We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #118 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience!”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My family and I visited Melaka during the recent holiday and I would said we have a great holiday and pleasant stay with Mahkota Hotel. We stayed in the 2 bedrooms apartment, and the rooms are clean (well, the room looks old but clean)! They have a good range of facilities for family activities, gym, tennis, table tennis, swimming pool etc, perfect for family outing!
The hotel will be better choice for holiday if the management could upgrade the property!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euclase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear euclase,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel during your stay in Malacca.

We appreciate your time taken to review and value your constructive feedback to us.
We will share your kind comments with the department heads.

We are pleased to learn that our 2 Bedroom Apartment and the Hotel’s facilities met you and your family expectations.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.


Thank you



Warm Regards,


The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    122
    172
    121
    141
See reviews for
335
61
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selangor
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We had 3 days 2 nights here. Staff was nice. Breakfast was just acceptable. Rooms clean... unfortunately, it was a cockroach running through my leg which scary me for that moment. The bath tub had some crack line, W.C. flushing was a bit difficult (and I had do some repair on it... so gets better), broken glass mirror.
Funny is, why install the electronic cooker but not allow to cook? Also a note paste on the main door " do not lock the door when going out"... I guess there are very confidence on their security or hope us not to lock the door nod, so that their staff can do in to clean????
All poor was shallow.. children friendly hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ngcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear ngcy,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel to stay.

We are pleased to learn that the service provided by our staff and the overall atmosphere of our guest room met your expectations. However, we are concern to learn that you have encountered the unexpected during your recent stay with us. We are now addressing the matter to the respective department heads to investigate and rectify it immediately.

Operating as city-style resort in the historical heritage Melaka, our guests comfort, safety and security is one of our many priorities we always prioritized. Pertaining to your concern: 'Cooking Stove' in apartment - only long term guest (i.e. guest who stays on monthly basis) are allowed to utilize the cooking stove; 'Do not press the button when leaving the apartment' note at the back of the main door - all of our door locks are configured in such a way that it will automatically lock once closed.

Once again, we value your time taken to review and appreciate your kind comments and feedback to us.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selangor
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Hotel is rather old but i would say that standard apartment room is cosy, great swimming
pool.with slides for kids, good breakfast, ample car parks with security personnel roaming around and best of all it is just across the road from major shopping malls and eateries!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekeviny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear KevinY78,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel to stay.

We are pleased to learn that the apartment room, facilities, atmosphere and food at Mahkota Hotel Melaka were suitable for you and your kids' needs.

Once again, we appreciate your time taken to review and value your constructive feedback to us.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Nice view of the ocean! Good location within walking distance to jonker street walk. Service is great. Not a new hotel but wonderful place to stay. Room is comfortable, clean and well maintained, important for a great stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean View rooms for a great view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariogunter888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear mariogunter888,


Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel to stay.

We are pleased to learn that the room, facilities and atmosphere at Mahkota Hotel Melaka met you and your family expectations.

Once again, we appreciate your time taken to review and value your constructive feedback to us.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Best Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We checked in on 30/8/11 and stayed one night (2R standard apartment). Location is superb as it 's within walking distance of 15 min to the major attractions i.e. malls, Jonker Walk, Stadhuys, Musuems, boat/cruise and etc. Overall the stay is "marginally acceptable" for the value of RM 403.70 with 4 complimentary breakfast for adults.

On the negative, the room isn't clean and most of facilities are torn down with inadequate maintenance. When we made internal call to service room/operator, it took than 20 sec for the phone to be answered. The water in swimming pool looked brownish(on 31/8/11 @9:45am at the second pool). As a result we adjourned to the main pool which was cleaner at the side of the main hotel lobby. Hope the situation will improve during I next trip to this hotel. Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear HTChew,


Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka as your preferred hotel to stay.

We appreciate your time taken to review and value your constructive feedback to us. It will provide us with the opportunity to improve our standard of service to our future guests.

We are addressing your feedback with the respective department heads to rectify the issues with immediate effects.

Pertaining to you feedback on the swimming pool, the water quality in the Dolphin Swimming Pool doesn't look good due to problem with the filtration which we are repairing now.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We booked last minute for Saturday and Sunday night and as a lot of places were booked I decided to wing it and stay at Mahkota hotel. The 2 bedroom apartment we were given was stuffy, small, and depressing to be in. The beds were small, the sofa was so old you could not sit comfortably and as many people comment, the tolet water is yellow/brown. I am not sure how it can ben called an apartment when there was no kitchen utensils/plates etc and a sign saying " do not cook anything" above the 2 hot plates? The staff seemed nice and my little girl enjoyed a swim in the pool but we decided to make the most of our get away and check in else where on the Sunday night. Mahkota markets itself as a 4 star hotel. It is certainly not 4 star. My advise, look for other options.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeGirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear CoffeeGirl11,


We thank you for taking your time to review and share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We, however, regret to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.

Pertaining to the yellowish water, we are continuously monitoring it and are replacing some of the pipes. Apart from our routine maintenance exercise, we will be undertaking a soft refurbishment soon.

As to your feedback pertaining to the Hotel's practice of not allowing guests to cook in the apartments, only long term guests (i.e. guest staying on monthly basis) are allowed to use the electronic stove.

Nonetheless, we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

When we arrived our driver was not allowed to stop at the front to offload our luggage, we had to park and then carry our luggage inside. There was no bellboy to help us carry our luggage from foyer to room but a worker did begrudgingly drive us to our block where we were unceremoniously dumped at the foot of the stairs and our block pointed out to us. The hallways are filthy and the rooms need better maintenance. Our safe didn't work and when the maintenance workers came up he told me he didn't fix safes. The manager didn't know what was wrong with it either. The pool area looks really lovely in photos but on closer inspection you'll notice ít needed some cleaning. Breakfast was average. There wasn't much choice and the hot foods weren't actually hot. When we checked out we asked the hotel to order us a taxi. The bellboy watched us load the van with our luggage and then came down and told us that it wasn't the taxi that he ordered so we had to offload everything. Waited more than 10 minutes and then he told us the taxi wasn't coming anymore so we loaded everything up again. The previous year we stayed at the Holiday Inn accross the road and my gosh how I wished we stayed there again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maksha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Dear Maksha,

We thank you for taking your time to review and share your feedback after your recent stay with us.

We, however, disappointed to learn that you didn't enjoy your stay, and we have address your feedback with the respective department heads.

Your valuable feedback will certainly help us to improvise our service standard for guests in the future.

Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#32 of 166 in Melaka
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 166 in Melaka
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
0.4 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#27 of 166 in Melaka
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Property: Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing