We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic River View” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Song Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
River Song Residence
Ranked #30 of 206 Melaka B&B and Inns
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic River View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stumbled into River Song residence with plenty of surprise. This is a new and clean hotel, with a balcony facing river, very nice and cozy, we decided to put up with additional stay the moment we saw the balcony as it was so relaxing. If you drive to Melaka, this place is especially easy to locate, it is within Jonker street vicinity and parking is plenty around the location, but it is all common parking and you need to purchase parking coupon. The hotel is strategically located, and you can easily walk to most of the sight seeing places in not more than 10mins. The owner was very helpful too. We took 2 rooms, both en-suite, the rooms are very clean and comfortable, toilets are fairly new and good. One of my most memorable stay hotel in Melaka. Only set back, the wifi is insufficient, if your room is at the back of the premise, nearer towards pantry/river, you cannot pick up wifi, you need to move your gadgets to hotel lobby to be able to pick up wifi signal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adel_K0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    40
    17
    4
    5
See reviews for
19
35
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
klang selangor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

The room and bathroom is very clean. The air-conditioner and shower is in a good condition. They also provide free Wi-fi. The price is reasonable and it is an ideal location - within walking distance to Jonker Walk, Christ church, Baba-Nyonya Heritage Museum, Indian street, and etc. The employees are very friendly and welcoming. They provide information on how to get around and I would definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thina15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

The room is clean and neat. The staffs are friendly and well service too. The room rates is reasonable for the location (very near to the Jonker Walk) and the cleanliness. But there only have 13 rooms in this guest house, please make a reservation if you go on weekends. Strongly recommended to stay!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miuchen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

A charming new guesthouse with good location being near to Jonker thus within easy reach of most tourist attraction and famous food (esp for those who are here in Melaka to hunt for Best food).You can expect clean rooms (provide towels too )attached with bathroom or shared bathroom- rest assured though shared, the toilets are very clean and the showering is shiok.Price reasonable.Free coffee and tea, hot and cold water dispenser and a fridge to put your own canned drinks or fruits.You can relax at the spacious balcony sofa looking at the building or river.Spending 4 days here, We would like to express our thanks & happiness to the awesome owners Tan and Asri and the awesome service manager Jantzen and even the cleaner Ah siong.You guys are really fantastic, helpful and live dictionaries for makan places, ha..Thumbup service rendered and appreciated.We will be back....Regards SusanYeo and David Liew, Singapore

Room Tip: For those who bring old folks can choose the ground flr rooms with attached bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yeo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.1 mi away
River One Residence
River One Residence
#12 of 206 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#18 of 206 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
hangout@jonker
hangout@jonker
#17 of 206 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Voyage Cottage Lodge
Voyage Cottage Lodge
#34 of 110 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Song Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Song Residence

Property: River Song Residence
Address: 100, Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 206 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River Song Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your River Song Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing