We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newlybuilt hotel & not many of the locals heard of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #106 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed there for 1 night. Ask around the locals & no one seems to know the hotel. When called up the hotel, they too unable to guide us the road to this hotel & it's really annoying. Check-in was fast w/o any 'ooh-ahs'.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty big for a deluxe room
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eleasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Wana Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

209 - 215 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have recently stayed 1 night at this hotel and it was not too bad as it was a very last minute trip to malacca and we nearly could not get any decent hotel for just 1 night. The service at the reception during checked in was a quite a long wait as the hotel staffs were quite inefficient in handling masses of crowd and there were no proper queue. The amenities in the rooms were very basic and we cant expect much.

We kinda liked the location though its not very near to the Shopping Malls but the walk along the river is nice to Jonker St!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dolphinjc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a relatively new hotel situated along the Melaka river. We were a group of four and stayed in 2 twin rooms. Rooms were clean, with a decent shower albeit hot water being a little finicky; I would have also expected a better TV than the old analog model they had. Room doors can be tricky as we found out and did require a trip back to reception to activate the key cards. Generally, staff were pleasant and helpful with our inquiries. Tickets for the Melaka river cruise are available at the reception and the pick-up point within walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast was adequate and although there's much room for improvement. The hotel is situated along the river, with many cafes, coffee bars that visitors could go to. With a firework display over the city the weekend we stayed, my friends and I had pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shamu06_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The overall experience at the hote was great and comfortable.

Price: Price is reasonable as compared to the prcing at the other hotel nearby.

Ammenties: There is a basement carpark available for the guest FOC. Overall small carpark, not sure if the hotel is fully booked, would it be able to accomodate all the guest in the hotel. i guess it will be a first come first serve basis. There is no swimming pool available as i was told by the help desk that the pool is still under renovation.

Service: Greeted with a smile when we check in to the hotel. The staffs at the helpdesk can speak good english and they are very helpful and attentive.

Location: Nice location. My room was facing the river and the mini ferris wheel. It is about 10min walking distance to the Jonkers street. You can look at the scenery while walking along the river, making your way to the market.

Room: Clean with very minimal deco. I guess it is still a very new hotel. So everything is still new and good. No old carpet smell or leaking basin/toilet. Basic toiletries are all provided which include toothbrush.

Meal: The buffet spread are quite small. No very fantastic, anyway it is included in the stay.

Overall: Pleasant stay with the hotel. Will come back to this hotel the next time i visit malacca again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VievyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The location of hotel was a bit difficult to find, even as a local. There was no Hotel signage facing the river. Only upon arriving at the front can you see the Hotel name. The underground parking is limited because it is just one floor, due to the river level besides it.
Front lobby is nice but with minimal decorations or plants. The reception is a bit slow, and it seems that they are quite disorganized when allocating the rooms and finding the right keys.
The room door is quite tricky to open and you will need a few attempts. The room is quite nice and clean. Good ammenities with coffee making facilities and decent toiletries. TV size is decent, but not a branded TV (Haier). View of the Melaka river is nice from the 5th floor. But I think the 6th floor or higher would be nicer. Breakfast spread is excellent and beautiful view of the river.

Room Tip: Book a river facing room, preferably from 6th to 9th floor for a better view of the river and the St...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leonardo1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed in a twin room at Best Western in Malacca from 6 - 9 June 2012. Our's was a retreat / camp of sorts comprising of about 200 pax. Needless to say, the hotel management was not ready for us!

The room that we stayed for the first night was on the 5th floor and its number ended in the odd digit, that is, all odd numbered rooms faced the main road and even numbered faced the river.

Overall, the hotel was undergoing some major refurbishments and we had been forewarned to expect some teething problems. However, we encountered inconveniences not only from within (interior) the hotel premises but also from sources outside the building.

Firstly, the air-conditioner in the room under-performed! Secondly, there is this every hour on the hour blasting of sounds that were shrill and loud, a kind of cultural music of sorts that lasted for a mere minute or less... it was acceptable when one was not in the room during the day but totally unacceptable and irritating when one was looking forward to having a good night rest!

On top of this every hour on the hour blasting from the "clock tower", there was also a cacophony of sound = music?? from the Karaoke joint across the road. So, coupled with this noise from the Karaoke (ceased only at 3am) plus the hour on the hour blasting - imagine what one will be like the next morning!!

Therefore, on the next morn we requested for a room change to one that ended with an even number. The staff was rather accommodating and understood our dilemma of lack of sleep.
The next room allocated to us was on the 4th floor and it had 2 major problems within!

The noise blasting from the air-conditioner was terrific - loud and freezing cold... the technician came and after 45 mins of "tender-care", the noise and temperature were tuned to a more acceptable level. The next surprise we had was when we opened the bathroom door - it could not open wide as the toilet bowl was in its way, so one had to open, stand aside, shut the door and one may then enter the shower area?? .. by the way, there was also a steady downpour of water from the false ceiling board raining directly onto the toilet bowl??? another dilemma when one had to answer to the call of nature in the night - nevertheless, we did not want the technician to return again afterall, it was almost 12am in the night when they resolved the noise from the aircon, so we had prepared the brolly to assist us in case of....

Fortunately, the internal downpour soon stopped as it was probably linked to the over-zealous functioning of the aircon unit, so when the unit was tuned back to near-normalcy, guess the water stopped!

Would we recommend this hotel to our friends, your guess is as good as mine.

Room Tip: Request for rooms facing river-front and even numbered.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RakunSoshiteRisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We were looking forward to staying here and when we entered it looked upper class.
We checked in but the corridors and rooms are carpeted and the corridor on our floor had many stains and two or three in the room. If they had a floor that could be cleaned it would be much better. The electric sockets in the hotel are like the uk ( 3 pin ) but the tv had a 2 pin plug forced into the socket and kept coming out. Breakfast was ok. Staff were ok but could be a little more helpful in finding out bus times. Bathroom ok. Air-con took time getting down to temperature.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 402shadrack402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#47 of 167 in Melaka
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#78 of 167 in Melaka
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#84 of 167 in Melaka
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
0.2 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#121 of 167 in Melaka
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £16 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing