We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confused”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #120 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 21 August 2011

When we arrived our driver was not allowed to stop at the front to offload our luggage, we had to park and then carry our luggage inside. There was no bellboy to help us carry our luggage from foyer to room but a worker did begrudgingly drive us to our block where we were unceremoniously dumped at the foot of the stairs and our block pointed out to us. The hallways are filthy and the rooms need better maintenance. Our safe didn't work and when the maintenance workers came up he told me he didn't fix safes. The manager didn't know what was wrong with it either. The pool area looks really lovely in photos but on closer inspection you'll notice ít needed some cleaning. Breakfast was average. There wasn't much choice and the hot foods weren't actually hot. When we checked out we asked the hotel to order us a taxi. The bellboy watched us load the van with our luggage and then came down and told us that it wasn't the taxi that he ordered so we had to offload everything. Waited more than 10 minutes and then he told us the taxi wasn't coming anymore so we loaded everything up again. The previous year we stayed at the Holiday Inn accross the road and my gosh how I wished we stayed there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Dear Maksha,

We thank you for taking your time to review and share your feedback after your recent stay with us.

We, however, disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay, and we have address your feedback with the respective department heads.

Your valuable feedback will certainly help us to improvise our service standard for guests in the future.

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2011

Luckily i have a sea-view room. Nice! Parking provided and near to the shopping center. But bear in mind, some room maybe too dated. Breakfast is nice :)

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view and high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clumsyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Mahkota Hotel Melaka Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2011

Dear adinda7,


We thank you for your time taken to review and share your experience with us.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Your kind comments will be shared with our respective departments.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Pool good. ESP for 3-5 year olds. Buffett breakfast ok. Staff friendly.
BUT..... rooms dated. First room air con broken, sliding door wouldn't lock, and lots of noise from up stairs. Changed rooms. Faced the street. Big deal you say but many rooms must do. It was like sleeping ON the street with all the traffic noise. Room smelled moldy. Mold evident on bathroom tile and ceiling. Balcony door wouldn't lock. Interesting given sign saying you must lock the doors. Only one room key given. Note that it is a key with hotel and room number written on it...substandard security. Room servicing sub standard. Glassware left dirty in sink. Mold remains. Yellow water in toilets, need I go on.......

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edsonsatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear Edsonsatlarge,


We regret to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for all the inconvenience caused.

We have communicated with the relevant department personnel to rectify those short comings with immediate effect. Nonetheless, we appreciate your valuable feedback and hope to serve you again in the near future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights in a one bedroom apartment. well, as an apartment, not expecting much like hotel services and such. the apartment is just ok, with all basic amenities. my apartment was facing the sea, so the view was great. able to see the man made island with the arab city in progress.

the apartment is huge although the room is normal sized for an apartment. amenities in the room is just sufficient, the bathroom and toilet is below average, but as i said, i am not expecting much. i was at block 2 if i am not mistaken, and it is far from the main lobby. unless if u r willing to walk, it is no problem (for me). otherwise u have to rent a car and the car park is just below the apartments.

the best thing about this hotel is the proximity to most of the tourist attraction. although crossing the road might be a challange at times, u have to be careful and practice extra safety. i may suggest the hotel to built a crossover ffrom the mall opposite as they are the same developer. \

pricing is the best thing! it is damn cheap - plus they gave me free Melaka River Cruise ride x 2 tickets, Parkson shopping voucher of rm30 and some other things that i can't remember. so it is worth the trip!

Room Tip: ask for seaview rooms - the front counter might say it is unavailable but is it worth arguiung for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank az412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear az412,


We thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka during your stay in Malacca. We appreciate your time taken to evaluate us.

With regard to your suggestions on building a crossover, from the mall connecting to the Hotel, recently the local authority has approved in constructing a zebra crossover at the traffic light so to enable guests to cross over to the mall.

Once again, we appreciate your valuable feedback and looking forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

I visited Malacca for an occasion. Since I'm here from quite a distant place, we decided it would be a good idea to have a stay in Malacca. After hours of searching the best hotel, we found Mahkota Hotel.

The moment I entered this hotel, it was clean and welcoming. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. Since we're just staying for a day, and booked the hotel the moment we entered, we were lucky to have an unoccupied room.

The room we had was a family apartment with two rooms, since I travelled with my family. The room was spacious and clean. It has a large area, consisting of a living room, a dining hall and a kitchen. It was definitely like home!

There were two rooms, one overlooking the sea, and one overlooking the swimming pool. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Each room had an individual bathroom which were also clean. Just one thing maybe; the water are pretty brownish. Well assured, the rest are good.

The amenities are all in good, working condition. TV, kettle, mini bar with complimentary bottled water, morning newspaper in front of your doorstep, complimentary tea and coffee, swimming pools, reflexology garden.

Breakfast was buffet style. Many types of cuisine is offered i.e. Western, Malay. Overall, my stay in this hotel was great. I would definitely recommend this for travellers with family.

Room Tip: Request for seaside overlooking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhot2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear redhot2133,


We thank you for your time taken to review and share your experience with us.
We are pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying in our 2 Bedroom Apartment.
Your kind comments will be shared with our respective departments.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We stayed at Mahkota Hotel over a 3-day trip to Melaka in June. The hotel has very spacious grounds and a beautiful landscape within. Our kids enjoyed the swimming pools and the water slides very much and we went swimming everyday. The staff at the hotel were pleasant and our rooms were clean and newly renovated with a fantastic seaview. Car parking is ample and there are guards stationed at the entrance/exit of the hotel for security. It was a great stay indeed and we'll certainly be back for more!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celinaliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Mahkota Hotel Melaka's Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear celinaview,

We thank you for your kind review and comments.
We will share your positive feedbacks to our respective departments.
We are pleased that your kids enjoyed the swimming pools and our warm service.

Looking forward to your next stay with us!


Thank you

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

I was a bit wary of staying at this hotel as part of a tour package to Malacca but it is not as bad as some of the reviews say.

True, it is not a new hotel of 5-star standard (eg. see my other review of G Hotel at Penang). It is old, run down and in need of a facelift, but alright for the price (RM 200+ only for a big apartment-like double room) and definitely not as bad as the Lotus Desaru (eg. see my other review of Lotus Desaru).

The hotel compound is quite big, which means that you may have to take a short walk before reaching your resort-style apartment block. The fittings are in need of renovation (which I hear that the hotel is going to undertake to do soon) - the feedback from other tour group members included that there was brownish coloured water coming out of the tap initially, the flush was not working properly, etc.

However, I found my room and furniture to be clean and the beds to be passably comfortable. My room was generally fine, apart from the fact that there was no view (the bedroom window and balcony faced the side road and car park) and that there were no bath towels. However, the towels were quickly brought over when I called to inform Housekeeping.

I was told that some of the tour group members had superb views of the sea and jetty area, so do request for rooms with a sea view when you check in if they are available. My only grouse is that the bathroom shower only produces a trickle of water anytime of the day but that is tolerable.

Breakfast was complimentary and had a wide variety of Malay, Western and Chinese options. The service at the reception, restaurant and housekeeping is good and the staff are always polite and responsive.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingaporeSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Mahkota Hotel Melaka's Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2011

Dear SingaporeSnow,

We thank you for your time taken to review and share your experience with us.
We are now in process of soft refurbishing all our apartment units and renovating our hotel block.

We appreciate your kind comments and will share it with our respective departments.

Thank you

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#38 of 168 in Melaka
194 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#103 of 168 in Melaka
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#24 of 168 in Melaka
493 reviews
0.9 mi away
Emperor Hotel Malacca
Emperor Hotel Malacca
#108 of 168 in Melaka
101 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £30 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing