We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for few days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We visited Melaka for just two nights, and were impressed by this hotel. Service is very personal, rooms look great; the entire hotel experience is just fantastic.
Two nights in Melaka was enough for us, but for as far as the hotel we wished we would have stayed longer

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MAO1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to have you stayed with us in The Majestic Malacca.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm Regards,
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,048 - 1,054 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and I booked our accommodation at the Majestic, albeit only for two nights, because it scored so highly in tripadvisor reviews and we weren't disappointed at all. I don't think we've ever met such friendly and accommodating staff. We particularly noticed the 'little things' - for example, we arrived a little late for lunch in the restaurant, but no bother, it was served to us in the library instead. We staggered in exhausted after a morning's walk in 32 degree heat and were greeted at the door with cold towels and iced water. Boy, were they appreciated! Our room was excellent with just about every comfort you could wish for - including a bed so wide you needed to take a cut lunch to get from one side to the other. Meals were top class, lots of choice and superbly cooked, wine wasn't cheap but it generally isn't throughout Asia. To cap things off for us, evening meals were accompanied by gorgeous, easy listening background music played by a very talented young Chinese pianist by the name of Summer.
And for a 5 star hotel (I think I'm right in saying that?) room charges were very reasonable indeed. Many thanks to the staff of the Majestic for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samco42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Majestic Malacca. I am pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Due to the good experience the first time around in 2010, we decided to come back a second time in April 2012 for 2 nights. The moment we stepped through the door, we felt welcomed. Throughout our stay, the staff remembered our names. The room was great and we really enjoyed the turn-down service and looked forward to the kuehs left in our room each evening. Although we initially booked a spa package - suam suam panas , later in the evening, we noticed that there was an ongoing for ala carte items and a free hair spa for the good friday weekend. Our request to opt for something else was quickly met although we were not sure why we were not recommended the cheaper option. Nonetheless, the spa was heavenly! The hair spa was very relaxing, and the gula melaka scrub was an interesting though sticky experience.

Room Tip: Pick a higher floor for a view overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toffeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Majestic Malacca. I am pleased that you have a wonderful stay and look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards
Ben Quah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This weekend gone, I stayed at the beautiful Majestic at the request of my friend who had raved about it and I have to say that I was totally charmed by the sheer attention to details in all aspects of modern hospitality! I could find no fault and I must add that there in-house historian (Peck Choo) is joy! Her guided walked wowed us and she went the extra mile to give us all the local insights. We tried the special Nonya dishes on the hotel menu and they were delicious! I would visit again and stay at the Majestic.

Room Tip: The bathroom is not so private... its a shuttered sliding door cut into the corner of the room so ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyJ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Was here for a weekend getaway to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Missed the turning to the parking area because we set gps to hotel instead of hotel carpark.
The hotel reception on arrival was warm and friendly. Hotel lobby was charming.
Rooms were a very nicely decorated and felt clean. Good comfortable beds. Welcome tea and kuih (cakes) were delicious.
Breakfast was not too impressive. Could probably have gotten something a lot better (and cheaper) outside the hotel.
Opted to walk to Jonker st from the hotel. Was a good 20 min walk. But there are nice quaint shops along the way to keep it interesting. Look out for traffic and holes along pavement.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RL_YL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My second stay in this hotel. The prupose of both trips has been business.
Classic entrance, welcoming staff and spacious, very comfortable rooms. Add to that the great friendly attitude by everyone in the staff and what you get is a very positive experience. Will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJC0598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed in the Majestic for the Easter long weekend with our baby daughter and it was a great experience. As soon as we arrived, our bags were whisked away and they even valet parked our car in the next door secure car park. At Check-in we were met with cool drinks and a warm welcome and we were promptly taken to a large room with a King Bed, River View and a claw-footed Victorian bath which our baby daughter loved. The reception and hotel restaurant are in an old mansion and it has been renovated with great taste and style. The Library was a cool and quite escape, and the great Peranakan food in the restaurant was complimented by the attentive staff and the pianist at a grand piano. Play it again Sam! We both used the day spa for treatments and the facilities and massage were one of the very best we have had, don't leave this hotel without a visit. The pool area whilst small, was well kept and a much appreciated relief after a hot day of walking the town. On top of all of this the greatest thing about the Majestic was the staff, who were genuinely warm, welcoming and attentive to both ourselves and particularly to our baby daughter (whom I am sure felt like a rock star because of all of the attention she received). When we asked for a baby sitter one evening, one of the reception girls volunteered immediately and did a terrific job, as did the whole hotel during our stay. Having worked in the hotel industry in the past, I know how hard it is to build a great service team, congratulations to the Majestic management and staff on a job well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank exhotelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,519 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,525 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 169 in Melaka
660 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: £98 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing