We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice hotel. A very good location. Very good food and nice restaurants. Rooms are very spacious and well decored. The staff is very co operative and morning breakfast is well laid down and elaborate. The business centre is good.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naresh_0857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review.

I am certainly pleased that we have met your expectations. It is certainly gratifying to hear your compliments of our staff and we are proud of having them as part of our team. I have conveyed your compliments to them and they are thrilled to learn that their efforts are appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    853
    272
    76
    43
See reviews for
613
408
66
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
penang
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Easy reservation thru their website, quick check-in and check-out. Complementary use of baby playpen. Helped me to freeze my breat milk in their kitchen freezer. Premier room is newly renovated, cosy and clean. Good location, few steps away from shopping malls. Only downsides are lift are no accessible to the basement car park, and urine stain under the toilet cover in the room.

Room Tip: Premier room are newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellikhoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are pleased that your stay here with your baby has been a memorable one.

I have taken a serious view on all your feedbacks and addressed them with our Executive Housekeeper for immediate corrective actions and improvements.

Once again, my sincere appreciation for taking the time to post your review which certainly is helpful for us to improve further and I look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heaven
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Good location, value for money. I stayed club room, at lounge, I get 2 beer in happy hour.
Room is spacious and clean.
Breakfast is "OK", but here is Malaya, bacon and sousage are made from chicken.
I like real bacon and sausage, after 1 night stay, went back to Singapore.

Room Tip: When you Booking bus ticket, choose the hotel package, you can get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jandara_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

My sincere appreciation for taking the time to post your review and I look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Great hotel on a fantastic location. Excellent service and an extensive breakfast buffet. Very nice swimming pool with friendly crew members. I had an excellent view over Melaka at my room. Only one remark: The airconditioning at the lobby is a bit chilly

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapvdS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that your stay has been an enjoyable one. It is always gratifying to receive compliments and I will surely share these with all my staffs. Your comments in regards to the breakfast spread have also been shared with the Executive Chef.

Rest assured, we will continue to strive to provide the best level of service.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This hotel is located very near to the two shopping mall and walking distance to Jonker street. The room is clean and comfortable. The hotel allow me to have late check out at 2p.m. Enjoy my stay there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaslee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us during your recent stay. Rest assured, every effort will always be made to serve you and all our guests better.

We look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

location - very good! its 30secs away from a mall!!

premise - old but clean! dont believe the negative statements from some other reviewers.

crowd - family hotel.

staff - polite.... friendly.... fast service.... all smile all over!!!

room - good and clean. tidy and good view all around. only the toilet looks dated and can make do with a revamp.

food - we didnt get to eat in the hotel, our room did not come with bfast as well but the Macaroons from the hotel lobby lounge was quite good!

verdict - really, it's good for the money and location is bang on as well.

Room Tip: higher floors have a good view naturally but overall, it's good view all around as it's a ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee_P_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met your expectations. It is certainly gratifying to hear your compliments of our staff and we are proud of having them as part of our team. I have conveyed your compliments to them and they are thrilled to learn that their efforts are appreciated.

We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Just came back from my 2d 1n trip from malacca and book Equatorial premium room. Reason for choosing them is because premium room has a day bed which converted from a balcony and my elder one can sleep there. Location and their safe carpark.

Sad to say that this hotel is loosing its charm. Room is indeed huge and spacious, comfortable bed but the furniture is wearing off. Request for baby cot and they provide me a playpen with mattress with baby pillow and 2 cute bolster. It wasn't comfortable as the centre part of the mattress actually sink down.

I saw strand of hair at the toilet bowl seat and yellow mucky water not flush clean, gross! Bath tub has a tiny dead insect in it and the button of the toilet bowl has algae around it.

I pay $370RM for this room and no breakfast! Too expensive which I felt not worth it. This will be the last time, I still prefer the hotel next to them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank vandylim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and addressed them for immediate corrective actions and improvements. Rest assured, every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Once again, my sincere appreciation for taking the time to post your review which is certainly helpful for us to improve further and I look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing