quadruplet room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaiLing03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seri Kembangan
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A charming place, littered tastefully with homely trinkets and art pieces around the common rooms and shared areas. We got the best room (double bed, with air conditioning and a river view) for a very good price and we were very glad that it was located on the riverbank, so close to the city and Jonker walk, it's perfect for people wanting to explore Malacca on foot. The place was clean, service was friendly and the place was very well maintained, although it had very limited showers and bathrooms (definitely not for bathroom hoggers!). Walls are a little thin unfortunately, and we had to endure a rowdy bunch of inconsiderate people in the next room who made just about as much noise as a thunderstorm at 3am in the morning. Not far from it is Little Momma's Cafe who's owner also runs tours to the Malacca hot springs. If you need ANY direction to ANYWHERE in Malacca, he's your guy. Not far from it is also an artsy second hand bookstore owned by a lovely couple who also runs a bar called Shantaram two blocks away which opens from 9pm-2am, which we'll affectionately refer to as the smallest bar in the world, with great artistic vibes, good music, and six ringgit beers.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

It's a Budget Guest House, and not a Boutique Hotel. So you get a bed.
The common hall and kitchen are quite unique, but the rooms are just simple rooms with beds. Some have air conditioning, and some just fans. Maps and drinking water are available at the comman area on ground floor, there's cosy sofa and reading materilas and TV available. Quite a nice place to hang out with friends and meet others staying there. Could even leave a can trail on the wall, by writing on the can drink you just finished and then put it on the wall with the others.

If you did not get the riverview room, but wanna look at the riverview, just go to the toilet as the toilet windows faces the river. Toilet are shared and does take some times if the place are packed. There is no management after hours (depending on if there's booked guest informing of arriving late), those you see watching tele on the common room are just guest, so walk in after hours are not possible. There's a number to call by the door if there's vacant rooms, the staff would come from their other budget hotel. Yes, there's a few now in their franchise around the same area. Sayang-sayang is the name the mostly used, which also over dorm type.

It is a nice location and you can really walk around even from the back door. You will be provided 3 keys, 1 for your room, 1 for the front door and 1 for the back door. The Back door open ups to the Malacca River walk path, which is a wonderful experience. The front door open ups to the road leading to the Jonker Walk, just 150m walk straight ahead. Then another 100m walk to the left from Jonker will get you to the Clock tower area - the Historical Sites.

If you don't mind sharing toilet (2 - 1 at ground floor, another at 1st floor) and the really basic bedding, for a great easy to reach location, then it's good. Else, you might wanna check out their other options available. Heard that they are doing boutique hotel and even drive in motel in the near future.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than 2 nites, get a room with a window. It would be less humid during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fat_miao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We had spend 2 night on this house, the person in charge was quite friendly, a good option for those who don't like hotel style.
It feel like a house.
The room was basic enough, but it is clean.
Bring your own shampoo and else because it is not provided.
The location as great as a few minute footstep can reach many attraction place (egJonker Street).
The major drawback is the number of washroom.
We knew that guesthouse or home stay won't have in room toilets or washroom, but this house just have 3 washroom+toilets which is not enough for more than 15 people of total capacity of the house.
But overall is ok.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tobypoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I'd found this lovely guesthouse online and tried to reserve the riverside room by calling the owner, Kent. He promised to reserve the room for me. I was happy and hope my partner would be impressed by the lovely room. However when we arrived, we were told that the room we reserved was taken by other people. The reason was that they paid deposit and they can have it. I was furious as Kent did not even mention about paying deposit during our conversation. He should have reminded his guest about deposit if it really matters. As a result we had no choice but to take the street view room which is a bit noisy when vehicles passed by.

It would be a good idea to bring mosquito repellent with you to stay in this guesthouse.

I called Kent to tell him that I was upset with the service. He apologised and sent me a text saying that I could use the text message to stay in one his other hostels with discounted price. Honestly do you think I will patronise his business?

The owner also owns several hostels and guesthouses around the area. He should have been more professional and sincere serving customers. Moreover he's a backpacker himself who would understand the needs of travelers.

Overall the place is clean and with good location but poor in managing bookings and communicating with customers. It is strongly recommended to call the owner to confirm your reservations before arrival

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickyhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Riverside Cardamom
The Riverside Cardamom
#19 of 126 in Melaka
10 reviews
0.1 mi away
V'La Heritage Hotel Jonkers Melaka
0.1 mi away
Raymonds Boutique Traveller's Home
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victor's Guest House
Victor's Guest House
#19 of 211 in Melaka
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#63 of 211 in Melaka
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Blanca Guest House
Casa Blanca Guest House
#18 of 211 in Melaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jiong House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jiong House

Property: Jiong House
Address: 76 Jalan Kampung Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Jiong House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jiong House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing