We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Laksa I Have Ever Had!”
Review of Poh Piah Lwee

Poh Piah Lwee
Ranked #24 of 671 Restaurants in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$4
Cuisines: Asian, Malaysian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: Situated just next to Jonker Street, offering mouth-watering delights such as poh piah, rojak, laksa and nonya dumpling.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Laksa I Have Ever Had!”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

I was looking for the long lost taste of laksa that I had forgotten where I had tried before. I could only remember there was some finely chopped greenish vegetable floating in the gravy.
Then came one day my Mother wanted to have Popiah and asked me to bring her to the nearest restaurant I could find. So there we were in this tiny little shop.
I saw laksa so I ordered one serving for a try. The laksa beehoon was served in a dainty stainless steel wok with shrimps, tau pok, cockles, bean sprouts, thin strips of cucumber and finely chopped greenish vege!! And that was the exact flavour I had been looking for! Yum yum!! The gravy was thick enough and the aroma was irresistible. I couldn't help but take a second serving and promised myself no more other stall of laksa but this one.
However, as the gravy is cooked using coconut milk, the calories are high. Consume it with care.
The popiah and rojak are also a "must try" when we go there every time.
Find out yourself and enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 916Sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tiong Bahru, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“NOMZ”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We had the laksa, popiah and rojak! Portions were good to share with a mate. I like the laksa the most! Gravy was just right for me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Farah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great popiah, great laksa, and great nonya style dumplings. The chef is really friendly too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Californienne1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melaka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“it's so different and very,very good.”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Located in between little india and chinatown. and the food is excellent and at least you know what ur eating.

Helpful?
1 Thank shajipapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“The Best poh piahs in Melaka”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The poh piahs are THE BEST - last year we went every afternoon to get our fix. The woman who makes them touts out the opening saying they are the best poh piah and she is not over-boasting - they are!! The laksa is also very good.
This year we stayed in Melaka during the week and were disappointed in that she wasn't open every day and then one day (Wed I think) she didn't serve the poh piahs, but we had the other specialty she made - see photo, sorry can't remember the name of them, but glutonous rice with blue colouring and sweet-ish pork in the inside. Okay, but not my cup of tea.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BridgetC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poh Piah Lwee also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Poh Piah Lwee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing