We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“below than average rooms although value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #123 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Despite going to Melaka for many times already, it was our first time staying at Mahkota because it was the best rate among the other similar hotels. Moreover, it was near the shopping malls, namely Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan. The hotel is also near Jonker Street (within 15 mins walk) and the tourist attractions (within 10 mins walk).

Although situated in a very good location, guests of Mahkota Hotel have to cross a rather dangerous road (it was towards the highway) where traffic can be very heavy at times. There was no proper traffic light for pedestrians and we had to quickly cross the road when the traffic light was red. Just imagine three people sharing one umbrella on a rainy night (and a heavy one at that! parts of the improper crossing was flooded) with heavy traffic and no proper crossing. We literally feared for our lives while crossing! Maybe the hotel should consider proposing something to the government to build a bridge..or at least a proper crossing.

Moving on the the hotel itself.

The five of us stayed in a 2-bedroom standard apartment with an extra bed. Before even entering the room, we were like 'hmmm it's not an electronic card key system to the room'. but it's okay, we dismissed it as there were two locks, so it gave us a little more assurance. into the apartment we went, there was a kitchenette, a living room, a balcony, two bathrooms and of course, two bedrooms.

we didnt request for an extra bed when we booked the rooms, only when we arrived. so we waited for the extra bed for about 10 mins (which is totally fine). when it finally came, the staff helped us to shift the master bed (double bed) to the side to accommodate the extra bed. to our horror, it was so dirty under the bed (there was even an empty wet tissue dettol packet)! i believe that the staff was surprised too, but he took some of the bigger (dirt), like that empty dettol packet and threw it away. afterwhich, he simply pushed the extra bed which fits just nicely in the master bedroom.

the bathroom needs upgrading. toilet bowl water was yellowish, which i thought that the flush wasnt working properly, which resulted in not able to flush the pee down. we had to hold down the flush button long enough so that the pee (?) water wasnt as yellow. the showerhead needs to be changed too, as the nozzle wasnt working properly, and the water comes out in weird directions.

bathroom amenities should be improved considering that this is a 4-star hotel. with just one small bottle of shower gel and body soap each in the master bedroom, how is that to accommodate to four/five people?

overall, the apartment is relatively clean (thankfully no bugs) and i must say that the beds are really comfy! my brother couldnt wake up and had to be dragged out of bed :)

ahh, not forgetting the breakfast. the spread was relatively wide (i think?) but i only concentrated on the western food and cereal (which was good enough for me).

as for whether i'll come back again? until the hotel has been upgraded, i think ill probably have to source for another hotel in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voxypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Dear Voxypop,


We thank you for your time taken to share your experience with us.

We appreciate your constructive feedback and will share it with all of our department heads.

As regards to the pedestrian crossing to the nearby shopping malls, the local authority has agreed to construct a zebra crossing at the traffic light of ‘Persimpangan Mahkota’, and we are still waiting for it to be completed.

Occasionally we do face some yellowish water due to the apartment unit not used regularly. However, after running the tap water for few minutes, it will return to normal. In the meanwhile, we are still monitoring the situation and at times, we do repair the pipes.

We are also in the process of refurbishing all our apartment units; that covers the bathroom accessories, electronic door locks, furniture, curtains and etc.

With regards to the other comments, we will revert with the respective department heads to rectify it immediately.

Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Once again, we thank you and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

we went with a short decision to stay in Malacca on the school holiday. Luckily this hotel was not full yet (why? I don't know). With a total people of 14 to be filled in the 3 rooms given. But its okay because the kitchen cannot be used at that time, the television was very old and not really clear picture, and so many things.
Anyway, its a great location for family since it is located at the heart of Malacca, you can go to Dataran, Mahkota Parade Shopping Mall, and so many things.
But it has no nice view at all, only cars and motorcycles on the road till 4 am..

Room Tip: choose the seaview with additional price. Even the room is small, but the view quite refreshing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank salman f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Salman F,


We appreciate your time taken to review and share your experience with us.

We value your constructive feedback and will forward your comments to the respective department heads to look into it.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we will do our best to address them and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future again.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This is an old hotel with renovation urgently needed. The bathroom are very old and the shower is slow. The TV is still the 14inch CRT type without any good programmes. The aircon makes very loud noice when it is on. Parking was OK except that it was too few carpark near the lobby area and too many carpark near our apartment. The breakfast was OK but the variety was the same every day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HoWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom of Mahkota Hotel Melaka at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear HoWK,


We appreciate your time taken to review and share your experience with us.

We have forwarded some of your comments to the respective departments to look into some of the areas for further improvement to better serve our guests in future.

The Hotel will undertake a soft refurbishment soon, targeting to complete by earlier 2012.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we will do our best to address them and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future again.



Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We booked 3 rooms at Mahkota, as each couple had a room. Terrible Experience. We checked in and the reception gave us the key at wing 5, to our horror, the previous guest had not checked out. The room was messy, towels all over and luckily to save embarressment, the guest was not around. Thank God. My next friend checked in, toilet bowl was spoilt !!!!! next thing, and one important tip for whoever wants to stay here although it is not recommended. DO NOT LOCK THE DOOK FROM INSIDE, IT IS AUTOLOCK ONCE YOU CLOSE THE DOOR else, it will jam up your door. This happened to us, and waited 20mins for the technician to come and repair. just all bad encounters at this hotel. 2 out of 3 rooms had problems in there. And yes, old toilets with slow shower heads.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kenny_Zhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Kenny Zhong,


We appreciate your time taken to review and share your experience.

Regarding our auto lock on the doors, we have placed stickers/notes – ‘Do Not Press the button when leaving the apartment”, at the back of all the main doors. Presently, our door locks are configured in such a way that it will automatically lock once closed. Such practice is to ensure of our guests’ comfort and safety. Furthermore, the Hotel will soon undertake a soft refurbishment, and will be replacing the lock.

Nonetheless, we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in the Mahkota during our trip in Malaysia at the end of July for two nights. The location of the hotel is quite good, as you're right opposite a big and very modern shopping mall (they've got great ice cream there, by the way), and the historical town center is only a walk of around 10-15 minutes away.

The Mahkota itself is quite huge and seems to date from the 1970s, without being refurbished in the meantime. We stayed in a double room on the second floor which was quite spacious (in other hotels you would probably call it a suite) and clean, with a functioning air condition. The interior is rather dated, though, and everything starting from the doors to the couch and tiles seems to have been there for a few decades. The bed was comfortable, and it was quiet (in particular as the aircon is in the main room) so that we slept quite well. The bathroom was disappointing however, really old with a yellowed shower curtain (ugh), and a toilet and sink that have seen better days in their at least 30 years of existence. We've seen much better in Malaysia elsewhere, and that bathroom was nowhere near a 4-star hotel (it would be bad even for a youth hostel in Europe).

We only had breakfast there and ate elsewhere otherwise; the breakfast was ok by Malaysian standards, not too much choice and the juices tasted very artificial. The service from the staff was good, but even minor complexities are beyond their English skills so that communication is a bit difficult at times.

On a sidenote (even though I didn't mind that at all) 95% of the guests were Chinese, which alludes to an agreement with quite a few Chinese travel agencies.

In summary, although we didn't mind for our two nights stay, I believe that there are better hotels at similar prices in Melakka. If the hotel were to be renovated, with better interior decoration and modern bathrooms, it could indeed have the potential for a nice 4 star location. As it is, it is quite far from these standards.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpina_B3_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Alpina B3 Lux,


We thank you for taking your time to share your experience, review us and we appreciate your feedbacks.

We will be undertaking a soft refurbishment soon and will be replacing all our bathroom accessories. However, we are concerned to learn of the not indicative of our mutual standards. Pertaining to your comments on the bathroom and the service staff, we will forward your feedbacks to the respective departments to look into it.

Nonetheless, we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

The unit that I stayed has poor bathroom facilities. I stayed in another unit, think it was 2 years ago and also with poor bathroom facilities. Think the bathroom of this hotel has not been upgraded since my last visit. The water from the shower is so slow and the water from the bath tub flow out so slowly and is so disgusting as the soap is all over your leg. Though we were given a car park pass but there is no security check when we go in and out from the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCAM_Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear AlvinWanMalaysia,


Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

We will forward your feedback on the bathroom and car park matters to the respective departments to rectify such matter soonest possible. For your information, the Hotel will undertake a soft refurbishment soon, and will be replacing all the bathroom accessories.

Nonetheless, we apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay and we hope you will allow us to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Had a wide variety of Malaysian food. The food are quite nice and I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treasonry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2011

Dear treasonry,


We thank you for your time taken to review us.

We value your kind comments on our food and will share it with our department heads.

We hope we will have the chance to serve you again in the future.


Warm Regards,

The Management of Mahkota Hotel Melaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#38 of 169 in Melaka
196 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#103 of 169 in Melaka
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#49 of 169 in Melaka
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#61 of 169 in Melaka
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £34 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing