We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

The majestic is situated pretty much on the river. There is a board walk across the road that you can follow through the mangroves, and after about 20 minutes come out very close to jonker st and dutch (red) square.

The hotel was very clean and the staff spoke english the best out of all the hotels we stayed at in KL. (Bayview, Impiana and Traders)

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone going to Malacca. The only slight downside is the construction of a big international hotel going on across the road at the moment. The noise from the site would start up after breakfast and was over well before night fall though.

A handy tip is to do the evening complimentary guided walk (about 2 hours) and then when you get back to the hotel you get half price drinks for the evening. Sipping on a half price scotch while sitting in a large cane colonial chair on the verandah into the evening is a great feeling.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryH30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

I chose this hotel based on great comments in Tripsadvisor and strong recommendation from my friend. Overall hotel is good, with key strengths including great service of the staff, gorgeous lobby inside the old mansion, and a good mix of modern amenities with old history. However being a traveler seeking a good touch of history to stay, I feel that this hoetl still has weakness that I believe may outweigh its strengths. First the location is a bit off the busy Jonker street and oldd China town, located in the area where Indian people live about 15 -20min walking from China town. This, in my view, is a great weakness and slightly inconvenience for walking. Second the hotel blend of old and new seem a bit wierd for me, given its old lobby connecting with all guest rooms in the high rise building on the back. Its small pool also is at this connecting area, where I find is not a good charming place at all. Breakfast here I find not really interesting and going outside to have food in China town area should be a better idea.

Room Tip: Staying in old China town area should be better idea as walking in the old town is the highlight of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suwatss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed one night at Majestic Melaka Hôtel. Our Deluxe room was upgrated to à Very Nice and large suite. Service was Very good, staff available and cute. Room and bathroom were very clean. We did not really like Malaka but the hôtel helped us forget it.
Nathalie barbier, France. December 2011.

Room Tip: Do not hesitate to book a suite, it's worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The Good: The colonial decor was fantastic! Free biscuits and sweets were scattered in lobby area for guests to help themselves to. Loved the bathroom. Bath salts were provided for luxurious bath in the unique bathtub. There was also a rain shower. Nice view of Kampong Morten. Good and prompt service with smiles. Were served 7 complimentary glasses of egg nog when talking to a few relatives who came to visit and talk to us in the hotel lobby, without us asking.

The Bad: There was no turn down service for our first night, but were given a small Christmas stocking filled with a candy cane and a non-crispy gingerbread man. Was taking a nap in the evening on the second day when the housekeeper came into our room with his card to turn down our beds for us. We were still lying in our beds! He thought we were not in the room as the master switch was switched off. But we had to switch it off as we wanted to sleep without any lights on. Couldn't sleep after being awakened.... As for the breakfast, do not book "Room with Breakfast". For RM$70++ per person, you could have more delicious food outside the hotel for breakfast! It's semi-buffet style. The three of us ordered a main course of American-styled Breakfast, French Toast, and Omelette each but they were just run-of-the-mill stuff, pretty average. The french toast was miserable - 3 slices of baguette with some sauce on it. No bananas were in sight at all even though the dish was fantastically named, "French Toast with Banana Butterscotch Sauce). The hash browns were soaked heavily in oil. We were expecting a sumptious spread of food for that price, but how wrong we were! For the buffet, there was just some bread, yogurt, fruit, cereals, plain porridge, fried noodles and nasi lemak (Coconut-flavoured Rice). No ham, no cheese, etc. There was no toaster for the bread too. Had to eat bread that was not warm at all. We also thought the hotel would change some of the buffet items for the following day, but this was not the case. We still had roughly the same old spread of bread, noodles, porridge and nasi lemak for breakfast on our second morning there! The only thing they changed was from 'Sambal Egg' to Sambal Chicken' as part of the sides for Nasi Lemak. Frankly, do not waste your money on breakfast here. It's not worth it. At all!

General comments: Hotel is good if you do not wish to venture out and just want to have a quiet retreat in the room during your stay in Malacca, and also if you have no expectations on hotel food. Will take 25 minutes to walk from Jonker Street to hotel. Really regret our walk to Jonker Street under the hot afternoon sun. Jonker Street is super crowded. Do not go there during public holidays and weekends.

Other than the service and decor, everything is overpriced in this hotel. If you have lots of money to spend, then it's all right to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravellerSG7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Because of the summer holidays, I was only able to stay here for one night. As everyone says, it's a beautiful property, maintained to the highest standard with white glove service. The room I was shown was jaw-dropping: carefully decorated, immaculately clean, and inviting. I could've spent hours in the giant soaking tub in the bathroom.

From doormen to front desk to manager, everyone remembers and addresses you by name. I have no idea how they accomplish that at a time when the hotel was booked solid, but it was impressive and added to the feel of luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AppleBiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The public rooms of the hotel use the old building, while the bedrooms are contained in a new tower block just behind. Its a little outside the main downtown but not too far to walk. Its also about 10 - 15 mins walk to the top end of the river boat cruise so you can board there and avoid the (sometimes) horrible queues at the downtown end. Staff try very hard to be helpful and did a great job finding us a room when we checked in too early, but I'd say they were enthusiastic rather than slick. Nice big rooms with well equipped bathrooms including an incredible "deluge" shower. But the problem is that the bathroom is only separated from the bedroom by sliding louvred shutters. Which means you can have a bath with them open looking out of the bedroom window (depending on your relationship with your room-mate) but even when closed there is no physical division between bedroom and bathroom and so no sound-proofing.
Pool is small; and tucked into a corner between old and new blocks so is not particularly appealing; but this is a city hotel after all.
Overall a pretty good hotel but be aware of the bathroom issue if thats going to bother you.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonno_the_Yachtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The room was cosy, inviting and comfortable.. The furnishings and decor were authentic and reminiscent of true Peranakkan embellishments.
The bathroom takes your breadth away. The only comment from my wife was the bathroom could not be locked and we did have to worry that our grandchildren in the adjoining room would come barging in to the bathroom. But they behaved.
The service extended to us by staff from the start till we left was excellent. They really love their job.
We didn't eat at the hotel because we were spoilt for choice of eateries around the area. That's another thing. The hotel is located within walking distance of all the attractions and eateries.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to gave good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalterSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,527 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 169 in Melaka
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
#1 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £99 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing