We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Song Residence
Ranked #31 of 217 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Love the balcony that views the river melaka in day and nite, fantastic location min to jonker walk, love the cleanliness of the residence and the service is good. the only thing is if u r intending to sit by the river at nite pls get ready mosquito spray so u can enjoy the scene without disturbances! I am returning to this place again, miss the melaka river and the food there.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry_Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for River Song Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

A very cosy place. Off the busy main street so it not too noisy. Given rooms on the ground floor near the back. Bed was firm, sheets were clean. Clean toilets too. Has a chill out area on the 2nd floor with a view of the river. Very reasonable rates. Free wifi. Got to book early!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcusvoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Wonderful location, with not one but two terraces overlooking the river. The shared baths are very clean and handy, and the atmosphere is quiet but convivial. I made a couple of friends while I was there. My room was windowless, but that isn't a problem--there's less chance of mosquitos straying into the room and it is quieter. The aircon was great, the mattress was firm. The hotel owner went above and beyond, personally chauffeuring me to a clinic when I had a back spasm. My only criticism is that the bed linens are not cotton but some kind of synthetic. For a hotel of this quality, I think an upgrade is in order. One other suggestion, which I'd like to share with every guesthouse I've been in so far: Please install more hooks or pegs in the rooms, and a surface large and high enough for a couple pieces of luggage. Closets and drawers I don't need, but hooks and a shelf would make it so much easier to sort myself out. Getting on the floor to retrieve things from my bags gets more difficult all the time! Bottom line: excellent value and a very nice memory for me.

Room Tip: Since this is a lovely old shophouse, it's core is essentially open to the elements. Though one...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We arrived a little early about 11 o'clock in the morning. We just wanted to put our bags at the front but the staff was so kind and offered us to check-in, also we could rest at the room. The room, toilet, corridor, kitchen (terrace) and balcony are all clean. We love the balcony, just facing to the river. The location is also good. There is some parking lots in front of the hotel and 1-2 minutes walk to a car park which cost you RM2/day. Breakfast is optional. The room is actually very simple and minimal but very clean and comfortable. There is no kettle in the room, hotel provides hot water and cold water. Very near to Jonker street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bunnies_mum-R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I had an ensuite room on the ground floor.

About the room:
1. There is a air-conditioning and a ceiling fan in the room. It was cool with the ceiling fan alone, even without the air-conditioning.

2. There is limited furniture - just a bed, and a bedside table. Luggage would have to be placed on the floor (clean though). There are hangers but hanging hooks are limited.

What I like about this place:
1. It is clean. The upper level corridor is carpeted and shoes are not allowed. I did not use the shared bathrooms but they look quite clean and are not far from the rooms.

2. The location. From the back door, there is a river-side walk way that leads to Jonker Street. It is definitely a quieter alternative route although the walking distance is less than 5 minutes. There are a few small cafes along the walkway which are quiet places for food and drinks at night.

Because of the excellent location, I could have my breakfast at the famous Chop Hung Wah chicken rice shop at the corner of Jonker Street and the river crossing. The queue was already formed at 9am. It is also within walking distance to St Paul's Hill and (a longer walk) to a very local satay house at Jalan Kota Lakasamana.

3. The rooftop terrace. I thought it was under-utilized! From the terrace, the view opposite the river is St Francis Xavier's Church. There are 2 river crossings from the river-side walk way, the nearest at 2-3min from the back door.

4. The staff. Pleasant and helpful.

What I don't quite like (but these are really minor points):
1. There are no external windows in the room (only internal windows opening to the corridor).

2. There is a water feature at the reception area. From my room, I could hear the sound of running water all night. It sounds like rainfall and I had no idea if it were bright and sunny outside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearer the back of the residence or on the upper level, if the sound of running water...
Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
4  Thank wdstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Great place to stay as the Hostel is walking distance to all major tourist attraction. Clean, bright and well furnished lobby with friendly staffs who love to share tips on where to go and most importantly, good food to eat in Melaka.

We have selected double bed room with ensuite. Neat, clean and air conditioned. Room is also equipped with ceiling fan for those who prefer the natural fresh air of the well ventilated hostel.

Fantastic view of the Melaka River at the rooftop terrace both in the day and the night while enjoying free complimentary coffee and tea. Do take note there are mosquitoes coils available at the rooftop terrace for those who are concern about the "blood suckers" which unfortunately is a common occurrences during the monsoon season anywhere is Melaka.

Overall a good hostel to stay for any visitor to Melaka due to it strategic location. Boss is very receptive to feedback thus don't hesitate to share your ideas or concern to him. I believe this hostel have very good potential to provide even more great stay experience for any patrons.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cybourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

At the rooftop terrace by the river you can just relax and enjoy a free cup of coffee or tea. The rooms are clean and the hostel looks great. The service from the staff was just great. Our taxi didn't show up and one of the the staff memebers decided to bring us to Melaka Sentral for free. Great service, great hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marcel_Vleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.0 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#4 of 217 in Melaka
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roof Top Guest House Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Cyclamen Cottage
Cyclamen Cottage
#16 of 217 in Melaka
85 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ABC Lodging
Hotel ABC Lodging
#37 of 217 in Melaka
17 reviews
0.5 mi away
Emily Travellers' Home
Emily Travellers' Home
#7 of 217 in Melaka
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Song Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Song Residence

Address: 100 Lorong Hang Jebat, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 217 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £10 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — River Song Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your River Song Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing