We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #105 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Location, Friendly Staff, Value for Money”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We were here to accompany a friend from Thailand. Since he has booked this hotel through a travel agency, we just followed.In spite of all the negative recent review i read from some other reviewers from TripAdvisor, we were very happy with what we encountered for our 2 days 1 night stay.
First, the check in was smooth, then were given an early check in because it is a weekday, they have empty room available. We got room number 708. It was clean and comfortable, nice view overlooking the Melaka River and the Straits of Melaka from a far. The location is just great. We just strolled along the Melaka River which is just beside the hotel as it is situated at the riverbank. We can even buy the River Cruise ticket at the hotel counter and the pick up time from the hotel is at 9am, 3pm and 8pm. The ticker is very cheap: MYR10 for local & MYR15 for non citizen.
We walked across the bridge (Jambatan Pasar) about a few hundreds meters from the hotel and continue walking... and there is the historical center of Melaka civilization. If you like antiques and local cuisine, this is like heaven for you, The Jonker Walk. If you visit this place during the weekends (Friday to Sunday), you can explore the night market here.
In the evening, we crossed the Jambatan Hang Tuah to the open air cafe opposite the hotel to enjoy dinner, music and a few drinks. We feel so relax being embraced by the beautiful surrounding of Melaka River at night.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on higher level, this hotel has 9 levels, 7 and above will give you a better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina7155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    78
    91
    41
    35
See reviews for
87
85
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

the rates were 99 MYR without breakfast and tht was a good deal as this is definately more tha 3* and nearly a 4* property...not far from the city centre, it is worth staying...and it is right on the banks of the river so good option to stroll around..would recommend this place fr budget travellers

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayush a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I would actually rate this hotel between Poor and Average. This is a hotel without additional facilities - no swimming pool, no gym. There are plenty of meeting rooms on the 2nd floor, a coffee house/restaurant and a karaoke place on the Ground floor.

Generally the hotel is kept quite clean. Some signs of refurbishment, but poorly done renovation - in the meeting rooms you can see marks of paint, thin walls.

Pro's
1. it's by the riverside, walking distance to Jonker Street. If you don't mind walking, you can also reach most of the main museums and attractions
2. LCD TV in the room - with a good selection of channels - Disney, BBC, local TV stations, AXN
3. small fridge provided in the room
4. Staff are polite and courteous towards guests

Con's
1. not much in the very near vicinity to the hotel - there's not convenience shop in say 2 minutes walk.
2. rooms are refurbished.. bed sheets look new.. but have spots of old stains!
3. service is not attentive enough - I called for the sheets in my room to be changed.. nothing was done until another reminder, and the new sheet had stain too
4. staff are not well trained, not professional. reception counter staff was very polite speaking to me, but when he finished speaking to me, he made a phone call and spoke quite rudely to another hotel staff - while I was still at the counter!! to me, politeness should be maintained no matter who you speak to.
5. The air conditioning is loud.. they use central air conditioning - if you are a very light sleeper bring ear plugs. I'm quite a light sleeper, I had some trouble falling asleep
6. Depending on the price you pay... you may be paying too much for a hotel without extra facilities - not a good idea for a holiday with kids - you'd want the kids to have an area to play in, like a swimming pool - but this hotel doesn't have one.

Average points
1. Food is OK. Not too bad. Breakfast selection is average or below average of what you'd find at a typical Malaysian 3 star hotel - nasi lemak, mee goreng, bread toasting station, cereals and milk, juice made from concentrate, porridge. There's also a staff at the egg counter, to make eggs to your request.

Room Tip: Choose the river view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milvoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

thank god i only stayed there for one night.
the room was very old (the bathroom looked older).
i chose a river looking room, but i think other room would look the same. it's not that pretty.
i didn't book for breakfast because the bad review.
so i had my breakfast on jonker street.
but the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinadyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marseillan, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Very good position close to the river and a short walk to town. Very large rooms and decent bathrooms but a bit shabby. Underground parking is very useful. Breakfast service is chaotic. Good value. The higher your floor the better as the view is wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

My room was bare and old, with little or no amenities provided. For the price I'm paying (RM250), this is unacceptable. No water was provided for drinking and despite insisting on a non-smoking floor, many guests were smoking on the 4th floor.

Breakfast is provided but you're better off earring elsewhere. The selection is as sparse as the decor and tasted disappointing.

The bed is alright but if you're given a city view room, embrace yourself for some noise from the traffic. Not a pleasant stay for me.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were in Melaka for a wedding. As it was the school holidays, it was very difficult to get a room elsewhere so we ended up here.

The hotel room was very basic - bare and not cosy at all. It was not worth the price we paid. Breakfast was nothing to shout about.

I guess if you are just looking for a place to crash for the night after a day of sightseeing in Melaka, Wana Riverside is ok. However, if you are looking for comfort - avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#34 of 166 in Melaka
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#61 of 166 in Melaka
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#96 of 166 in Melaka
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#33 of 166 in Melaka
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#89 of 166 in Melaka
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Property: Wana Riverside Hotel
Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing