We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel but with poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel but with poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay in Hatten. The first was during their soft launch where their rooms were only partially available. This time, the hotel is 100% in operation, but with 100% guests, its a mess at the lobby during checkin and checkout. Staff were so busy that they dun have time for any greetings or smile, so dun expect it.

We stay 2 nights over the long weekend on 24-26 May. We requested for baby cot during my booking n remibded them during check in. They said ok and fif not commit in the availability. Expected, there were no cot when we entered the rm. fine, we called the front desk to put up the request again, the cot din came. It was until we went out n came back in the night that the cot was placed in our rm.

Second incident, we requested for chg of cot bedsheet thru phone, they came with 3 rolls of toilet paper. Clarified n waited then they came back with 1 sheet n 1 extra sheet.

Food standard drop drastically. Probably too many guests n their turnover was bad.

Besides that, the usual comments such as location n link to shopping ctrs, was great...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWoNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    528
    1,127
    393
    96
    73
See reviews for
918
519
50
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hatten is located at Makotha where we spend our 2nd night after Hotel Puri. The hotel is new and near shopping centers. To get to Jonker street which nearby took us 1 hour drive to and fro due to traffic. I would recommend to stay at those boutique hotels if you prefer Jonker and places of interest near it. I will definitely not book this hotel as I prefer the buzzing street markets and colonial buildings of interest which i frequent often.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikepitt11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Parking
I must say that getting from the car park to the hotel lobby is very confusing. There are 2 lifts available, one will get you from the car park to the hotel lobby (then you have to change lifts to go to your room), the other one will get you from the car park to the shops area. Perhaps management can provide more signage to help the customers to find the correct lift.

Check in
I booked in advance and the check in process is quick & straightforward. Perhaps that is because I arrived at the hotel after 6 pm. The lobby is very big and air conditioned as well as tastefully decorated.

Room
If you like hotels with modern touch then this hotel will definitely suits you. The interior of the room is set in a modern way (furnitures, bedding etc) 2 LCD TV are provided, one at the sleeping area, another one at the 'lounge' area (the two are separated by a partition with blinds that can be lowered if needed). Room is acceptably spacious, so you can bring your kids along (max 2, any more than that will be crowded). Tea/coffee making facilities as well as mini fridge are provided.

Wi-fi
The service is only available at the lobby and swimming pool level. So if you can/t live without your wi-fi gadget such as iPhone, iPad etc then maybe it is a good idea to get your room near to those two area.

Swimming pool / Gymnasium
I love the swimming pool. It is big and not too deep for average Asian like me. Wading pool for kids also available. Gymnasium is also well equipped with treadmills, cross-trainer/elliptical as well as weight training equipment.

Breakfast
I absolutely love the pancakes, other than that the selection is rather decent. Service is quite good as your plates will be cleared when you leave the table to get some more food. Good idea to get there early especially if you are staying during peak period.

Housekeeping
I requested for prayer mat & it was delivered to my room in reasonable time. Hand towels & towels are changed with new ones (clean & free from stains).

Location
This is a big plus to this hotel as it is next to Dataran Pahlawan. Basically if you are busy attending workshop you can rest assured that you wife and kids can manage themselves for lunch and the free time available before you come back to the hotel.

As the hotel is quite new, everything is still in a good shape, only time will tell whether it will stay that way. Overall I am satisfied with my stay and don't mind coming back with my family.

Room Tip: There is no wi-fi in the room so if you can't live without it choose rooms that are near to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murdoc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed from 23-25 May 2013. We were a bit worried about the hotel with the mixed reviews on tripadvisor but decided to take a chance. We took the Deluxe Suite as the Junior Suite was full. The rooms were clean, big and came equipped with all the basic amenities.

The check-in was a little slow, but not as bad as described by most. (We checked in on a public holiday eve).

Prior to our trip we emailed the hotel to make a few enquires and they were fast to respond.

The location is wonderful. There are a few delicious eating establishments near to the hotel hiding in the small streets. Its is just opposite Dataran Pahlawan Mall (which has a theatre) and within walking distance to Jonker Street. There are also cabs available at the hotel for those who find it inconvenient to walk. The ride will cost about 10RM one way.

There is no wifi in-room. But you can always go their grand lobby with cushioned seats to use. There is also a Starbucks within walking distance.

The pool is lovely but it tends to get crowded with families. However it would be better if they management stop guest who enter the pool in tshirt and shorts.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raggytherabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

We stayed a night on the 24th May 2013 on our way to Cameron. We were horrified to find the hotel crowded with long queues waiting to check in. It took us almost an hour to get into our room. The room was huge, the bed was comfortable and we settled in happily. Shoppings were easily accessible and Jonkers Street is within one's walking capacity. Peranakan food is also easily found on the stretch of road on the right side of the hotel.
The Hotel has only 1 restaurant which serves daily buffets and breakfasts. Our breakfast was inclusive. There was a good spread of international breakfast stuffs including laksa, wanton noodle soup and glutinous rice. You will surely find your favorites.
There is also a lovely swimming pool sitting on Level 12. We have left the pool to the day when we will be staying another night on our way back from Cameron.
On the whole, we have enjoyed our stay and would return for future stays. Hopefully , the hotel management could look into improving procedures for check ins during peak seasons.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centrisleng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

The hotel rooms are sizable and spotlessly clean. It deserves a 4-star rating, but not for its service. Do not expect greetings from any of the staff in this hotel. Nobody would greet you with a decent 'Good Morning, sir' !

The are pros and cons for the location. Pros: The hotel is just located right on top of Hatten Square, and Hatten Square is next to two well-known shopping malls in Melaka, Dataran Pahlawan Mall and Mahkota Parade. There are two overhead bridges linking all three malls (linking Hatten Square and Dataran Pahlawan Mall, and another one linking Hatten Square and Mahkota Parade). Getting food and necessities are not a problem.

The cons are: It's not 'really' near to Jonker Street and the historic spots. You need to walk through the Dataran Pahlawan Mall to the well-known A-Farmosa fort, St. Paul Cathedral and The Stadhuys. Walking time is about 12-15 minutes. Jonker Street is about 2-5 minutes walk from The Stadhuys. However you may only walk through Dataran Pahlawan Mall (in an air-con environment) before the mall closes at 10pm. After 10pm, you will need to take a longer walk to walk back from Jonker street to the hotel.

If you are looking for a hotel which is NEAR to Jonker Street, go for hotels like Holiday Inn, Casa del Rio, Jonker Boutique Hotel, etc. If you prefer shopping in air-con malls, Hatten Hotel would be the ONE for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Currently in Room 1762. Whole room is so warm and stuffy. Having a headache because of this. Cannot breathe properly. Called recep and had been waiting for an hour for response, yet still no response. Whole building feels so warm and stuffy!

Room Tip: No joke. The whole building ventilation is gone!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allantanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing