We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old rooms, poor facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #124 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights and we booked a 2-bedder apartment. Got a fantastic deal for only 100 SGD per night (4 pax total).

When we walked into the unit, we were utterly disappointed as the real condition of the room is very different from the hotel website pictures. The TV is super tiny and old .. I think I last saw those type of TVs back in the early 1990s. My wife sat on the dining chair and she got bitten by some bugs (hidden inside the chair cushion). We turned on the water tap and utter shocked to see that the water is YELLOW! Trick is to let the tap run for couple of minutes before a "more-decent" water runs through... but whatever it is, please boil the water before consumption unless you intend to stay in the room for the rest of your trip nursing a bad tummy.

Please be aware that no cooking is allowed for short-term stays (i.e. stove is not allowed for use, you can only use the electric kettle).

The bed mattress is rock-hard; I think the mattress in my army-bunk felt more comfortable than those in Mahkota. The bed linens are rough; I reckon its rougher than my skin.

Overall, if you dont mind the above and have perhaps found a superb online hotel deal, you can consider staying in Mahkota. If not, I reckon there are better choices in Melaka.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardChen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Room type was wrong in the first place, i booked for a 2 room apartment suite with 1 double bed and 2 single bedded room but the management claimed they only have 2 single bedded room.
Room was warm when we entered it took 30 minutes too cool down the room temperature.
Lift was slow.
The poor maintenance and poor cleanliness of the room leave a bad impression to us. Water hose was broken, tiles were dirty. water were yellowish or dirty. carpet with stain chio and broken wardrobe. The guest amenities was good but with the poor maintenance of the room it reduce the satisfaction to stay with the hotel.
Called operator for assistant, instead of assist the guest to direct the call but they told as the number to dial. have to rent or borrow the wine glass personally from the lounge. The pool was dirty patrons to the pool were not in proper attire and was very crowded.
The good point is the hotel was located at the major attraction.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkny_y2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Must wear swimming suit. No t-shirt and legging. Water dirty in bathrooms. Sliding door can open. Dangerous for kids. Not suitable for muslim and family with child. Staff and guard unfriendly and long face.

Room Tip: rooms corner more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nonialim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Hugh, nice and superb Hotel. Very comfortable for family. The stay was good but the bedsheet was torn.
Spacious room and helpful staff. Big pool. It will be good if there is free WI-FI.
Location is very convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Pleasant stay with walking distance to tourist attraction and shopping mall.
Staffs are friendly and helpful.
My favorite complimentary breakfast is Nasi Lemak with sambal chilli.
Hotel stay will be perfect with a WIFI connection.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beditoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Staffs are kind and helpful, hotel cleanliness is kept. Requested for 2 single-bed rooms but was given a complimentary suite so we can all stay together. Walking distance(about 15 to 20mins) to tourist attractions like Jonker Street, Pink City and Dataran Pahlawan shopping mall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serenelizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Brownish water coming out of the pipes, beds very small. Something stinking really bad in the breakfast area. Worst thing; the filter grids around the pool are so rotten through that my 5 year old son fell through one into a half meter deep hole banging his head on the concrete. I count myself lucky nothing worse happened. When I went to reception to vent my anger they just stared at me with a vacant look as if they did not care one way or another. And they probably don't. Let alone that they secured the place so other guests would not fall into the Dave hole. This place should be used as target practice by the army. I travel a lot and have stayed at many sub standard places, but this joint beats them all.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Fritzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
0.1 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#66 of 168 in Melaka
195 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#97 of 168 in Melaka
145 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#46 of 168 in Melaka
198 reviews
1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Melaka
Bayview Hotel Melaka
#37 of 168 in Melaka
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £34 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing