We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Rooms are a bit worn but still loverly. Ground level has a lot of interesting peranakan decor and fittings. The location is great however to the mall would be a good 30mins walk. Service is okay. We checked out on a Monday. The hotel was almost empty however they still did not allow us a late check out. No value add there.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Min H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    589
    189
    42
    17
See reviews for
290
453
82
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

1) Few minutes from Jonker St as Hotel is located in next street. Not noisy compared to hotels located right in the Jonker St. 2) 15 minutes walk to Christ Church through Jonker St. 3) Family Room with 1 King Sized & 2 twin beds located on 1st floor, Clean and Spacious with Living area. 4) Breakfast were simple and yet different for 3 mornings. But don't be too late else some food are not replenished. 5) 15mins walk to Baba Museum located along the same street (guided tour RM10 for adult & RM5 for child) from left of hotel entrance 6) Limited private carpark lots within 100m. We did not drive around in Malacca. Most famous places are within walking distances. 7) Good Nonya food (name Kochi Restaurant) located just few units away from the Hotel. Nonya Laksa and Chendol are nice! 8) Swiftlet Bird Nests are found in the hall of the Hotel. Real swiftlets (>10) are there around evening.

Room Tip: Ground floor is preferred for elderly or families with kids as there is no lifts to the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Puri is located in the Melaka historic zone, a couple of minutes walk from Jonkers walk. Easy to find, with a large banner outside ( not shown on any of the promotional material we saw). We had Rm 169, which is a loft suite, rather neat design, very airy. Breakfast included, with a decent split of local and Int'l food. Staff were very helpful, though the front desk crew could try smiling a bit more.
To be recommended.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BJCamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed in a new wing room on the top floor. Reasonable room with great rates and good facilities. Our air-con had a bit of a leak which we discovered the next morning but kept the room within Arctic conditions despite. Reasonable breakfast the next morning in the courtyard. Could have stayed here a few more days to soak up the atmosphere but alas it was a quick whirlwind side-trip from KL. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again given its value and location.

For anyone - looking to head to Malacca - the "Terminal Bas Sepadu" (TBS) in KL is a breeze and has excellent facilities. Take the KTM Kommuter to Bandar Tasik Selatan and the station is connected to the TBS and buy your coach ticket there. On arrival at Malacca Sentral - the bus is RM1.50 each to the Clocktower locate by Jonkers Walk - beware the taxis charge RM20 for the same journey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speedbird0033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Overall - impressed. Superior double room size good - although if you're allocated no. 135 be aware it has an adjoining room therefore just a thin door separates you from your neighbours. The breakfast was wonderful. Free newspaper delivered to room. Good wifi in room. Location - perfect. I was quite surprised to find that the online price I'd paid was substantially higher than that of the hotels published rates. Oh, be careful not to accidentally walk away with a pillow or a TV - there's a price list for each item in your room!

Room Tip: Avoid room no. 135 if you're a couple, it has an adjoining family room. All rooms seem to be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazeejax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The rooms are not small. Nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, air-con. Clean. The breakfast is in a lovely outdoor courtyard. For the price it is a generous buffet. The hotel is around the corner from the busy bars and restaurants of Chinatown. I always worry about hotels in new cities I have not been too. But this place is not the Four Seasons, so if that is what you want don't stay here, it is beautiful peranakan charm. Pieces of furniture and artifacts are around the hotel. There is even a Spa. The staff are so friendly. I would stay here again!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Located near Jongker street Puri Hotel very strategic to reach the other tourist facilities. The hotel quite old and unique with good maintenance and peranakan architecture. The room quite small but have a very comfortable bed. Many access to reach the room with long alley without lift. We found a historical things display all around hotel quite good for taking picture. Looks like we back to a very past time. I love how breakfast is served in small garden with great taste. Can't wait to stay in this hotel again if we visit Melaka

Room Tip: If you bring the car this hotel have a special parking lot not far from hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Besamyono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing