We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff, clean and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River One Residence
Ranked #13 of 208 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, clean and good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights in River One and really enjoyed our stay ! The staff is helpful and friendly, the rooms and the bathrooms are very clean and the location is perfect, along the river (obviously) and just 1 minute walk from Chinatown. They also have a kitchen you can use, so it's perfect if you miss to cook yourself ! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    40
    15
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
34
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We are on our 2nd day of 4 here and i have to say this is one of the best places we have stayed in malaysia. Very clean and nice and quiet at night. There is a brilliant second floor where you can relax and look out over the river. Also a kitchen and you can get back to basics and hand wash your duds. The staff/owner are really helpful and friendly. Great price too. Dont get me wrong its not 5 star but better than some "higher ranked" places we have stayed by a solid mile!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Calmac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for the night. The highlight of the entire melaka visit was to experience the renowned Jonker St. and significant historical buildings within, but to our surprise We found a winner in this guesthouse. The place is sparkling! Amazing Value. The living room in the second floor has a great view of the river - which can be very relaxing. The shared bathroom is spotless clean. A very warm owner greeted us and never failed to help us when asking for travel tips. Would have given this place a 100% score if there was at least TV in the room but this wasnt a big deal at all. Would never hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: (im not sure) but i think i only saw one power outlet in the room. Bring an extension cord to power...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fender21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is just in the Chinese town. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Shared bathroom is very clean as well. There is kitchen and free coffee and tea all day. Stuff is very friendly and helpful .
Wifi works great. Hotel has very friendly and pleasant atmosphere .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oremilak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

It was our first time visiting Malacca and we found River One Residence through a booking website. Our first impression was, the view was so nice! It's located at the riverside with a direct access to it through the backdoor. We got a room on the 2nd floor, and the backview was beautiful. The house was so homy. It was pretty clean. The room and the bathroom were nice too; already beyond my expectation, especially because the room rate was not expensive. Plus, the hosts were so nice and friendly. Definitely will stay there again if we're back to Malacca :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sekar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was there to participate in the Skyhawk half-marathon on a Sunday. Stayed for a night there on Saturday. Once you enter the room, you are to take off your shoes which makes it like a homestay. The room is clean and the air-conditioning is strong. There is no TV inside which is alright with me. There is also no toilet in the bedroom as all the toilets and bathrooms are shared. The toilets are kept cleaned. There is a nice view facing the Riverside. Location is convenient which is within walking distance to Jonker Street. The staff is helpful too. A pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: It would be better to choose a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parksong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

This is the second place I've stayed in Melaka but I've been in Malaysia for a few weeks now and nowhere has been this nice.
The building itself is immaculately clean, the bedroom is large bright with a comfy bed and great air conditioning. The kitchen is big and there is free tea and coffee available at any time, not just limited to a few hours a day like a lot of guesthouses.
The staff are friendly and super helpful, the building is also situated right on the Riverside so you can wake up in the morning and just go and relax to take in the atmosphere of Melaka.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Slatedogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#52 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River One Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River One Residence

Property: River One Residence
Address: 60-62 Jalan Kampung Pantai, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 208 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — River One Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River One Residence is strategically located within UNESCO World Heritage of Melaka, overlooking Melaka River and boasting unsurpassed service, with clean and comfortable amenities, awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River One Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing