We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surrounded by the heritages !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #39 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surrounded by the heritages !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

It was a last minute booking ( and thus made us received the room*with window* but apparently it was a window not-to-be-opened as it was on the ground floor )

What i love most is that , this small "inn" is appointed into a-back-to-history setting, of a Baba Nyonya's House
You are provided with the best interior design of the peranakan house, with the "restaurant" soo comfy and relaxing to have breakfast with ceiling open to the sunlight.

But it gets creepy at night - who doesnt since its an old house turned into an "inn"
I walked throught the house( alone) , and climbed stairs, and it was soo silence ( either guests are already asleep , aor walked outside) , since it is situated at the Jonker Street, but the location is one or two blocks away , so your sleep arent disturbed by the noisy atmosphere of the Jonker.

Parking was troublesome - we made 3-4 turns before managed to get the best parking site - right in front of the house, and we parked there unmoved since Jonker was the only target for us stayed @ Malacca.

Overall, thumbs up!

Room Tip: Just ask first what kind of room you will get , We are a bit dissapointed for getting a window room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AthirahEtty85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    137
    144
    33
    18
See reviews for
67
114
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is close ish to everything. Little walk over the bridge. The room were very cosy, old fashion room, no windows but lovely soft beds and old fitted bathroom which have been modernist. The staff are ok, but dont speak Much English, breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tab459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Old hotel (it was old when i first stayed here 15 years ago).
Very clean, great position in the middle of the old town and tourist walks.

Rooms are fine although air conditioning needs an upgrade.
Breakfast very basic.

Small complaints as the hotel is perfectly located & historically old rather than tired.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Located near (walking distance) to the Malacca River, Jonker Street, Tourist Attractions, Shops and eateries.

Relatively easy to drive in and out of the bustling area as the car park is located behind the hotel.

Decorated and furnished in Peranakan Heritage, charming difference to the usual hotels.

With extra pillows given, we have decent sleep. Mattress is comfortable.

Quiet, except the unavoidable noise from fellow hotel guests as they walk along the corridor, chatting at the same time, doors opening and closing.

Clean towels and bed sheets.
- See more at: http://neutea.blogspot.com/2013/10/the-baba-house-malacca.html

Room Tip: No windows may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeuTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed with my family of 6 last weekend. The front desk and staff were not that friendly actually. One of the room we booked, the door access card system was at faulty. We tried many times and called up to front desk but they only send one of the guy to open with keys instead of the card. So we ended up accessing the room with keys without any feeling of apologetic from the Management.

The room were basic enough, value with the price I paid except finding few hairs on the bed. I am quite sensitive to cleanliness, so I was feeling rather itchy sleeping over. If you are fussy on hotel room, this might not be a good choice. But location wise it's good. Only a few steps away to Jonkers Street.

Room Tip: Maybe the higher range rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Sometimes you stay in a place where for all its failings, there is something about it. For me, this was such a place. No wifi in rooms, no window and poor TV reception, but overall, comfortable bed, hot shower, good price, helpful staff and great location. Above all, it had a good feel about it. If you plan to stay in your room on the computer and watching TV, well maybe you can stay at home. Otherwise, give this place a look.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne_Shawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Located a few hundred yards away from the main road, Baba is very charming and quiet. The open veranda next to our bedroom was a great place to relax. The house is like a museum in its own right and will keep you occupied. Great place for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ssulliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.3 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#46 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
Kapitan Kongsi Hotel
#16 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Property: The Baba House
Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing