We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, however cheap for group stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is pretty run down, rooms not well maintained, but the apartment concept is perfect for those with 3 to 4 ppl. Breakfast is decent, not great. Great location though, but it's view of the river it's spoilt by reclamation works

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Navin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

255 - 261 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

A very good hotel in its hey day but time has got away. The hotel needs a serious upgrade if it wishes to regain its status as a comfortable hotel. The hotel room was dirty and basic at best. The only plus is the hotel location being easy walking distance to the tourist sites, the shopping malls and entertainment. Breakfast was good with western and Asian selections.

Room Tip: Ask for a unobstructed sea view room. the view is panoramic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tiger_from_Sale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I have been to this hotel a couple of times n I should say its really a family oriented place to bring your family, lots of activities for kids like mini golf area, cycling, kids play room & table tenni. Rooms are old but spacious and prices are also reasonable, not quite accessible to shopping centre if you want to walk there as got a big road to cross, high tea does not have alot of variety

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank DanDanDan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We went there on Sunday, a day before Hari Raya. we so surprise highway no traffic jam, arrive in 2hours. There are no long queue in the check in counter, we stayed in 2 rooms apartment. The location of the hotel very good. Around 5 mins walk Mahkota Parade, 10 mins to Dataran Pahlawan Megamall, 20mins to Jonker Street.

There are 2 outdoor swimming pools with Jacuzzi, Outdoor Children Playground. We enjoy played Table Tennis & Mini Golf.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Bathroom had stagnant water. Toilet took a long time to re-flush. Air -cond not cool enough.Breakfast had very few choices of food and not very tasty. Most importantly bathroom was horrible.Wished I booked somewhere else.

Room Tip: Poor maintenance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basilpaschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Thank goodness that we picked this service apartment for our stay during the long weekend as Monday and Tuesday were public holidays. Being a long weekend, there were traffic jams around Malacca town and from the service apartment we were able to walk across the road to the historical sites of Malacca and two shopping centres (Mahkota and Pahlawan). The walk is only 15 minutes. I notice that the apartment was recently painted and the furniture as well, but did not hide the old furniture and kitchen cabinet which needs to be replaced. The whole apartment blocks needs to be painted, as it looks rundown externally. Overall the place is clean but nothing to shout about, and I will rate the service apartment, as only 3 stars but for convenient it is 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view for the room and you will have a nice view of Malacca Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank CY_Chung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed in Mahkota Hotel Malacca on 20 Jul 14 for 2 day 1 night stay in a two room apartment. Upon checking out on 21 Jul and on my way out of Malacca town, I realized that my Budda Pendant was being left behind inside the hotel toilet. As I am too tired and also lazy to make a u turn, I decided to just leave it as it is. When I reach Singapore, I decided to drop a mail to Mahkota Hotel and to my surprise, the hotel got back to me within 1 day and told me that the item is found. Amazing and well done Mahkota Hotel.

Room Tip: A two room apartment is more value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kwx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#35 of 167 in Melaka
191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#97 of 167 in Melaka
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#20 of 167 in Melaka
492 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £27 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing