We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historic building”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great historic building”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

The service was great, the staff local and knowledgeable. The historic room was informative and interesting. The room was clean and well presented, the maintenance of the shared spaces, like the lobby and breakfast area, was the icing on the cake for me. A good location with a parking lot down the road.
There is no elevator, since installing one would compromise the historic building. Book with this knowledge and be prepared to hike up your luggage to the 3rd floor if needed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank thenew20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    601
    191
    42
    18
See reviews for
297
461
84
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Junior suite was brilliant. Massage was great. Breakfast was fine and in a gorgeous courtyard. Inner courtyards are delightful. Peaceful, central to town, good service by all staff, bathroom was fab, bed was comfy. Just a delight all round. Avoid downstairs bedrooms on street front though, noisy.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The reception and common areas were super charming. Full of colonial charm and history. However when it came to give us the room, we went to the back and we had a quite worn out building with disappoint room. They should increase the quality. Quite good but stiff service at reception.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trolleypacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampong Chhnang, Cambodia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with excellent service and the loveliest interior courtyard. It is situated in the heart of old Malacca and is within very easy walking distance of many tourist attractions. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby and the Museum and gallery precinct is close by.
The staff are most helpful and will arrange a taxi for you to do local tours or to get back to the KL International Airport.
The breakfast included in our room rate was the best we had anywhere with every taste catered for. There is also a restaurant that serves a good choice of delicious meals.
Our room was clean spacious and comfortable and the bathroom had a great hot water system.
We enjoyed our stay here and would visit again.

Room Tip: It was very pleasant having a room overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Hotel was very conveniently situated in the middle of the ld town, (which is where you want to be)
close to all atractions, museums etc. Rooms were spacious and very functional. Clean sheets and towels daily with complimentary bottled water and tea and coffee making facilites. Breakfast had a good menu choice and was located in a very nice planted courtyard. A hotel with plenty of history which also has a small museum. The staff were very helpful and welcoming, would dfinately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berni109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a lovely building with lots of attractive features, including a room giving some local history. The bedrooms are decorated In a sympathetic way. We were surprised to find swiftlets nesting in part of the hotel (the birds' nest soup variety) which gave some extra local colour. the central location means it is extremely easy to find places to eat. Breakfast had a wide variety to choose from.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AnneB416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a six week holiday around South East Asia finishing in Melaka. This was one of the best hotels that we stayed in. Very clean, very friendly staff who were only to pleased to help. An interesting old building that has been tastefully renovated. Restful courtyard with water features and plenty of foliage. Had a wonderful massage in their spa.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spanishgryphons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,355 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing