We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Resort that need a retouch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
Ranked #113 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Having a business trip here 10-19/11/2013 and staying at Twin Sharing.
Reception quite rude to me during checked in.
Public relations officer really friendly when I complain about the service.
Room condition quite old and need to be retouch.
Scenery are awesome.
Room service are Okay.. Food served in a transparent container and delivered to the room.
Food a too common and need to be upgrade.

No No Factor.
-------------------
* The staff are eating the same food that guess had and had it on the same tabel.
* The staff mopped the kitchen floor washed it in the sink. (Guest can view this due to the kichen are all glass wall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AhLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
There are newer reviews for A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is far away from Malacca and in need of a major renovation. My room looks worn out and the room was very dusty. My son and I was allergic to the dust and had to stay out of the room because of that. The hotel being away from the city meant that the food and most of the things in A'Famosa are expensive. Hopefully, the next time will be a more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auntiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We recently rented two villas as part of a birthday celebration. Facilities inside the villa is just only satisfactory. But once you step outside the unit, beware of your steps. The area is filled with a military of ants. The area is unkempt, and the grass not trimmed. The water in the swimming pool
is over chlorinated.
Never dine at Huang Di Chinese Restaurant, the food was lousy, let alone the poor service.
On a scale of 10, I'll rate this place a 2.
The rest , you decide.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malaqan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I had booked this place for 1 night through some offer, trust me the best i could ever get. Including breakfast and dinner at golfer's terrace. Just imagine in USD 30. One night stay in super cool 1 Bedroom Condominium, with superb breakfast and dinner for 2.

It made my day :) :).

Room Tip: If you choose Condo Afamosa to stay, Ask them to give room in New tower, Tower 4 is Bit old.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VarunKhera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Service was ok,we checked in and out smoothly. We booked the condotel. Kitchen door was a little difficult to close. Toilet was blocked. Other than that the room was ok. The water theme park was good. The kids enjoyed it. Didn't really enjoy cowboy town....maybe bcos the weather was warm and we were sweating. I would recommend visitors to get tickets earlier or with the room package bcos it is really crowded during weekends and public holidays and you will have to wait in a long line in the heat for hours just to purchase the tickets. The waterworld washroom was also packed, so we had to go back to the condotel in our wet clothes.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PremyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here at the resort hotel for a night for our department's teambuilding in early Sept 2013, with outings to the Cowboy Town & Waterworld. It was a showcase of terrible experience one after another.

We were only allowed to check in at 4 pm (which was very unusually late) and the rooms were not even ready by then! The experience was then made even worst when we entered the rooms and found it to be smelly and lacking in hygiene. The towels smelled and were greyish in color, there were stains on the bed covers, and the bath tub were seriously disgusting. Some of us requested for additional beds which only came an hour later after repeated requests. The hotel system and staff seemed disconnected with the customers, and nobody seemed to know exactly what has been booked for us.

The sales manager were very rude to our staff after obtaining our confirmation for the bookings (basically after they've received payment for the bookings). The room rate was way overpriced at RM 300++ per night for the poor quality of the room.

It certainly is a dismal place, perhaps once full of potential, but now is just an embarrassment. With the way the current management runs the place, I would not be surprised if it goes out of business soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank natomel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Had a big family outing (8 adults + 6 kids) to a 4-BR villa here. Looking at all the negative reviews online, we set very low expectations and treated it as a chalet or camping trip. It was indeed pretty much what the other reviewers had mentioned - very run down and really poorly managed.

However, because we had our own transport and also brought a lot of cutlery, utensilis, electric cooker and food, we could make our own breakfast and meals and didn't have to experience the "restaurants".

Overall, enjoyable trip if you don't expect hotel-style stay. It is back to basics, non-urban, no frills type of place (with dirty toliets thrown in). At least our toliets and most of the electric stuff were working.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
11.4 mi away
Sunflower Villas
Sunflower Villas
#59 of 167 in Melaka
19 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
634 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
12.6 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#62 of 167 in Melaka
131 reviews
12.7 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#25 of 167 in Melaka
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka

Address: Jalan Kamus, Melaka 78000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £42 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 870
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rightly touted as a one-stop destination for business and pleasure, A'Famosa offers an international championship 27-hole golf course, the highly-acclaimed Animal World Safari, Water World Theme Park, Equestrian Club, Resort Hotel, Villas, Condotel, excellent conference/banquet facilities and much more. It's one of the few resorts in this region that can truthfully claim to have 'something for everyone' regardless of age, whether you're an avid golfer, animal lover, water sports enthusiast, or just someone who enjoys a blissful, worry-free escape from the hustle and bustle of modern city living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your A'Famosa Resort Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Famosa Melaka
a Famosa Hotel Melaka
Melaka Afamosa Resort
Afamosa Resort Hotel
Famosa Resort Melaka
A'famosa Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing