We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, shame about the view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the view”
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed at the Equatorial in adjoining rooms, one for our three kids and one for us. The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a rather funky graet windowseat as big as a bed on which we could lounge and gaze over the view. Sadly the view was of a hotel that was either unfinished or had been burned out for isnurance, I guess, which gave our stay more of a Beirut feel than a UNESCO World Heritage City feel. The Equatorial is also in the modern shopping district of Melaka rather than the old cultural heart with the river and Jonkers Street. But it wins on the quality of breakfast and the overall feel of luxury living and a pretty affordable price. The pool is an added bonus, with palm trees and places for the kids to splash - and it is on the other side of the hotel from the beirut-bomb-out, which means the view is OK.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldromantic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    836
    269
    71
    42
See reviews for
596
403
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

This modern, high rise hotel is located right in the centre of Melaka, near most of the historic sites, as well as a couple of shopping malls and the traditional eating district. The hotel itself has several restaurants and an enormous multi pool area (outdoors) on the ?fourth floor. My room, on the 13th floor had a balcony, and a wonderful view across the city and the Straits of Malacca. A couple of minor concerns: (1) The room needed upgrading - as we would say the fabric was a bit worn. There was a note in the room saying that such upgrading was in progress. (2) The phone on the bedside table did not work well - the one in the bathroom was more reliable. (3) The toilet had a VERY slow, low flush function.

Stayed January 2011
Helpful?
Thank TravelNotTourism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2011

The hotel is located near malls and historical places. The best part is that it's only walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aifusatiluj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We stayed in a Premier Room. This room is slighly bigger and thre is a day bed, which is big enough for someone around 1.5m tall to sleep on.
We also needed a baby cot.
I think, that because there were 3 adults and 1 baby, htye gave us a bigger Premier Room. It was at the kink/corner of the building and we noticed that it was slighly larger than tht oether Premier rooms. I guess they gave it to us because we needed space for the baby cot.

When I booked the room, the person on the phone was also nice enough to tell me that the 3rd adult in our group was "small" enough to sleep on the day bed. Her height is slightly shorter than 1.5m. She did have a comfortable night and it was quite nicely done because there were blinds for her to cut out the light from the window and there was also a transluscent curtain so that she could be on her bed and have some "privacy". The width of the day bed was also bigger than a single. I think it was the size of a super single.

The room came with the usual amenities - coffee, tea, sugar (3 types), creamer, electric kettle (very clean), a small fridge, safe, robes, ironing board, iron, bath slippers, toiletries, etc.

We didn't take any meals in the hotel as the room came without that. But there is a huge shopping centre next to it and you can find anything. We however, headed to around Jonker Street area to have Peranakan food. We also did eat at Makko's (not sure of spellng) and they had really yummy crisps, which people were buying by the bagfuls and we didn't leave empty handed after our meal as well.

Our taxi fare cost us MYR$15 to get to a restaurant near Hotel Puri. We took a taxi back from the centre, which cost us MYR10. You definitely can walk, but it was our first day there and we had driven there from Kuala Lumpur and were rather tired, plus we had our 15 month toddler with us.

The pool is nice and big BUT the water is cold. It didn't get any sun when we were there, even though the day was sunny. There are towels there and they have to be returned there as well. You cannot take the towels up to your room.

All in all, the biggest pull factor for us: The Premier Rooms and the location. And they had a carpark.

However, I might stay in a smaller hotel in the centre the next time though. I picked this because it was a last minute thingy and the smaller hotels were all full and also because it had a pool (for my son), but then again, the water was so cold and it was always breezy when we were at the pool, which didn't help.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jade_du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed at this hotel for just one night, decided to check out Malacca before heading to Kuala Lumpur from Singapore. We booked a room with 2 beds. They were comfy and clean. We had a balcony overlooking the shops and restaurants near the hotel. You can also see the Malacca Strait from our room. Bathroom is clean and has the basic toiletries. Breakfast buffet was served at Rest House Cafe. Food was good, lots of variety to choose from. Service was good, staff were friendly. Location is good as well. Hotel is near to 2 malls (Dataran Pahlawan Megamall & Mahkota Parade). It is also near to historical landmarks such as Proclamation of Independence Memorial, A' Famosa, and St. Paul's Church. If you're going to visit Malacca, try staying at this hotel. Good location to everything from food, shopping & sight-seeing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovetoshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Just loved this hotel. Huge room with balcony. Absolutely massive bed. Staff very attentive. Great cafe

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hussh_puppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The Rooms are adequately sized, and although the hotel is getting a bit old (esp in its swimming pool area), the plus point about this hotel is its location,

Convinently located just next to the biggest mall in melaka. It is easy to walk to hte shops and to the other restaurants like Ola Sayang nearby.

Good hotel for a families who need the hotel near to the shopping area.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdUnloaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing