We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel”
Review of Prima Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Prima Hotel Melaka
Ranked #131 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed 26 October 2012

The hotel looks reasonably new, as indicated by the bedroom decor. We asked for two connecting rooms which the hotel obliged. However, we had to climb two floors with an infant and luggage. The lift, as commented by previous reviewers, remains in a perpetual state of repair/maintenance. Frequent climbing of the stairs became a strenuous affair. Anyway, overall our stay was quite pleasant, except for the almost continuous barking of dogs in the night. The hotel's location is quite central to the main city atractions. No major complaints really, as the rates are very reasonable, you get what you paid for.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damas1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel.

The place is pretty run down although it is newly built one or two years ago. The hotel is still undergoing renovation. The lift is not completed. You have to climb up the narrow stairs with the luggage.
There is no potter to help you with the luggage.

The room is big but the bed is only a Queen sized bed.
For family with children, the bed will be considered small.

The floor in the toilet is very slippery. The drainage is poor hence the water will "flood" the toilet.

You have to put the "Please make up my room" tag at the door for the staff to clean up your room. We did not get one of our rooms clean because we did not put this sign. The room which was cleaned was not thoroughly cleaned. The dustbin in the toilet was not emptied.

The breakfast was not of good quality standard.

The best part of this hotel is the location. It's located near Jonker Street and there are many shop houses nearby. It's also pretty quiet at night which allows good sleep.

Room Tip: Choose Level 1 if you do not want to climb too many flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicaonghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The location of the hotel is within a 15 minute walk to famous Jonker Street, Christ Church and the Dutch House. Ask for directions and a free local City map at guest reception. There is a food super-market located a block from the hotel - to the right as you exit the hotel. In front of the hotel are many outdoor food vendors and food stalls - on a very busy street with a lot of cars, motorbikes, trucks and buses. The vendors leave by 10 P.M. - closing their food stalls for the day. So, noisy traffic almost goes away too. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the street - a double standard room. It was better than a room facing the back because you'll hear a barking dog all night. The rooms are non- smoking. Two small bottles of drinking water are provided daily. Towels are changed daily. A plus is in-room WiFi included in the room rate and a friendly, smiling guest reception staff that are polite and helpful with directions. A 10% service fee along with a 6% tax is charged per night. So, the 10% service fee most likely is divided among all the employees (hopefully) that provide a service to guests. Therefore, there's no need for a gratuity.

The room is okay for 1 or 2 nights because the hotel does not provide toiletries - no hand soap, no toothbrush, no shampoo no hair conditioner. There is liquid soap in a plastic dispenser on the shower wall to bath in the shower. No bath-tub. Only 2 bath towels are provided. No hand nor face towel. There's a small cotton-towel floor mat. If you want extra towels - you'll be charged. There is a price list in the room. Pillows are very uncomfortable. Non are soft pillows - they are hard. The water from the shower will flood the entire bathroom floor. There are two water drains and the tile dries quickly but it can be very slippery during and after taking a shower. There is not a handle on the shower wall to hold on to when bathing to prevent slipping. Water drains slowly in the bathroom sink. Guests smoke in the hallway by the elevator where an ash tray is provided for them. Not good for non- smokers. The elevator does not operate and most likely it will take a long time before it does operate. So, you'll have to walk up the narrow staircase. Hotel staff will take your luggage to your room and back down to the reception lobby when you check out. The hotel staff will call a taxi for you if you need transportation to the airport or bus terminal. There are taxi's with a fixed rate and there are metered taxi'S. You may be better off with the fixed rate taxi because of congested street traffic. Housekeeping needs improvement. We killed a large brown colored water bug in our room the first night. Our room wasn't thoroughly cleaned for most of the 7 days we stayed at the hotel, especially the bathroom drains and sink - housekeeper left hair blocking the water drains. There is a telephone in the room, no telephone book - no note pad - no pencil - no alarm clock. There is not much room to unpack clothes. There are no clothes draws nor clothes closet. No in-room safe. There were just a few clothes hangers in our room.

Room Tip: Best choice: Standard Double Room With Balconcy facing the front of the hotel. Rooms facing the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veegee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I spend 2 nights staying in this hotel for business. Room is clean, bed and linen are pretty new. Overall appreance is ok.

The down side is the lighting, it is very dimm, no cupboards and all open concept. When you sit at the desk to do somework, you can hardly see as the lighting is very very poor. They don't tidy your room if you din out up the sign..mmm..Y..? The lift is still on construction and not working.

Location is ok, as a lot of road side hawker stall just outside the hotel and one hardly notice Cash & Carry outlet on the right of the street.

I would say this is a hotel that down have much of service and all on your own...

I would still give it a try provided some improvement has been done to the interior of rooms..

Room Tip: A very Jam location, don't go on peak holidays. Just park your car and walk..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcie2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Prima Hotel is a short distance from Jonker Street and very near the river. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room overlooked the street but we were not disturbed by street noise, rooms are clean and quite spacious and were clean and maintained that way throughout our stay. Beds were comfortable and there was enough storage space for our luggage and clothes. Aircon and hot water were both effective and everything in the bathroom flushed or drained as it was designed to.

It's not the fanciest hotel out there, a little on the utilitarian side and the lift wasn't yet working when we arrived but overall the impression was good. There appeared to be a few internal rooms which you might want to avoid if you want a view. The street outside hosts a fruit and vegetable market opposite the hotel and several roadside eateries on the same side as the hotel, you should never go hungry. Breakfast is Asian, Nasi Lemak, congee, fruit and tea or coffee, it did the job.

The walk to town via the river is lovely and by road it takes five minutes or less to get to Jonker Street. Crossing the footbridge and taking a right leads you to a couple of nice bars which are quieter than those in town and handy for a nightcap.

Staff were invariably friendly and keen to ensure that we were happy with what they had to offer. We were happy, it's very good value for money, nicely located and well staffed.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a small balcony overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

You want cleanliness? Here it is guaranteed. New hotel with some teething problems like no lift. Be careful on the step they are uneven. The tv has limited channels only. Staff are the assets of this hotel. All are well trained and not really greedy for tips. Some even refuse tips. I would strongly recoment this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raysonray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and it was well located 200 metres from the Malacca river and a short walk into town. The immediate surrounding is a worn out vegetable market but the river walk is very near by and is a lovely way to walk into the town centre which is 10 mins away. The hotel is basic and clean. The lifts were out of order but we were only on the first floor. Not sure when and if they will be back in order. We didnt eat breakfast so cannot comment.

Room Tip: Check the lift is working before you accept a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#46 of 169 in Melaka
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#91 of 169 in Melaka
102 reviews
0.7 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#61 of 169 in Melaka
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#56 of 169 in Melaka
101 reviews
0 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#99 of 169 in Melaka
14 reviews
0.1 mi away
CK Hotel
CK Hotel
#63 of 169 in Melaka
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prima Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prima Hotel Melaka

Address: Jalan Kee Ann, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: £12 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prima Hotel Melaka 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Prima Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing