We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem of a treasure - I am @ home here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A gem of a treasure - I am @ home here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2010

If you wish to enjoy the art of living in the east, with Malayan/old Malacca charm this is the place. It is simple yet oozing with characters. In the Peranakan/straits Chinese culture, you see the blend of the Malay and the Chinese way of living in the tropics.

The place has been immaculately preserved and enhanced. We stayed in the junior suite which I must say difficult for me to leave.

For breakfast it besides the normal fares it was pleasant surprise to see Adam laksa and fried banana fritters being served. Very Malaysian.

I spent time just immersed in the ambience. Forget about the tourist attractions.

The spa is another treasure. Although the massage was average by my standard(which is very high) the setting and ambience make you want to make it a home.

I will come back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    577
    186
    40
    17
See reviews for
285
443
80
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2010

We choose this hotel for our pre wedding photos and it is a beautiful heritage hotel with peranakan mansion interior that really make a perfect place for photos at Melaka.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joeycw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We stayed for a couple of days at Hotel Puri in November 2010 - it's location is very convenient, the street is beautiful.

The common areas of the hotel are simply WONDERFUL - there is plenty of greenery, a small museum, great terrace cafes. You feel like outside a city.

Rooms are very basic but fine. If you are not going to stay indoor the whole day - it won't be a problem for you... Reception guys are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisDuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

I love the hotel. The price is very comfortable for two college students. I love the Peranakan exterior and interior. The hotel service is impeccable too.

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location is central to all the important sights in Malacca.

One thing I didn't like was that the wireless was down and wasn't fixed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine Kit Y... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney,australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

You are wonderfully immersed in Peranakan, Straits Chinese history here. But there is not a whiff of stuffiness. Built in 1822, this place in the heart of Malacca's town, has been sensitively restored and modernised to become a treasured haven of peace and tranquillity in the midst of a busy quarter. Lush, tropical gardens breathe nature into the 100 metre long property. Very reasonably priced (buffet breakfast included), rooms are clean, roomy and have bathrooms with good showers, tv that works and there's an internet room with modest charge. It is surrounded by lots of shops and eateries. You cannot do better. My family has stayed in several other hotels in Malacca and keep returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunbeam01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2010

Unfortunately for me, my friends and I only went to Hotel Puri to look around and had already booked elsewhere. We wish we had stayed here. This Hotel had to be seen to be believed. The quaintness of the place, the staff and the beauty of this Hotel was truly memorable. The position of the hotel is in the thick of the main hub and walking distance to everything. We enquired re the price etc and we thought it was a bargain as to what was on offer elsewhere. Next time I head to K.L I will be making the trip back to Melaka to visit this Hotel especially. So I can only recommend what I saw on the little time spent inside the hotel, even if we never had the opportunity to stay here!! It looks like a 5 star property and I'm sure the staff make sure every guest is looked after in 5 star style!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

Puri Hotel is set in one of the finest buildings in Melaka, opening onto a gorgeous courtyard garden. My boyfriend and I stayed there over a year ago; as budget travellers, Puri Hotel is not the one we'd normally include in our budget accomodation list but for one night (that's what you need to spend in Melaka), we decided to give it a go and enjoyed its charmful and romantic settings. If you have a bit of extra money go there. Rooms are big and elegant, common areas and the garden will leave you speechless. Staff is so-so, professional but unfortunately not really smiling. However, this does not effected our perfect stay. Included breakfast was really filling and delicious. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing