We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated hotel. Needs upgrade.”
Review of The Baba House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baba House
Ranked #46 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel about 15 years ago. At that time it was small and charming. Stayed recently in July 2014 and it seems like the rooms have not been upgraded or updated for the past 15 years. It feels like a very old and tired hotel. The biggest complaint is the air conditioning which took about one hour to cool down a very small room. Service depends on who is at the front desk. On the day that we checked in, service was poor but on the next day, with a different person behind the desk, it was much better. Breakfast was unimpressive. Stayed for 2 days and both days we were served a "western breakfast" of scrambled eggs, toast, hashbrowns, fish sticks on day one and scrambled eggs, toast, hashbrowns and potato wedges with cheese whizz. What happened to the nonya breakfast?

If you are looking for a cheap hotel then this is it but do not expect much beyond the fact that the rooms were clean. Skip the breakfast and go to one of the nearby cafés. Do not choose a room without a window. We asked to look at one since it was in the "new" wing and we thought that the air conditioner might work better. The room that was shown to us was very musty smelling and the air conditioner worked just as badly.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room without windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here last week, and I personally feel this is the place for you if you need a place just to sleep.

Pros
1. Situated at Jonker street itself. Just walking distance to many of the main attractive areas ( Shops, bars, malls etc)
2. Classic design of the hotel itself which makes you get a touch of the Peranakan ambiance. One thing to feel if you're in Melaka!
3. Cheap compare to many hotels in/surrounding Jonker street
4. Friendly staffs

Cons
1. The rooms might be a turn off. We stayed in a superior twin room. Nothing superior is terms of the space though.
2. Cleanliness is an issue in the room, and I personally feel it's not well maintained, which doesn't really give you a good first impression.
2. The shower has the same issue with cleanliness, not that well maintained compared to the other hotels I've stayed in Jonker. The room that I stayed had a problem with the shower drain. It's clogged and as you shower, the water starts to build up and takes a long time to completely drain.
3.You get the old type of TV, and no Astro! (Cable TV network). Gonna be a bad plan if you intend to just relax in your room and watch tv! :D

Overall, I feel this place is good if it's a short stay and you just need a place to slumber away!

Room Tip: Perhaps the Heritage room would be a better choice compare to the superior one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rern86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

One of the first boutique hotels in Melaka, you are greeted by a helpful receptionist amidst a Peranakan-themed lobby. The ground floor is grand, intricately decorated and a sight to behold. Much attention is put in the decor, down to the last detail. Many tourists would just come in just for a few snaps. The location is superb, with many famous food/sightseeing highlights within walking distance. Parking is provided, but limited.

Unfortunately a lot of the charm wears off in the rooms. Although rife with Peranakan touches, the room is damp and musty. The walls are mouldy and unsightly. Might be because our room was windowless, but nevertheless the room looks like it needs urgent refurbishing. However, to their credit, the shower is good, and bed very comfortable. My wife's sleep quality was affected by the musty smell though. As for extras, the wifi is spotty, TV channels limited and no mini-fridge in the rooms. You won't be comfortable staying in the room for long. If only they maintained the rooms as diligently as the lobby.

Breakfast is simple and filling. There is a massage centre at the first floor but rather expensive (RM39 for half hour foot massage). The Baba House functions more like a depot where you rest and refuel before going off to explore Melaka old town again. Once again the location is excellent, service is efficient and the lobby is inviting, but stay too long in the room, and you might go nuts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ezekiel_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The rooms at the Baba House are so drab and depressing. As much as I don't like to hang out in lobbies, I spent my time reading in the lobby just to avoid the dreariness of my room.

PROS:

Good sight-seeing location in old Melaka. Old Melaka is small enough that any lodging within it is in a good location. Quiet street.

Large room, with high ceiling.

Interesting design elements: Greek key crown molding, ceramic door knobs, and a small bathroom that has a window (with translucent green glass) that opens up into the bedroom. So very odd.

Front desk staff were pleasant, and one woman was particularly helpful: I was looking for sewing thread, and she directed me to an variety store two blocks behind the hotel, that had an amazing selection. That place is worth a visit. The store had about 20 colors of thread, covered with years of dust, but they had it. That store is all you'd need to take to Mars.

NEEDS IMPROVING:

Walls are very scuff marked. So depressing.

Moldy smell in room. So depressing.

Lack of horizontal space; I ended up with most of my stuff on the floor.

Although the A/C was set to 16 degrees, it never got cooler than 22.

Moldy and faint urine smell in bathroom. So depressing.

No TV remote control; just another reason to sit in the lobby.

Soul-sucking lighting. So depressing. My room had no natural light and trying to pretend that the window to the bathroom was a window onto the world did not work one bit. So depressing.

No electrical outlet next to bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The hotel provides all the basic services you need for a comfortable stay. The location is excellent and everything is within walking distance. The room was clean but needs a bit of a "facelift". The breakfast was very basic but there are cafes' nearby if you need a good coffee. It gives reasonable value for money for Melaka.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were used to stars rated hotel accomodations in Melaka and had stayed in almost all 5 stars hotels there. My son recommended that we go for a change this time round, as he cherished the atmosphere and food that can be found in Jonker Walk.
The Baba House is located at the adjacent road with Jonker Walk, which is less than 500 m away. The place was a heavily renovated shoplots built in early 1900s. It was themed as a Peranakan residence of the 18th/19th century. Many items like furnitures, fixtures, garden decos were ancient lookings. In fact we found a pair of planted pot stands, rigth in -front of our room (1st Floor Lift ), that looked almost identical to the ones that we saw of a photograph on the wall of breakfast area, which dated back to 1890s. This museum piece are just left at the hallways.
Rooms are rather small but clean. We ecountered problems with the air-con, but were shiftly offered a replacement immediately. Breakfast could be better, but we don't mind as long as we could grab a bite and a cup of coffee, and out to venture the old part of Melaka.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

antique and magnifique.
this hotel is one of heritage site in Malacca. it may look old and vintage, but they made some renovation to facelift the interior. and one more thing, they had elevator to help you carry those luggage to the upstairs :)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank deapuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mori Residence
Mori Residence
#50 of 167 in Melaka
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baba House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baba House

Address: 125-127 Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baba House 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Baba House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baba House Hotel Melaka
Baba Hotel Melaka
The Baba Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing