We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stepping back in time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Fitzroy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed over new year. We had booked a Junior suite because i liked the photos on the hotel website. It was a big room with the living room and bathroom on one level and the bedroom and another toilet on the mezzanine. My only disappointment was that whilst there was a window it opened onto a stair well and not to outside.
The room was really lovely with all amenities. The staff were friendly and helpful. There are a couple of computers in the lobby that are free for guests.
It's a fantastic location. Heereen St is really beautiful. Lots of old Chinese shop houses. Also some really good art galleries at one end and some nice cafes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window to outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    578
    188
    41
    17
See reviews for
286
447
80
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and found this a great hotel. It is a historic building in the centre of the old Melaka. The room was nice if a little dark, but good size and clean and comfortable. Nice breakfast in a great open air area inside the hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel also has a great lobby and areas on the groud floor including great old furniture and a small history of Melaka. Overall very good.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trev_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Hotel Puri.
I am not an expert, but the hotel seems to have been carefully restored to maintain its character. The service is attentive and expert without being too formal.
We stayed in the least expensive room, which was more than adequate.
The breakfast is a very good serving both international and local food.
The hotel is close to some of the best sights, especially the oldest temple. It is just a short walk to the historic town centre with the Stadhuis and other Dutch buildings.
The only negative is the lack of a pavement on a narrow, but quite busy road.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Arrived after a long day of travel to have a warm welcome from the front office staff and an escort to a clean and comfortable room with most of the things one would expect in a Hotel of this standard (tripadvisor). Arranged taxis and buses connections for us and very helpful with ideas. Breakfast upmarket to what we are used to and the position of the Hotel in the heart of the old town area makes it an ideal place to stay. Historic old house gives it an edge over other places. Not cheap but we felt we got value for the money we spent

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dasher3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Beautiful hotel. Very reasonable prices.
Porter friendly and very helpful.
Strategic location.
Attractive Breakfast.
Car Parking is available.

Cons: book early because hotels are ofte

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank affarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We recently stayed two nights in this hotel while touring Melacca. It was a good choice - it turned out to be very convenient and a nice refuge.

The hotel is housed in an old refurbished Perankan (Straits Chinese) house right in the historical heart of Melacca. The hotel itself is an interesting piece of architecture with high ceilings, central courtyards and intriguing furniture and pieces of art. There's even a small and worthwhile mini-musuem inside the hotel showing some aspects of Perankan culture.

Because the hotel is right in the heart of the historical centre, you won't need a car to tour the sights. Everything is extremely convenient and within walking distance.

The rooms themselves are small but functional. We stayed in the old part of the house while some other family members stayed in the "new" addition to the building. I recommend you stay in the old section as we did. The rooms are somewhat smaller but much more interesting whereas the the newer rooms, while larger, have a much more sterile dormitory feel to them.

As I said our room was functional but adequate. On entering we noticed a strong medicinal smell to the room, however this was remedied by opening the windows. And we found the bathroom a bit cramped (the showers being right up against the toilet). But other than that we had no complaints.

The staff was extremely helpful and requests were quickly fulfilled.

I highly recommend the buffet breakfasts offered at the hotel. They're excellent and take place in a very pleasant internal courtyard space. The food is excellent, fresh and diverse. It mainly consists of local cuisine. However if you're from Europe/Americas and hankering for something like back home have no fear - you're covered. One morning for instance I had a British-style bread pudding that was really quite good.

Swifts (a native bird) nest in one of the internal courtyards. I'd never seen anything quite like them before and you might find them amusing to watch.

Because the hotel is right in the center of the historical district, you can basically forget about parking. The streets are tight, 1-way and not built for the automobile. In fact, when you step out of the hotel you basically step right into the street (no sidewalks) and when walking you have to mind yourself so you don't get run over - the cars are very close. This is a bit annoying if traffic is heavy but is unavoidable, being a basic fact of the district.

In summary, this is a nice, charming and well-run place, particularly for those who want to dispense with cars and have immediate access to the more interesting parts of Melecca.

Room Tip: Choose the older section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kakapo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year's. Melaka was very crowded with tourists, but was still great. We were in the newer part of the hotel, which was fine. The rooms are pretty small, but tolerable. Breakfast was very slim pickings-- nothing really edible other than fresh fruit. Overall, I think the place is nice but not worth the published rates. BTW, I would strongly suggest you take the Melaka riverwalk out to Kampung Morton to see Villa Sentosa. It is a short walk and lovely. We repeated the entire length of it at night and really enjoyed it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0ugP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#3 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing