We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Service & Downgrade Room”

Hoya Jonker Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melaka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoya Jonker Guest House
Ranked #148 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Bad Service & Downgrade Room”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

i book the hotel for couple room for two night, but they give me double single bed room for two night. and their never giving back my balance. very UNFAIR to me. the first day i stay there morning 7am the indian lady name Alice open the music very laud, and make me cant sleep well. and she very rude to me when i asking her to return me the balance. very bad experian in this Hoya Jonker Guest House. STRONGLY NOT RECOMMEND TO STAY HERE! PLEASE AVOID TO STAY HERE. i give -10 out of 10. =(

Room Tip: Beside the Hoya Jonker Guest House got one nicer hotel. please book that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChengLingWei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I managed to book a room for one night stay just 2 hours before i reached the place (about 6.30pm) The place was easy to find. If you are facing the stage, take the left lane and it is just a few metres away. We paid extra RM 20 to switch from a standard room to an air-conditioned room (i wasn't aware that standard room is a fan room) and another RM 20 as deposit for the access card into the place. I wasn't sure if he was the owner, but he greeted us with a big smile upon arrival. My friend and i stayed in a room with two single beds. Towels and blankets were provided. Floor was clean when we arrived. There were food (biscuits, tea, coffee) at the common area. And i noticed a guitar at the corner! The Indian uncle who works there during night shift was so helpful and friendly! He constantly reminded us to be careful while travelling and even helped us to remove the rubbish at the front of the guest house so that we could park our car.

Room Tip: Choose carefully and read the conditions when you book rooms from agoda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TryMyBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The host is very hospitable and good in many languages and Chinese dialects. He is very enthusiastic to help all the guest around with their questions to transportation and commuting. He offers their local opinions or points about the local food to get or sightseeing spots to see.
We had a very pleasant time to stay there for 3 nights. The rooms are pretty clean and the environments or facilities are quite good. However, if they could offer more than one bathroom and one restroom, that would make the stay more comfortable.
Hoya Jonker Guest House 就位於雞場街附近,近麻六甲運河,附近的景點非常多,即便搭公共運輸的交通工具,如巴士等也都很方便。
旅店服務人員呂先生非常親切,中英語也很流利,所有中外旅客詢問,有關麻六甲旅遊或近郊的交通等問題,他都能如數家珍,一一排解。
房務雖小但清潔舒適,唯一令人詬病的是浴廁僅僅各一,以一個9個房室的容量而言,是較少了一點,若能擴建的話,相信會更有吸引力!
雞場街的光景如同台灣的夜市生活,但有其獨特的餐飲業,附近吃的小店不少,如娘惹餐或晶露的冰品非常好吃,尤其不要錯過 Jonker 88 (OR 86)!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anitayang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Upon arrival around 12.30pm at this guesthouse, we rang the doorbell but no one is there, 5 minutes later a lady staff came back and opened the gate for us to go upstair. Unfriendly, no greetings, no smiles, she gave us our room key. The staff couldn't be bothered to show us the room, so we have to find the room ourselves.

The rooms are basic and tiny without window. We booked a triple room, 1 double bed and 1 single bed with aircond. Once we entered, there's a strong smell in the room, I guess it's some chinese medicine oil smell. Then we noticed some hairs on the bedsheets, we asked the staff whether they change the bedsheets for new guest. Well, we were told that they change it every 3 guests staying and they don't have extra bedsheets. The bed has only a thin mattress cover and a thin blanket. Towels are provided, we covered our pillows with the towels as we felt the cleanliness was dubious.

There's a pc to online and wifi is available for guests. However the staff told us that we only can use the pc for 15 minutes. There's only one semi-clean bathroom and one toilet for all guests.

The location is very strategic to walk-around in jonker street. Right in front of the guesthouse is the weekend night market and a event stage where people having karaoke, it gets noisy during weekends. During our stay, there's a group of youngster guests chit chatting loudly till late night. We can hear the noise as the room has only a thin wooden wall. This place is not recommended for light sleepers.

Overall, this was poor value for money, there are many better options in Melaka with the same price. Location was good for those who like to explore jonker street and night life.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sywong331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Baba House
The Baba House
#44 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sayang Heritage Residence & Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoya Jonker Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoya Jonker Guest House

Property: Hoya Jonker Guest House
Address: No 72 Jalan Tokong, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing