We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great, Hotel is basic”
Review of The Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Explorer Hotel
Ranked #53 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Location is great, Hotel is basic”
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

If you're not fussy, this no frill hotel will be ideal.
1. Best location, it's just next door to Mahkota Parade Shopping Mall, it's beside Newton Food Centre, (where the night market is on every Friday to Sunday evening) across the street is Pahlawan Mall
2. Plenty of eateries within walking distance
3. Jonker St, Menara Taming Sari, historical sights are all within walking distance (10 mins at most)

Hotel itself is basic, laminated wood flooring. No cabinets just 4 hangers mounted on wall provided. A small dresser with mirror, but that is where they place the kettle & cups. A safe is provided besides the refrigerator.
Toilet is small, with soap dispenser, toothbrush provided.
There are many rooms on a single level so if you are a light sleeper, might want to get room away from lift as other guests loud talks and laugh might be disturbing. Lucky me my room was tucked in the end.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank L0vespell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    53
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
41
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is at an excellent location. There's Dataran Mall on the opposite side and Makohta Mall beside, 24 hrs McDonalds just opposite, 10 min walk to the Tower, Maritime Museums, riverside and Churches, 15-20 min walk to Jonker Street. Shops on Jonker Street are open on all days, but they have a very happening street market on Fri, Sat & Sun (6pm-11pm). Do try out the radish cake and twisted potatoes on stick. Location wise the hotel is in the perfect spot.

In the hotel, there is no restaurant or dining area, but since most shops and eaters are nearby, that really isn't an issue. Rooms are modern but small, bed is comfy, no wardrobe, just wall hooks for hangers. Has basic amenities - hair dryer, soap dispenser, safe deposit box, coffee, tea, kettle, small flat screen TV & toothbrush-paste packs, shower was ok. Check-in happens only at 3pm, we arrived early but our room wasn't ready so we left our bags in luggage room and went for lunch. After we got the room, we noticed that the bedsheets and pillows cases were dirty so we asked the housekeeping to change them...which was done immediately. We also faced another issue, there were no towels kept so we had to ring them up for that as well.

Overall its hotel is very basic and is fine (we just did an overnight stay). If you don't want to spend too much time & money in hotel but are more interested in sight-seeing and exploring outdoor places within a very short stay then this is appropriate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Bearing in mind first that this is a budget accommodation, one shouldn't expect way too much. Check-in was swift and the concierge on duty (Neethen, if I remember his name correctly) was very friendly as well as helpful. Hotel room is on the small side but is actually pretty comfortable and most importantly, clean. Personally, I can generally put up with a smaller-sized room (as long as it's not completely cramped, of course) but hygiene is something I cannot compromise on so it was a pleasant surprise to find that both the room and washroom were pretty much squeaky clean. Another thing I enjoyed was the high-pressured showers; there's nothing as awesome as taking a soothing hot shower after a long day out!

Overall, a very satisfying stay that's well worth the price charged although accommodations are more suitable for travelling couples as opposed to families with kids (in my opinion).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KarenismL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel location is really excellent, right opposite Dataran Mall and next to Makohta mall , near Hatton square and short walk to Jonker Street ( 15 mins tops - ask hotel advise to the short cut ) and has availability of free parking to guests at the adjacent multi storey car park - not linked to hotel so you have to exit with what you want to bring to the hotel on the side car park entrance onto a side alley then turn left at end of that alley to the main entrance - it will be interesting in rain as there is no cover shade along the side lane and if you park on the upper floors you have to walk down the ramp where the cars goes up as there is no lift or stair case access and signage is poor . The car park entrance is after Makhota shopping mall, turn right and keep to right lane to turn right at the back lane , same lane to the mall rear parking entrance - go about 200 metres and look out for signs as you may end up going into the Makohta mall car park and the signage is poor so you really have to keep your eye peeled - you take the ticket that is dispensed when entering the car park make sure you keep this ticket with you and not leave that in the car as it needs to be scanned by hotel reception to revalidate when you are ready to take the car out of the premises - the exit spills you out next to NEWTON FOOD CENTER out to Jalan Medeka ( where Dataran Mall is )
This is a no frills hotel with a small lobby - basic with a few seats and a couple of computers for guest - free use for internet and also free WIFI in room if you have smart phone or lap top . There are machine that sells hot coffee at the lobby and chilled can drinks . No food facilities in house - so you have to eat out ( unless you are with Group Tours - where there is a breakfast room on level two and the hotel did not tell me, I stumbled upon it by chance ) regular guest no breakfast available !
The standard room which is for twin occupancy is really small - two small side table on either side of the twin bed - the space at foot of the bed is tight and the TV is wall mounted - the aircon unit is literally above the TV - works fine though - The toilet is small , with shower only , no bar soap provided but the liquid soap dispenser in the shower is all you get - hot water is from an instant heater - small sink only has cold water tap - and a sitting toilet bowl - no shelf space .
The room has no cupboards and only two wall hooks with 4 hangers available - a small so call work table doubles up as dressing table and the tray for cups with water boiler with the coffee / tea sachets and two small bottles of drinking water takes up two thirds of the space - the only chair is the so call work table chair .
you will not be able to open a big suitcase in the room and walk around.

No carpeting only a wooden floor and the walls are paper thin .
The in room electrics is turned on with the room key card being placed in a slot on the wall ,at the side of the door - once you take the key card out the electrics shuts down .

You will not be able to make outside calls with the phone in the room - and I did not see a coin operated phone in the hotel lobby but there is a DIGI phone shop diagonally opposite the hotel entrance that you can purchase mobile phone cards( thank goodness ) .

The hotel receptionists are pleasant and helpful - The hotel is a NON SMOKERS premises ( thank goodness )

I was assigned Room 422 - the bed was comfortable enough and no leaking toilet .

All in all this hotel is not ideal for long stays unless you can get the bigger rooms

Only one English language foreign TV channel - is aviailable even though it is ASTRO - no such luck such as BBC / CNN or Channel News Asia !

As the hotel is still new it is still fairly clean , neat and tidy but given time one wonders how well she will age and whether money will be willingly spent on maintenance.

Room rates are reasonable - although because I went on the three days before Christmas 2013 - I paid the increased rate ( weekend rate ) throughout rather than regular rate.

In summary - for location wise it cannot be beaten unless you are prepared to fork out for more up market 4 / 5 star premises which are available nearby which has swimming pools etc etc . This one is a basic hotel , no frills premises ideal for short stay - so what you pay is well what you get , comfortable enough . In summary it does serve the purpose and meets the basic needs .

Room Tip: Insist on the 4th Floor rooms if possible and choose the ones facing the sea - the side facing Datar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wong m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

This is a budget hotel in a great location (next to the malls and a ten minute walk to Jonker Street). No frills, no breakfast. Standard rooms are very small, with just a bed and a small stool. We had a room that faces the main road, which got really loud and noisy in the middle of the night due to motorcycle street racing.

Room Tip: Pick a room that does not face the main street to get less noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theslowpace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed in room 422 the other night. Not only does the toilet is leaking and the electricity went off all the time, the room is very noisy because of the pubs. The receptionist was kind enough to move me to another room but it is still very noisy. Furthermore, the bed and pillow was so uncomfortable thus I did not had any rest afterall.

Room Tip: If you have more time, try looking at others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrey Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Went there over a long weekend, the the hotel was basic, clean and nice. Receptionist was helpful. Majority were Singaporeans whim came for a short trip like us. Near to makota mall and jonker street. One on the right and the other on the left respectively. Definitely a good loaction for stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lineasy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#47 of 166 in Melaka
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 166 in Melaka
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#42 of 166 in Melaka
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#50 of 166 in Melaka
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Sui Hotel
Sun Sui Hotel
#88 of 166 in Melaka
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorer Hotel

Property: The Explorer Hotel
Address: Plaza Merdeka No. 1 Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Explorer Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing