We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Ranked #113 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Thank you A Famosa Resort..

Give us wonderful holiday...Friendly staff...beautifull place...

We will come again next year...

Thanks a lot.......

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank new_princess111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2008

The resort is far too distant away from the main attractions in Melaka. The return taxi fare is RM 140. If you don't drive, like me, you are at the mercy of the slow Banana Truck that circulate the large compound on request. And for excursion to Melaka or KL, you are at the mercy of private van driver, already cheaper than the tour agent on site. The condominium we booked has adequate facilities. But there are a lot of insects flying in because there are no windows in the kitchen to shut out the insects from the nearby golf course. My mother found it difficult to sleep because of the heavy traffic along the highway behind our apartment. The apartment is in need of a refurbishment. The light in the lift lobby on the ground floor was not working properly. We have to depend on the light from the open lift to move around. The receptionists at the front desk are of different standard of service. Some are friendly and helpful, while some are discriminating (against non-muslim) in attitude and manner. The complementary breakfast is monotonous, same 3 choices of set breakfast for all 4 days there. But you have no choice if you don't drive and are stuck at the compound. To go out for excursion, you can call up private van driver for tour of Melaka and KL. But it is expensive! Of the attractions in the resort, we tried the safari and cowboy town. The Safari was OK, with the lion tram the more unique experience. Part of the cowboy town was closed for renovation. Not much games and rides left. The carnival was good, but just a modified and scale-down version of Disney night parades plus some fire-eating performance. The highlight and only worthwhile thing in cowboy town actually. The restaurants in cowboy town are all very expensive! We enjoy some parts of our stay in this resort, but overall could have been better!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Villa D'Lagos:
What a nice villa ever stay. The surounding is very nice!The swimming pool is very nice for kids and the unit is very clean.The receptionist is friendly and helpful.

Breakfast :
International buffet breakfast is meet the 4 stars standard. The food is variety and good in taste!

Animal World Safari:
Very interesting place to visit. The animal show conducted very nice especially the multi animal show and wild wild west. Cleanliness is on average but the staff there very friendly!

How a wonderful trip at A'Famosa Resort and definitely i will come back again....

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bsb_yi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2008

It was a very nice and exciting place to stay, a peace of mind, I've spend 5 nights with my family and they were very happy, the atmosphere was very beatiful, the service, food activities. For a family it is the best place to visit.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank PeaceLebanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2008

We stayed at the Condos at this resort and were very disappointed with the quality. They are nowhere near as good as the rooms pictured on the internet. They are very old and needing an update, and the facilities are poor. However, the room was clean, which made it bearable.

The "free" breakfast is an embarrassment. You get a choice of three breakfasts (Western, Local or Oriental). We had the Western breakfast which consisted of sausages (cold), baked beans (cold), eggs (luke warm and hard), and toast. The two jams available with the toast were practically coloured sugar (I doubt any fruit was used), as was the "juice".

The staff were consistent - consistently bad. At check in I was ignored for several minutes while the two receptionists talked to each other. At checkout I was told that I couldn't pay with my American Express. When I mentioned that it had been swiped at check-in, then suddenly it was ok to use.

This resort is another Malaysian resort with institutionalised racism - the prices are less for locals than foreigners. Shame on you.

The "gym" has absolutely no cardio equipment at all. It looked like it hadn't been used for a long time.

Don't bother going to Cowboy Town - it has nothing worth seeing at all. The food at the Cowboy Town restaurant is ok. The water resort is pretty good, unless you have small children as the kids pool has not been maintained for several years and most slides can't be used.

Overall, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank f0urtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2008

At first I have my doubts whether to stay in this resort after reading a few unfavorable reviews form this website.

However, I went ahead and booked after pondering for 3 weeks. I booked at Beverly Condo with 2 rooms as there are 6 of us (four kids ranged from 3 yrs to 14 yrs old).

When we arrived at the resort, it was only 11.00 am and were directed to the condo. The reception is a very small area leading to the poolside. The receptionist said that we may check-in to our room. At first sight of the condo, my mind sounded an alarm as the building looks quite old and cluttered with alot of planks/old mattresses. Our room is on the 14th floor. I really do not know what to expect .

When we opened the door to our room, we were surprised but thank god that it is spick and span. The bathrooms are clean and nice. There's a queen-size bed in the master room and 2 single beds in the other. The view from the balcony is breathtaking. My children are happy. I took the room package which are inclusive of the safari and carnival. We really enjoyed them very much.

The next day, we were given simple breakfast for 4 pax (inclusive in the package). Maybe they shud improve on the quality .

I would recommend to families with children (same age as mine).

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mei64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2008

WHAT A HORRIBLE HORRIBLE STAY.

The stay at the villa at aFamosa was the final 3 nights of our vacation in Singapore and Malaysia. Unfortunately these three last nights of the vacation DESTROYED the enjoyment of the full vacation.

Here are the facts: ALL NEGATIVE

Reservation: NOT SATISFACTORY
aFamosa has invested ABSOLUTELY no training in customers service with their reservation and sales staff. The 3 bedroom villa with swimming pool was double the price for foreigners compared to the price for local Malaysians.

Check-In: NOT SATISFACTORY
Long queue (waiting time), unexperiences staff, chaos among aFamosa staff behind the check-in counter.

The Villa: HORRIBLE HORRIBLE
When we arrived the grass lawn was not maintained, the swimming pool was completely dirty, the villa was smelling old and uncleaned, the safety box did not work, one door of a cabinet fell off, the toilets were dirty, Cable TV had only two foreign channels, and the rest locals, only the TV in the living room had cable tv, the TV in the master bedroom had only local channels, the refrigerator was broken, dirty and almost tipping over.
FINALLY, THE BED SHEETS AND TOWELS WERE OLD DIRTY AND SMELLY. A few of the people staying in our villa was leaving with flea bite like rashes at the skin, which with NO DOUBT was due to the dirty bed sheets and beds.

The Swimming Pool: DISGUSTING
The swimming pool was old and not maintained. The water was not cleaned, and it was sticky (like there was a lot of sunblock cream in it).

Service from Staff: UNSATISFACTORY
When calling "0" from the Villa to get hold of the reception then the phone was always ringing for 20-30 times before someone answers it, if it is answered at all. Villa cleaning did not take place until late afternoon or evening. Staff was in general not motivated at all, no smile, no service.
Everything important for the management and the staff was rules which guests must follow.

Food:
Room service food is of very low quality. The breakfast buffet we only tried the first morning as it was a completely JOKE and Uneatable. Basically the setup seemed more like a military camp with portions of standard meals served. Plates, cutlery, drinking glasses, etc, WERE ALL DIRTY.
There were in general not acceptable restaurants wihtin the Afamosa Resort area, except for one place which was called Cafe Villa 183.

VALUE FOR MONEY:

NOT AT ALL, paying 888 MYR per night for this Villa was absolutely an embarrasing for us.

WE WOULD LIKE TO RECOMMEND THAT NO ONE ELSE DOES THE SAME MISTAKE.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mbh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
11.4 mi away
Sunflower Villas
Sunflower Villas
#66 of 168 in Melaka
19 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 168 in Melaka
648 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#34 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
12.6 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
13.0 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka

Address: Jalan Kemus, Simpang Ampat | A'Famosa Resort, Melaka 78000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £51 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 870
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rightly touted as a one-stop destination for business and pleasure, A'Famosa offers an international championship 27-hole golf course, the highly-acclaimed Animal World Safari, Water World Theme Park, Equestrian Club, Resort Hotel, Villas, Condotel, excellent conference/banquet facilities and much more. It's one of the few resorts in this region that can truthfully claim to have 'something for everyone' regardless of age, whether you're an avid golfer, animal lover, water sports enthusiast, or just someone who enjoys a blissful, worry-free escape from the hustle and bustle of modern city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famosa Melaka
a Famosa Hotel Melaka
Melaka Afamosa Resort
Afamosa Resort Hotel
Famosa Resort Melaka
A'famosa Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing