We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SPARKLING!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
River One Residence
Ranked #61 of 212 Melaka B&B and Inns
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SPARKLING!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for the night. The highlight of the entire melaka visit was to experience the renowned Jonker St. and significant historical buildings within, but to our surprise We found a winner in this guesthouse. The place is sparkling! Amazing Value. The living room in the second floor has a great view of the river - which can be very relaxing. The shared bathroom is spotless clean. A very warm owner greeted us and never failed to help us when asking for travel tips. Would have given this place a 100% score if there was at least TV in the room but this wasnt a big deal at all. Would never hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: (im not sure) but i think i only saw one power outlet in the room. Bring an extension cord to power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fender21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    42
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
36
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is just in the Chinese town. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Shared bathroom is very clean as well. There is kitchen and free coffee and tea all day. Stuff is very friendly and helpful .
Wifi works great. Hotel has very friendly and pleasant atmosphere .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oremilak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

It was our first time visiting Malacca and we found River One Residence through a booking website. Our first impression was, the view was so nice! It's located at the riverside with a direct access to it through the backdoor. We got a room on the 2nd floor, and the backview was beautiful. The house was so homy. It was pretty clean. The room and the bathroom were nice too; already beyond my expectation, especially because the room rate was not expensive. Plus, the hosts were so nice and friendly. Definitely will stay there again if we're back to Malacca :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was there to participate in the Skyhawk half-marathon on a Sunday. Stayed for a night there on Saturday. Once you enter the room, you are to take off your shoes which makes it like a homestay. The room is clean and the air-conditioning is strong. There is no TV inside which is alright with me. There is also no toilet in the bedroom as all the toilets and bathrooms are shared. The toilets are kept cleaned. There is a nice view facing the Riverside. Location is convenient which is within walking distance to Jonker Street. The staff is helpful too. A pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: It would be better to choose a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parksong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second place I've stayed in Melaka but I've been in Malaysia for a few weeks now and nowhere has been this nice.
The building itself is immaculately clean, the bedroom is large bright with a comfy bed and great air conditioning. The kitchen is big and there is free tea and coffee available at any time, not just limited to a few hours a day like a lot of guesthouses.
The staff are friendly and super helpful, the building is also situated right on the Riverside so you can wake up in the morning and just go and relax to take in the atmosphere of Melaka.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Slatedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed for one night in here. such a clean and nice place. maybe because it was thursday so mellaca is so quiet. I guess only me and my friend stay here on that day :p
the location is not too close to jonker street so the neighborhood was really peaceful and quiet. My room at 2nd floor. that was great view to mellaca river, you can hear the cruise and the sound of the water :) feels like in a beach. the toilet was clean but i dont like the open roof. The balcony was nice. the lady gave me a very good bread for our breakfast :) we can easily take water or make our tea or coffee in the kitchen. also you can reserved a taxi from here. but the lady told me to watchout for a thief with a motorcycle that recently took tourist's bag. so you better watchout. afterall, this was a nice place to stay with a very reasonable price :)

Room Tip: choose 2nd floor for great view to mellaca river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estre_Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muar, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Basic rooms, beds and a drawer. All rooms airconditioned. Dont expect any frills of a hotel as this is a guesthouse and situated right in the middle section of ancient Melaka. But the rooms are clean and it has this very quiet atmosphere. Bear in mind all rooms have no bath ensuite. Free selservice coffee and cookies.You may use the kitchen to prepare your meals if you want too. We love this place.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abg_Acid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.1 mi away
Discovery Cafe & Guest House
0.2 mi away
Ringo's Foyer Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oriental Riverside Residence Guest House
0.1 mi away
Jalan-Jalan
Jalan-Jalan
#12 of 212 in Melaka
241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiong House
Jiong House
#49 of 212 in Melaka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River One Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River One Residence

Property: River One Residence
Address: 60-62 Jalan Kampung Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River One Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River One Residence is strategically located within UNESCO World Heritage of Melaka, overlooking Melaka River and boasting unsurpassed service, with clean and comfortable amenities, awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River One Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing