We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“That special touch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“That special touch”
Reviewed 9 June 2012

On the last leg of our Malaysian road trip, we decided to pamper ourselves at The Majestic and we were not disappointed. Wonderful service with attentive and obviously well-trained staff. Great clean classic rooms. Kids loved the claw-foot tub with direct view of TV. Inter-connecting rooms were ideal for our family. The hi-tea in the afternoon taken in the library was "oh so civilised" - lovely teas, sandwiches, nyonya kueh , cakes, pies and curry puffs and not forgetting scones and cream - just what we needed after a long day. The hotel is situated by the spruced up Malacca River. The monorail directly fronting the hotel is slated to be up and running late 2012. All in a great stay - due in the most part to the staff going the extra mile and the impeccable way all our needs were anticipated.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are glad to know that your stay was pleasant. It is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards

Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    406
    98
    22
    15
See reviews for
358
694
51
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Everything was excellent in the Majestic, including the food, room, SPA and so on. The staff r so nice and friendly.The room is very classic and clean. I mist be visit again in the future trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yu-ling C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed in the Majestic for three nights and were very impressed with the quliaty of hotel and staff. The public areas in the old house are well looked after cool and relaxing.

All the staff in the hotel were very friendly and service was attentive without being overbearing - On check-in we were shown to our room and left with some chinese tea which was a nice touch and very well presented.

There is a small swimming pool and nice modern gym positioned between the old house and the new block, all well tended and inviting - maybe on the best for sun worshipers due to the various shadows from the surrounding building.

Our room was well finished, I was a little sceptical about the bathroom sperated by sliding shutters, but is wasn't a problem in the slightest - the big free standing bath was impressive. Our room faced towards the sea looking out over the town, providing a great sunset veiw.

Location wise the hotel is a bit out of the centre of town, but is a very plesant walk along the river, or if you are feeling lazy there is a frequent boat service that chugs up and down the river.

We also stayed in the sister hotel in the Cameron Highlands.

Room Tip: Sea/town views are worth asking for, great sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bxc048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards

Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed overnight at the hotel with the initial impression of sleeping in the heritage premise but it was not the case. The rooms are located in the new block behind the heritage building, which was used to house the restaurant, bar, library and the lobby only. We were greeted by the friendly staff wherever we went in the hotel compound. Service was prompt from check-in till check-out except at The Mansion Restaurant. I pre-ordered my vegetarian meals with the hotel but somehow when it's time for meal, the waiter & waitress did not seem to know how to handle my pre-order. Apparently, the hotel did not have printed food menu for the vegetarians. Dinner was still okay as the Guest Liaison Officer was present to manage it for me. However, the breakfast was slow until the restaurant captain/manager appeared to take our order. The semi-buffet style breakfast was not impressive at all. Very limited choices for big eaters. Cooked/hot dishes were even more pathetic. Taste rather bland. However, they charged RM70 per pax which was rather overpriced.
I'd give compliments to the room cleanliness and decorations. Comfy bed with fine touches such as bath salt sachet, luxurious bath tub and turn-down service were great! The day bed was another commendable feature of the room. The room came with more than 30 TV channels to choose from. I was given two conncting rooms which comprised a Deluxe King with a Twin bed configuration. However, the Twin room was too near to the adjacent hospital building with some noise in the early morning.
Hotel location is rather hidden by the hospital, especially the car park. We entered the hotel from the backyard most of the time. It's not so near to Jonker Street, the Red House or A Farmosa tourist spots. Unless one travels by car, it's be a long walk in view of the busy traffic and narrow pedestrian walkways in Malacca town.
Generally, I think the hotel need to re-price its offering for room & food to be more competitive among the 5-star resorts. The hotels is good for relaxation and honeymooners but be prepared to pay for the price!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Melaka river but not the connecting room at the corner of the building, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini_Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

We have taken note on your feedback and it is much appreciated. Our Chef and F&B Manager have prepared a vegetarian menu which will be presented to guests upon request.

Thank you and warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and the walking tour with Chew is a must - she made the stay well worth it. Generally everything about the hotel was good, and there were some nice touches such as the free local snacks scattered throughout.

However the one major complaint was that whenever a neighboring room was filling the standalone bathtub with water, the sound of the pipes was extremely loud.

Room Tip: The river views are nice, but there's a lot of construction going on for the next few years so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards

Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the Majestic. The hotel was really lovely with very friendly staff. I was initially concerned that the bedrooms would be a disappointment as they are in the modern section of the hotel. However they were fantastic with decor which fits in with the ambience and decor of the older part of the hotel. The hotel was situated about 20 minutes from the centre facing the river and the Kampong. I recommend walking along the river to the centre. It was great to stroll along the river watching the boats and looking at the colourful buildings on the way.
Overall a great weekend retreat.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belatedbackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and it is much appreciated. We look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M.nxrgpb.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This wonderful little hotel operates Reception, bar, dining room and library from the original beautifully restored building. Behind this is the new building housing the guest rooms which are just amazing. Seldom have we experienced such cleverness thought in the design and execution of a guest room. Four poster bed, claw foot bath and the best shower I have ever had anywhere. There is a great bonus with this hotel - they have a resident historian - Chew - who conducts guided tours of Melaka. She is knowledgable and personable and the tour is FREE! Instead of visiting Melaka as a one day from Singapore or KL why not take the opportunity of enjoying this hotel for a night or two. There is a small gymn,swimming pool and spa. There is only one disappointment and that is the breakfast which is minimal but the wonderful staff more than make up for this deficiency.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlocbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MajesticMalacca, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted to know that your stay was pleasant and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Warm regards

Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#2 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the spirit of Malacca’s commercial History, The Majestic Malacca provides an ideal location for productive retreats. Conveniently located in the heart of a UNESCO World Heritage site and only a short drive from Kuala Lumpur and Singapore. The rich culture and history of the city inspires intimate brainstorms and business meetings in this 54-room boutique hotel. Creativity and innovation and enhanced on the quiet luxurious conference centre ensuring efficiency, performance, and optimal outcomes as each event is supported by modern communications and executed to perfection in any one of the hotel’s three versatile function rooms by knowledgeable and efficient staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing