We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ห้องพักขนาดเล็ก”
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #49 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 10 January 2014

เป็นห้องพักขนาดเล็ก อยู่ในย่านมะละกา
ห้องพักแสนจะธรรมดา และค่อนข้างเก่า
ตัวตึกดูสวยงาม มีเสน่ห์ ห้องน้ำเก่ามาก แต่น้ำไหลแรง
ทีวีแบบโบราณ
อาหารเช้า ธรรมดามาก ออกจะน้อยไปด้วย
พนักงานไม่ได้บริการอะไรมากมาย
แต่เดินทางไปถนนคนเดิน หรือแหล่องท่องเที่ยวได้สะดวกมาก

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strawberry_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

Like everyone said, it is a very decent hotel. It is very near to Jonker street. The service is very good where they will give u a map for references. The room has a bad smell, it is very noisy early in the morning where all the cleaners walk around making noises and from the construction nearby (poor sound proof). Only 2 pillows are provided which is not enough. The wifi is really bad which I cant even connect to it, also the signal there is poor, I cannot even make a call. DO NOT BOOK THE ROOM ‘WITH WINDOWS’!! nothing special about it.

Room Tip: do not choose room with windows. nothing special about it only more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yan_22o9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We got a king sized bed room for a decent price. They only gave us 2 pillows. We have to pay extra for another pillow. The location is good. They provide free wifi but it is slow in the rooms. My tap stopped working. We could not flush the toilet. Wash hand. It caused us inconvenience. The safe box did not work.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Raynardong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This is a a pretty decent hotel with quaint decor of Peranakan style and really immerses one in the culture and history of Malacca while staying there. Location is excellent and walking distance to Jonker Street, the major malls and other tourist attractions.

Building is authentically pre-war looking and decor seems to be really retro and conserved from the past. Pretty cool indeed and I passed groups of other tourists agreeing and commenting the same of the building. Along with me, we were snapping away at the dated but well kept premises while others were just chilling in the courtyard nursing a beer and chatting away.

Indian lady staff at the counter checking us in was helpful and gave us proper directions and a map, speaking fluent English. Proper service with a smile, not often had in Malaysia. I must say all the front desk staff I've seen were pretty courteous.

Room is basic and the hotel could afford to invest in better beds. I personally feel a good bed can make or break a stay and could be a factor for return business.

Breakfast was very very basic, coffee really poor and one can forgo it and get better food outside I'm sure. Although I really couldn't complain given the very reasonable price this hotel is.

All in all, its all hotel I may come back too if I didn't come across any other highly recommended ones.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevator and window is not needed to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arai33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Smooth check in and check out.

We had a room without window and it is okie for us. Very friendly staff when we ask for direction of nearby attraction. They even gave us a map for easy reference.

Simple but nice breakfast.

Sound proofing is not very good as we can hear the noise made by the kids playing at the corridor early in the morning.

Parking is available behind the hotel.

Try looking for parking around 12noon as it is the check out time and will have more available parking.

Free parking provided by the hotel but very limited. There is a bigger car park near by, RM3 per day (weekday) and RM5 per day (weekends).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I really like the exterior of the hotel and the common spaces outside the guest rooms. There are really a lot of interesting things to look at. Unfortunately the rooms are not as pretty. In fact they looked really old. If you are just looking for a basic place to lay your head and you wish to stay on Jonker Walk, this will fit your bill.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pageten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Was decent, but a few things could be improved, as follows: i) the toilet bowl was smelly ii) no extra pillows by default (budget hotels do provide at least 1 extra pillow) iii) the washbasin is wrongly designed, water splashes out all over the place

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghuram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 169 in Melaka
1,249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 169 in Melaka
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.2 mi away
5 Heeren Museum Residence
5 Heeren Museum Residence
#23 of 169 in Melaka
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £36 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing