We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like IT, not hate it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like IT, not hate it”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Stayed in a junior suite. The room was spacious and clean. Comes with two flat screen TV. The bed is comfy as it has high/thick mattress with nice hotel pillows. Room decoration was pleasant and modern. Think the hotel was almost fully booked during my stay (27/4) because they had to open the grand ballroom to sit the guests for breakfast the next day. Breakfast choices were pretty good.Location of the hotel is great as it is near shopping mall and attractions. The only thing that I would ask for is to have the wifi in the rooms instead of needing to go to lobby and other designated areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Locomoco71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    536
    1,144
    398
    100
    73
See reviews for
926
530
52
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Wow! We were so amazed at the value for money of this hotel! It is within a short walk from all the main sights, quiet, brand new, with an excellent restaurant, enormous breakfast included, and a great spa! Although it was Chinese New Year and crowded, the service was excellent. We would love to go back and stay again in the lovely city of Melaka.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christauria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

End of April 2013, on a working trip, stayed there for 3 days and 2 nights and the 3rd half day till 6.00pm (paid 2½ days)
Parking is plentiful, no worry. There‘s always a next floor.
Check-in was ok.

The bed is very comfortable with white bed sheets, white blankets and white pillow cases.
The air conditioner provides very cold weather as per adjusted.
The lighting is adequate and bright.
My sleep was wonderful (very important to me).
Room still new and facilities still ok.
Internet Lan excess is fast.
Bathroom in need of additional towel racks for the used and wet ones. Bathroom has white towels, hand towels, face towels. floor towel mat and 2 doors, one from the bedroom and the other from the daybed area. The bidet has trigger handle logically ideal for use.
Two flat screen televisions work well with my grand children sleeping. Baby cot is complimentary.
The day bed with a flat screen is a very good idea invented by the room designer. It also serves as a daybed or an extra bed when needed, yet separated from the bedroom proper. The area has a separate air conditioner duct, if the partition door is totally closed to prevent noise going to the bedroom.
My wife and daughter took care of my two grandchildren. They walked to “downstairs” town and there was no loss of choice of food and drinks. The hotel is surrounded by eateries and shopping malls.

Breakfast on that Sunday was a big problem. Either the F&B is poorly managed or they were not prepared for a big crowd. After the restaurant was clogged with guests, the rest were asked to take to the Ballroom. Most of the food prepared and served at the ballroom were very salty and it was something like the cooks were not supervised. It was “serve and let them eat”. The food items started to go off the menu. When asked, they blamed the rush on the unexpected 1000 odd guests away from the normal size on that particular day.

Yet they have 704 rooms. And if they cannot handle such a situation like what happened, then they are either understaffed or the staff is not properly trained.

I decided to take the offer of buy 2 get 3 "Seafood Dinner". It turned out to be just a normal buffet dinner with the food coined with small pieces of seafood, shell and cockles. I would expect big grilled prawns, baked fish or “ikan bakar” with “live” cooking and grilling stations at the counter, but instead, ready and near cold dishes, at RM98.60 per person. Worst still, you have to go behind the counter to self serve certain food and even ice cream because the facilities are turned to the inside of the counter, meaning to say, you have to be served.
No kidding, on a Saturday night, with 704 rooms, full.(I requested for an extra room but declined).
The number of guests at the buffet seafood dinner was hardly 50. We were at the restaurant for 2 hours.
It’s either the price or the array of food served with poor theme.

On weekends, the swimming pool was overcrowded. The walk-up to the pool was congested and the area does not seem to cater for 704 rooms. The swimming pool seems like catering for children and youngsters. Adults like me prefer to lap the pool’s length.
However the kid’s pool area has a dancing fountain to keep children happy, but it does not work as it should be. Sometimes it does not function at all.

Service was generally good and friendly especially at the front office counter and also all passing-by staff.
The lobby is huge with seating areas.
Housekeeping staff is not very friendly and there is lack of courtesy.

When there are busloads of tourist at check-in, you may have to bear the heavy talking and there is an air of noise pollution at the reception counter and in the hall. You also have to brace for a long queue at the elevator.

Location wise, the hotel is very strategic. Even though attached to a shopping mall, the mall is yet to be alive, maybe still new. But just outside the hotel, there is live everywhere.

In all, they have to buck up on the restaurant and the food outlet.
Still new, they have good time to overcome these teething problems.
I am sure they are on the way up.

No hesitation, I will return to this hotel again and I am sure my family will.

Room Tip: Don't worry about sea view, nothing much to see, still sea. Town view would be better. Get hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

There is nothing you can fault Hatten - from their service to the rooms provided.

Perhaps the one and only downside will be the lobby area where we suffered from mozzie bites while hanging around trying to tap on the WIFI but the excellent experience make up for it!

It is strategically located near the malls. The staffs are friendly and approachable whenever we need assistance. They even went the extra mile to load our baggages up the coach across the road!

Even the pool is amazing! Their rooms are new, spacious and clean. Chatterz is the place where we had our daily breakfast and to our delight, the spread is sumptous. It is definitely worth every penny.

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade-Chew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed in Hatten for two nights on the 3rd & 4th of May. It is our first visit to Hatten and I am glad to say it did not disappoint us.

Very spacious room, modern and clean is the word.

Breakfast variety was very good, thumbs up. I heard reviews of long queue for breakfast, long check in , check out. But we did not experience any of them.

We had an early check in around 1.30 on the 3rd, the breakfast queue was only like less than 10 people.

Location wise is super duper good, with two mega malls connected to Hatten hotel.

We will definitely come back. :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delight007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I was been there last week for a night with my brother. The environment is good enough but feeling the receptionist is quite clumsy but i dint mind at all because i was in holiday mood. The breakfast quite awesome and the H spa. The shopping center just beside of the hotel. Just wondering why din't provide sanitary bag in guest room? Overall is quite ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JingleChu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Hatten was a great place to be staying for our first trip to Melaka. It's great for those that are use to a more luxurious setting. The hotel is new and the rooms are elegant and neat. It is connected to a huge megamall which has everything from designer goods to massages (Which are very affordable and worth the money!).

The good thing is that it is also a 10 mins short walk from the historical centre and the famous jonker walk food area.

We paid 180 RM for two days for two of us (including breakfast) so that was really affordable. Ask the front desk if they have any vouchers you can purchase and use immediately. That was how we got ours at that price.


Great fun for a 2 day 1 night trip!

Room Tip: Go on a weekday if you can and try to avoid the holidays. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minever02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing