We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, friendly staff, comfy room and clean.”
Review of The Santo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Santo Inn
Ranked #109 of 210 Melaka B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice location, friendly staff, comfy room and clean.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was my first time staying at Santo Inn. We were welcome by a friendly staff, Andy. I like the concept of the guest house with the olden-kind of house (wooden floor), wooden chair and deco.

The bed was okay except pillows were a little soft. The room was in good condition(looks new too) and clean. Don't have to worry that the room is hot.. Air-cond was good. The only thing some guest might not like is lack of soundproof. You can hear footsteps whenever someone is outside your room. It wasn't an issue for me because the sound wasn't loud.

Bathroom was in good condition. No smell or visible dirty footprints. They also provide shampoo and body lotion in the bathroom too. I wish they could have provided slippers for bathroom usage.

Other than that everything is good. Just a 2-3 mins walk to Jonker Street. Will be back to Santo Inn next time :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaaaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    7
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the santo inn for 4 nights in november 2013. The room was very small but clean. The showers were not so clean, it was a lot of ants in the bathrooms. The guy who workes there is very kind and nice, but he is the only one who's working at the hostel so the security is very bad when he's not there. The frontdoor is suposed to be locked but the locker did'nt work. One morning a guy went in to the hostel, stole the keeys from the reception (beacuse the guy who workes there was sleeping in a room and had left the key behind the front desk) and went in to our room while we were taking a shower. He took both our cellphones, a camera and some money. We were very sad and contacted the police, but we had to leave the same day. The guy who worked there helpt us to call the police but he did not offer us any compensation for our lost things or any other help. If you wanna feel safe, dont stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriella E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Very simple, but location is perfect - heart of Malacca, but quiet enough.
Bathroom needs a little refreshments and more cleaning, I would like second bed sheet, and walls are very thin, but every other things are perfect - friendly staff, comfortable bed and l like their minimalistic decor of white and black and splash of color. Hot water is available, drinking water is very cheap, and there's selflaundry. Very good value for money.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Snezhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

It was a good location to stay nearby the Jonker Street. The owner was nice and friendly. The room is comfortable and it's really feel like i'm home. The surrounding environment is clean. It's worth to spend money and time to stay there. I was enjoyed my trip!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmenLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpurr
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked last minutes room at Monkey guest house through Agoda for 2 rooms over weekend. Very decent and clean guest room and value for money. Quite small room fit for 2 person at time, room was very clean and aircond working perfectly well. Bathroom was very clean too. Secure as well as you need key card to get in plus your room key. The reception Andy was very welcoming and friendly. Bed was very comfy too. And peaceful place to stay and sleep at night. Location wise very close to everywhere especially Jonker street only thing is parking is a bit difficult to find. All small alley and road.We managed to get parking nearby anyway. Would recommend to all backpakers out there. By the way there was self laundry service downstair with tv as well. And free wifi:)
Overall was good.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaAKalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Just few steps away from Jocker street...
Is at another end of jonker street, quite.
Small rooms, but enough for you to comfortably put up a night and take a good rest..
Owner is friendly and the place is clean..

However, only 2 bathroom/ toilet to share among all, so plan your day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyLauBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The location is great, 5 to 10 minutes walking distance to all major tourist attractions in the town. The owner himself is really lovely, and is willing to help you out whenever you give him a call. Facilities wise there are 2 bathrooms with shampoo and body wash provided. Wifi as well as washing machine with dryers are provided too.

Room Tip: 'Inner' rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
V'La Heritage Hotel Jonkers Melaka
0.1 mi away
Sunb Residence
Sunb Residence
#10 of 123 in Melaka
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kawan Kawan Guest House
Kawan Kawan Guest House
#71 of 210 in Melaka
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Warisan Eco Lodge
Warisan Eco Lodge
#11 of 123 in Melaka
17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cafe 1511
Cafe 1511
#17 of 210 in Melaka
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harmony Lodge
Harmony Lodge
#118 of 210 in Melaka
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Santo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Santo Inn

Property: The Santo Inn
Address: 68 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia (Formerly Monkey Guesthouse)
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Santo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santo Inn is located at the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage City of Malacca. The Santo Inn is situated along the street fondly known as "Tofu Street" (a.k.a Jalan Hang Kasturi), an old street adjacent to the famous Jonker Street. It's only 2 minutes walking distance to the Jonker Street, easy access to major local attractions such as Cheng Ho Culture Museum, Christ Church Melaka, Cheng Hoon Teng Temple, The Stadthuys and many more. The Santo Inn features 8 standard double queen size rooms, one with attached bathroom, 7 rooms with 2 sharing bathrooms with hot/cold shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Santo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing