We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Basic Hotel”
Review of The Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Explorer Hotel
Ranked #52 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Basic Hotel”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Room is basic and clean. Bed is comfortable. Limited size but just nice. Location perfect! Opposite to mahkota mall and night market every friday night. Walking distance to jonker walk about 15minute. McD across the street. Would stay here again

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rOd1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    53
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
41
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Booked The Explorer Hotel during our short 2 days getaway at Melaka. Prior to booking, I had reminded myself, do not expect too much as this is a budget hotel. Guess what I was right.

The room was given minimum decorations and they do not even have a cupboard to hang our clothes. The soap dispenser does not work as it was jammed and the floor was slightly dirty.

There is only factor that makes this hotel worth the stay. The location. It is only less than 1 minutes walk to Mahkota Plza and directly opposite is Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall. Jonker Walk is only less than 10 minutes walk away.

If you want a hotel that is low in price with a superb location, this is the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominic_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay at this hotel. Drove from singapore to here with the help of GPS navigator.. No trouble as the signages of the hotel could be seen clearly next to Mahkota parade shopping mall. The hotel has an adjacent multi- storey carpark, the ticket can be validated at the hotel reception each time you drive out. Hotel reception was polite and swift. Room was really small, but the good location compensated for that. Stayed in a room on the 4th floor near the front end of the long corridor, but could hear the loud thumping disco music coming from nearby nightclubs even at 2am!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennis123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Room is extremely small for MYR170 per night.

Pictures on their website are rather misleading.

Reception personnel were rude and arrogant when we complained about the room rate.

We'll never stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jyap11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

A great value for money! Overall it was an excellent for me, the concept of the hotel is just like Tune Hotel but it's cheaper therefore don't expect much from the staff. Parking here is free so it's good for locals who drove to melacca. The shopping mall is just next door so getting food wasn't a problem. It was a really convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiashinlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

If you're not fussy, this no frill hotel will be ideal.
1. Best location, it's just next door to Mahkota Parade Shopping Mall, it's beside Newton Food Centre, (where the night market is on every Friday to Sunday evening) across the street is Pahlawan Mall
2. Plenty of eateries within walking distance
3. Jonker St, Menara Taming Sari, historical sights are all within walking distance (10 mins at most)

Hotel itself is basic, laminated wood flooring. No cabinets just 4 hangers mounted on wall provided. A small dresser with mirror, but that is where they place the kettle & cups. A safe is provided besides the refrigerator.
Toilet is small, with soap dispenser, toothbrush provided.
There are many rooms on a single level so if you are a light sleeper, might want to get room away from lift as other guests loud talks and laugh might be disturbing. Lucky me my room was tucked in the end.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank L0vespell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

This hotel is at an excellent location. There's Dataran Mall on the opposite side and Makohta Mall beside, 24 hrs McDonalds just opposite, 10 min walk to the Tower, Maritime Museums, riverside and Churches, 15-20 min walk to Jonker Street. Shops on Jonker Street are open on all days, but they have a very happening street market on Fri, Sat & Sun (6pm-11pm). Do try out the radish cake and twisted potatoes on stick. Location wise the hotel is in the perfect spot.

In the hotel, there is no restaurant or dining area, but since most shops and eaters are nearby, that really isn't an issue. Rooms are modern but small, bed is comfy, no wardrobe, just wall hooks for hangers. Has basic amenities - hair dryer, soap dispenser, safe deposit box, coffee, tea, kettle, small flat screen TV & toothbrush-paste packs, shower was ok. Check-in happens only at 3pm, we arrived early but our room wasn't ready so we left our bags in luggage room and went for lunch. After we got the room, we noticed that the bedsheets and pillows cases were dirty so we asked the housekeeping to change them...which was done immediately. We also faced another issue, there were no towels kept so we had to ring them up for that as well.

Overall its hotel is very basic and is fine (we just did an overnight stay). If you don't want to spend too much time & money in hotel but are more interested in sight-seeing and exploring outdoor places within a very short stay then this is appropriate.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Venus Boutique Hotel
Venus Boutique Hotel
#47 of 166 in Melaka
190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#16 of 166 in Melaka
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#42 of 166 in Melaka
26 reviews
0.3 mi away
QuaySide Hotel
QuaySide Hotel
#49 of 166 in Melaka
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Sui Hotel
Sun Sui Hotel
#88 of 166 in Melaka
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Explorer Hotel

Property: The Explorer Hotel
Address: Plaza Merdeka No. 1 Jalan Merdeka, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Explorer Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing