We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location hotel with beautiful views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wana Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #100 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location hotel with beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

We booked the standard room at the Early Bird rates at Agoda - great price! At arrival, we were told that Standard rooms are on smoking floors. We told them we had no idea! As we were travelling with young children, the very nice reception lady upgraded us to deluxe rooms which were on non-smoking floors. What a great service! The room is clean, and the views are great - overseeing the river and the amusement park. The breakfast is nice too. The beds and linen were clean and new and very comfortable!
Sightseeing/Attractions Tip: Next to the fountain is a beautiful musical fountain! The Melaka cruise passes the hotel and the fountain - evening they play music and lights

Room Tip: Be sure to check with hotel what rooms to book if you require non-smoking rooms. All rooms in hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5RFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    77
    86
    40
    34
See reviews for
87
82
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night in early June 2012 on a last-minute weekend trip to Melaka. I chose it because I was on a fairly tight budget, liked the riverside location and it had decent reviews on this website. We got a good rate through Wotif.com for a Deluxe room including breakfast.

Pros:
- Room: The room was bigger than I had expected and quite spacious for the two of us
- Location: As the name suggests, it is right beside the river which makes for a lovely leisurely walk into the historic centre of town and various attractions like the town square, A'Famosa fort ruins, St Pauls church, Jonker Street night markets, Maritime Museum etc.
- Friendly staff were happy to look after our luggage and call us a taxi when we were leaving.

Cons:
- Service was a bit mediocre overall. When we arrived to check in I had to stand at the counter and wait several minutes for reception staff to finish a conversation before I was acknowledged. Also when we came back to collect our bags before leaving, concierge was unattended and other staff did not seem to know what to do/where the bags were kept.

- Lifts/elevators don't seem to have a safety censor as they closed rather quickly and unexpectedly and I escaped a couple of near misses, definitely something to be aware of if you are travelling with small children or the elderly.

- Bathroom was not as clean as I would have liked and had no towels when we got to our room (about 4pm). I asked housekeeping who happened to be cleaning our floor at the time and was told the towels had been sent away for cleaning. We got back to the hotel at 7:30pm and still no towels - I called reception and was told that the towels had just arrived (back from the laundry?) and would be distributed to all rooms. We received them in the next 15 minutes but I just think a hotel this size should have more than 1 set of towels for each room, delays like this are really not acceptable.

This review probably sounds worse than it was, we were actually happy with our stay overall and keeping in mind it is a budget hotel, I think we got our money's worth. We hope to return to Melaka at some point and splash out on the Casa del Rio hotel, which looks amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budge185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed there for 1 night. Ask around the locals & no one seems to know the hotel. When called up the hotel, they too unable to guide us the road to this hotel & it's really annoying. Check-in was fast w/o any 'ooh-ahs'.

Room Tip: Rooms are pretty big for a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eleasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

I have recently stayed 1 night at this hotel and it was not too bad as it was a very last minute trip to malacca and we nearly could not get any decent hotel for just 1 night. The service at the reception during checked in was a quite a long wait as the hotel staffs were quite inefficient in handling masses of crowd and there were no proper queue. The amenities in the rooms were very basic and we cant expect much.

We kinda liked the location though its not very near to the Shopping Malls but the walk along the river is nice to Jonker St!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dolphinjc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

This is a relatively new hotel situated along the Melaka river. We were a group of four and stayed in 2 twin rooms. Rooms were clean, with a decent shower albeit hot water being a little finicky; I would have also expected a better TV than the old analog model they had. Room doors can be tricky as we found out and did require a trip back to reception to activate the key cards. Generally, staff were pleasant and helpful with our inquiries. Tickets for the Melaka river cruise are available at the reception and the pick-up point within walking distance from the hotel. Breakfast was adequate and although there's much room for improvement. The hotel is situated along the river, with many cafes, coffee bars that visitors could go to. With a firework display over the city the weekend we stayed, my friends and I had pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shamu06_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

The overall experience at the hote was great and comfortable.

Price: Price is reasonable as compared to the prcing at the other hotel nearby.

Ammenties: There is a basement carpark available for the guest FOC. Overall small carpark, not sure if the hotel is fully booked, would it be able to accomodate all the guest in the hotel. i guess it will be a first come first serve basis. There is no swimming pool available as i was told by the help desk that the pool is still under renovation.

Service: Greeted with a smile when we check in to the hotel. The staffs at the helpdesk can speak good english and they are very helpful and attentive.

Location: Nice location. My room was facing the river and the mini ferris wheel. It is about 10min walking distance to the Jonkers street. You can look at the scenery while walking along the river, making your way to the market.

Room: Clean with very minimal deco. I guess it is still a very new hotel. So everything is still new and good. No old carpet smell or leaking basin/toilet. Basic toiletries are all provided which include toothbrush.

Meal: The buffet spread are quite small. No very fantastic, anyway it is included in the stay.

Overall: Pleasant stay with the hotel. Will come back to this hotel the next time i visit malacca again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VievyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The location of hotel was a bit difficult to find, even as a local. There was no Hotel signage facing the river. Only upon arriving at the front can you see the Hotel name. The underground parking is limited because it is just one floor, due to the river level besides it.
Front lobby is nice but with minimal decorations or plants. The reception is a bit slow, and it seems that they are quite disorganized when allocating the rooms and finding the right keys.
The room door is quite tricky to open and you will need a few attempts. The room is quite nice and clean. Good ammenities with coffee making facilities and decent toiletries. TV size is decent, but not a branded TV (Haier). View of the Melaka river is nice from the 5th floor. But I think the 6th floor or higher would be nicer. Breakfast spread is excellent and beautiful view of the river.

Room Tip: Book a river facing room, preferably from 6th to 9th floor for a better view of the river and the St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leonardo1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#27 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#91 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#110 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bendahara Makmur Sdn Bhd
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#97 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.9 mi away
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
Euro Rich Hotel Melaka
#53 of 167 in Melaka
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Property: Wana Riverside Hotel
Address: No.2, Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing