We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hospitality Personified!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Majestic Malacca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Majestic Malacca
Ranked #3 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hospitality Personified!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

From the moment I checked in till the moment I checked out of The Majestic Malacca I was pampered in luxury. The staff has been the friendliest and in true sense show that a guests happiness is all they vie for. The entire team of the hotel lead by the General Manager Mr.Ben Quah made us feel special every moment. It was our honeymoon and they made all the arrangements in the room and every moment our love was celebrated throughout the stay. The rooms are great, food is great, location is great, staff is the best. Thank you ,there will definitely be more visits and I wouldn't hesitate to say that it is one of the best Hotels in the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure and we are honored that you have chosen The Majestic Malacca to celebrate your honeymoon. We wish you both all the best and thank you for your review on your recent stay.
Warm regards
Ben Quah and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    835
    402
    98
    21
    15
See reviews for
353
684
51
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed at the Majestic for 3 nights between Christmas and new Year when Malacca was really busy with tourists, but the hotel was a lovely haven of tranquility. Service was excellent. All the staff really friendly and helpful and agree with another reviewer that Min was delightful. The room was very characterful and well furnished, though note that soundproofing, both in the room and with other rooms is minimal. The bathroom is only separated from the bedroom by sliding louvred doors, which is fun but as a couple you have to be 'close'. A bit of a walk to Jonkers, but no great problem as Malacca is compact and v visitor friendly. So far! As unfortunately in their wisdom the city authorities have given permission for an enormous and quite out of character hotel / apartment/ 'attraction' complex which is dominating the loop of the river outside the Majestic. Far enough away that it does not impact overly on the hotel's views, but you can't miss it! All in all a very enjoyable stay. Both the hotel and Malacca itself highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRO16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us in The Majestic Malacca and the service rendered by our stars acknowledged. Your feedback is much appreciated and will be conveyed and shared to all our stars. Thank you.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

A fantastic hotel. Great value for money, great ambience, amazingly attentive staff. Beautiful breakfast room and spa. And did I say amazing rooms? Absolutely the go to place in Melaka. Only quibble is that hotels (all) do not have sliced lime to add to the red papaya on the breakfast table.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca. Your feedback is much appreciated and noted for our dedicated team to improve for our guest experience.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Hotel ground, facilities and room are very nice decor and comfortable. We loved the room: large, bright, with large and very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and old style bathtub. All in colonial style, clean and updated. Staff very nice, polite, helpful and attentive. We stayed over Christmas and all hotel was nicely decorated. Great breakfast. The best choice if you stay in Melaka.

Room Tip: Any rooms is probably great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We read with pleasure your review on your stay with us in The Majestic Malacca. My team and I is very encouraged and motivated and we thank you sincerely for your feedback.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Had 5 nights in this excellent hotel. It was like stepping back to a far more civilized time and place. The staff were excellent. Look out for Min who is a real sweety. Highly recommend staying here. If only all hotels were run like this one. Top marks to all the staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paults66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable time and I appreciate your acknowledgement of the service rendered by Min and will convey your commendation to her .

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California, Usa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Nice service in a hotel with an interesting past. Strengths are excellent service, nice rooms., very nice city walk from hotel. , proximity to river boat trip station. Weaknesses are odd absence of privacy of bathroom toilet, non/insulated door/ensuite between rooms, location somewhat off the historic center (about 15 walking minutes). Breakfast was ok, but meager by Malay standards. Dinner was good, but not exceptional and rather expensive. In a year rtime the view will be destructed by an ugly high rise that the Malaccan City Council approved and that could cost themn their assigment as world heritage. Constant haggling with taxi and bikle drivers and non/fixed taxi fartes are a nuisance in Malaysia at large.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with a door to next room `en/suite', river view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldlaufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay in The Majestic Malacca. It is much appreciated .

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We loved this hotel. We stayed for 2 nights with our 2 children (toddler and infant) in one room. It was the perfect size for us. The bathroom is separated from the room by sliding shutters (so not much privacy if you need it:) and includes a large claw-foot bathtub and separate shower.

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. Always friendly and helpful. They even packed a small lunch for our bus trip back to Singapore. Much appreciated when the bus stops at a small place on the side of the road that has nothing appetizing.

The hotel lobby is extremely welcoming and has all of these wonderful nonya snacks that I grew up with like salted plums, almond cookies, coconut milk caramels, preserved sweet olives, etc. I loved it! Every evening, we came home to a small nonya kueh (cake) and it was delicious.

The breakfast was really nice. Good selections.

The location of the hotel was perfect. Just next to the river and about a 10 minute walk to Jonkers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbunnykk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenQuah, General Manager at The Majestic Malacca, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you and family stayed with us in The Majestic Malacca and we thank you for your review. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the jars of titbits and nyonya kuih and look forward to welcoming you all back again.

Warm regards
Ben Quah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Malacca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Malacca

Property: The Majestic Malacca
Address: 188 Jalan Bunga Raya | Raya, Melaka 75100, Malaysia (Formerly Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Melaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#2 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Majestic Malacca 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelbag, Hotels.com and Holiday Gems so you can book your The Majestic Malacca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing