We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice updated look”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #14 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Though a regular visitor to Melaka, I have not stayed at the Hotel Equatorial for a few years mainly because the last time I stayed (in 2007 or 08), the rooms were rundown and in dire need for a touch-up. Also, I wanted to try out the other hotels in Melaka. So, I was presently surprised to find the rooms have been renovated recently. It was a nice change from the old Peranakan theme. It seems the bathroom was not included in the renovation but is was clean and functional. The beds were very comfortable and my hubby who normally has problem sleeping in hotels was able to get a good night's sleep. Hope they can maintain the rooms and not let it get too rundown again. Breakfast was good with a spread of local and western dishes. Only problem we had was with the television. The cable channels were so soft, we could hardly hear (and we had the volume set to maximum). The free-to-air channels were loud and clear. So, if you are switching between channels, you have to remember to lower the volume first. We booked 2 rooms and both television sets has the same problem. I am not sure if they do this intentionally so you do not disturb the neighbouring rooms. Service at the hotel is not exceptional, but it is acceptable. Both checking in and out was a breeze.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibraGalSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,073 - 1,079 of 1,641 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

After reading so many good reviews on this hotel, we decided to give it a try for our short family getaway in June. We're glad that indeed it's a good choice and we had a pleasant stay at Hotel Equatorial Melaka. The location is excellent as it's just a minute walk to the mall and 5-10 minutes stroll to most of the places of interest in Melaka. Breakfast selection is excellent as well.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin_nys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed in Hotel Equatorial 3 times in the past 2 years. The last being August 2012. This hotel is usually a safe choice for those who are new to Melaka. It is located next to a shopping mall and there's a total of 3 major shopping centres within walking distance of the hotel. Brands such as NIKE, VINCCI, FOS, PADINI etc... can be found there. There's also a movie theatre next to the hotel if you want to watch a late night movie.
The room is bright, functional, comfortable and adequate in space. Everything is clean and functional. There's a sofa day bed in Premier rooms which is good for those who want to chill in the room. The premier rooms have been renovated last year, so it looks new, bright and clean. Toilets are adequate in size and kept clean. Everything about this hotel is efficent and functional. The staff are competent but not exactly friendly. I was given a deluxe room instead of a premier room on my last stay despite the reservation stated premier. The issue was sorted out quickly with no fuss.
Location wise, jonker street is not within walkable distance. Nearby the hotel, however, there are places for body and foot massage, food places and such. It is a good starting point to explore the area around Hotel Equatorial before moving on to other parts of Melaka. If you do not drive in Melaka, this hotel is very convenient. If you do drive, the traffic around the area might be a little challenging during peak hours. The are sufficient carpark lots (under and above ground) for guests who drive. However, the underground carpark can use with some renovation. There are security guards around in the carpark and it does help a little to ease anxiety of parking there.
Breakfast at the restaurant is really not up to expectations. The local fare for the buffet breakfast fared better than western. Even then, it's not that great. It would be better to sample the breakfast foods around Melaka instead.

Room Tip: Always choose Premier room. Deluxe rooms are smaller, dark and on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoltonBrownCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

I had 3 nights at the Hotel Equartorial. I liked the location, 10 minute walk to the centre of town and near some lovely local resturants. The hotel is lovely, expansive entrance, friendly service and nice rooms.

The highlight for me was the Cooking course. I was very fortunate to be able to do the course and cannot thank management enough for making it available to me at short notice. Make sure you book ahead to ensure you can do the course.

You enter a room with tables set up for the chef and for the student(s). You are given your hat, apron and gloves. You watch and then cook two dishes. These dishes are then preented to you at lunch or dinner along with a number of other dishes. You are given a feast.

The chef and her helpers coudl not be more helpful, as soon as you finish with an ingredient the dish it was in is taken away. You have plenty of opportunity to ask questions.

I also purchased the cookbook (plus a few extra copies for gifts) published by the hotel which includes the dishes I cooked.

This was the highlight of my trip to Melaka.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussieAl_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

a really good location for a really good hotel, but seriously, $25, for internet services in your rooms?? the rival hotel, the renaissance ramada was complimentary internet services in your rooms?? what gives?? anyways, all in all, a very good location in town center, as the shopping areas are around the corner. my room was excellent, no complaints there.

Room Tip: it is a 20 mins walk to jonker's street, well worth the walk as you will pass st.paul hill, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank su s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I have never been to Melaka, I presume this is one of hte common hotels that most Tourist will go/tour agents will recommend. It is near the shopping centres and cost RM15 to take the taxi to the night market.

The hotel room was clean, bathroom was an average size. There was no curtains but just some foldable doors, facing the hotel room was the school.

We are also near the premium outlets. Most shopping centres were within walking distance, the weather in Meleka was hot. This hotel seems to cater alot for church groups when I was there for 5 days, there were at least 3 - 4 church groups.

The staff don't seem to know what shopping areas are available there when carrefour was closed some years back, one of the staff could tell us that it was across the street.

very suitable for family stay shopping, sight seeing and rest & relax and family bonding time.

A good variety of breakfast spread.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcezHotelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay of 2D1N in the World Club Room on Sept 5th. The check in & check out were  hassle- free at the club lounge on the 21st floor. Requested for late checkout till 2 pm and was gladly  granted. Enjoyed the pre- dinner cocktails at the club lounge. Juices, coffee and tea was served with a variety of finger food and pastries. Love the quiet and cozy environment. The hotel room was spacious and bed was super comfy. My toddler had enjoyed herself very much at the outdoor kids pool. The Nonya restaurant on the 3rd floor serves delicious dishes. Always visit this restaurant when I visit Malacca. Enjoyed the large spread for breakfast buffet. :) 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charity2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,443 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,445 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 167 in Melaka
824 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £37 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing