We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some fine Ming porcelain”

Cheng Ho Cultural Museum
Ranked #21 of 136 things to do in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kunming, China
Level Contributor
523 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
“Some fine Ming porcelain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

This little museum was a highlight of my Melaka trip. I've studied Zheng He's voyages before and seen exhibits about his life in other places such as Macau. I'm an admirer or what he did.

Was surprised to find so many pieces of top-notch Ming porcelain. It may be one of the better (small) collections I've seen in a long time -- with the Nanjing Museum probably being tops.

The introductory movie is worth the time. It shows in English and in Chinese.

This museum could use some strong financial support and a general sprucing up of the exhibits. Lots of great material, but not too well displayed.

As it is now, it's probably of more interest to history buffs (like myself) than to casual tourists.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZhongguoKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    82
    28
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“An informative museum on Cheng Ho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Visitors who are not so familiar with Cheng Ho will find this visit an eye-opening experience. It provides a clear description of Cheng Ho's contribution to SE Asia and China's trading and exploration achievements then. At least an hour should be set aside for this museum visit.

The video shown before the museum tour gave a good introductory overview and made the rest of the exhibition more meaningful to visitors. We did not get to have a guided tour, but this did not make the visit any less interesting.

Nothing fanciful in this museum, but definitely informative and well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The museum is great place to learn more about Cheng Ho, we went on 7 June 14 in a group of 3 and we were guided by a friendly young lady, she did a great job explained and guided us with passion and patience!

Recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Loh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Watch the video to set the scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The museum is housed in what look like a shophouse. We expected a very small museum with some items related to Cheng Ho. We were very wrong.
We were ushered into a room for a 10min video viewing about the man himself. This sets the scene on how to "appreciate" the museum better. The museum is a collection about the man's life story, things like his capture, castration, rise to power, the lands he have visited, ideas he spread, Chinese descendants, correlation to Melaka,etc. I also find it amazing that they have an exhibit on pseudo-science by Gavin Menzies, author of 1421, where he claims that Cheng Ho travelled to the Americas. This is highly disputed topic that is not recognized by most scholars.
Anyway besides that controversial topic, the museum really covers a lot of topics. The museum occupies a lot of space which I could not tell from its unimpressive entrance.
Overall, although some exhibits are a bit old or kinda loosely related to Cheng Ho, it's still an interesting museum to learn more about the man and his influence to the world.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin_Liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapunda Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is an interesting but simple museum and can fill your time if you have nothing else much to do. Can't say it was really worth my time but what the heck it was there.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheng Ho Cultural Museum also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Cheng Ho Cultural Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing