We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended Hotel - Reasonable price”
Review of D'Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D'Hotel
Ranked #148 of 227 Melaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel located near Jonker street just 2 turn left of traffic junction. The room is clean and comfortable. The hotel staff will briefly guide you to the popular tourist attractions and also suggest most recommended food..................,,,

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chipz n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

we reached there about 7am, and get additional charge of RM50 because of early check in.

We stay at ground floor, obviously the soundproofing is not nice as you can heard people walking and talking along the corridor.

Room design is special and nice. it is clean also. Service is good as well.

The only thing that make us felt inconvenience is car park. We need to put a parking coupon altho we stay in the hotel.

By the way, there is a small stall call "Chiam chiam" in front the hotel. It is worth to have a try.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

For the amount of money paid for the hotel, you could get what you hoped for or even more. Good side: good location, near the jonker walk (I walked by foot for about 10 mins), in front of the hotel are restos and near to markets. Room is clean.
Down side: no elevator - not friendly for people with kids and heavy baggages. You can actually hear everything that is happening beside and in front of your room. I guess they can hear you too. When I stayed there's this one family booking half of the entire hall. They were very loud and I woke up because of that.
The room was so and very small. But I got the twin bedroom, the bed is actually pretty big it fits for both me and my big partner. So the other bed wasn't used.

You can ask the receptionist to book you a taxi. They are very friendly as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mscatherina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nice hotel, although the space is small. Its clean and comfort. It is worth when promotion period.
the location is near to the town about a 15-20 min drive and will reach DP and MP. Satay celup is just next to the lot shop of the hotel. But for the parking, they have no car park for those who driving and the driver need to put the coupon himself/herself. The design in the room itself is quite nice. And the television is working because most of the hotel television did not work at all or the transmission is very bad. Maybe you can try to stay this hotel to see yourself how the condition.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ah_yang00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is located smack in the middle of a row of shophouses, and the sign wasn't really prominent so you can easily miss it if you don't look closely. You can park along the shophouses and a little further to the left of the hotel, there is an open air carpark that can probably house about 10-15 cars.

I booked the suite with a unique round bed. It is not for tall people or people who toss and turn around in bed. I'm of average built so it is decent enough for me and the pillows are very comfortable. The room itself is big, but if suite to you means extra amenities, then sad to say, you only get the basic amenities that comes with the suite. It's really no frills, and the flooring is wooden. I would say that the room is quite sound proofed though even though the hotel is facing a busy road and the eating places which open late into the night. The bathroom is big with basic shower facilities.

Jonker street is walkable, if you know how to. You'll end up at the back part of Jonker street rather than the front where most of the tourists congregate. It is also not that far if you drive.

There are 2-3 famous satay celup eateries around the hotel, so be prepared to queue. We waited for about 45 mins before getting a seat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JY2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Smart,, little hotel. We found rooms nice and clean with very good sized bathroom. Our room had no window but still ok. Staff helpful and gave us map and directions etc without us asking. 10 minute walk to Jonker Walk with all it's shops, bars, restaurants etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanmann25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

- Friendly staff with good local knowledgeable
- Accommodative service & listening ear to guest request for bed linen change though linens are still stained.
- Bathroom shower are in serviceable (yes you get water) yet damaged state (replace shower holder with your hands)
- Bed linens are stained with yellow patches (At least they did try to change)
- Bed had damaged springs.
- Walking distance (5-7mins) to jonker street along roadside lined with funeral parlours

** Conclusion, not for individuals with expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChristopherK226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Terra Nova Hotel
Terra Nova Hotel
#51 of 169 in Melaka
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Melaka
Holiday Inn Melaka
#9 of 169 in Melaka
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,540 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#38 of 169 in Melaka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Hotel

Address: 335 Jalan Ong Kim Wee, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 227 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: £12 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to D' Hotel, an elegant, luxurious Boutique Design Hotel strategically located in the heart of historical Malacca. D' Hotel offers 20 uniquely designed rooms ranging from "Standard" to "Deluxe" and "Suites".D' Hotel is a mere 7 minutes walk to Jonker Street, or popularly known as "Jonker Walk", Dutch-Built Stadhuys, A. Famosa, etc. and is surrounded by a variety of famous eateries serving popular local delights such as Satay Celup and Popiah.At D'Hotel, each room has its unique, exclusive design and furnishings, offering our guests different experience and ambience. Each room is furnished with a spacious bathroom, and is equipped with air-conditioner and a 32-inch flat-screen TV with Cable channels.D'Hotel also provides added amenities to cater to our guests' comfort and needs such as:* A Lounge area to rest and relax and enjoy the Cable TV.* The Lounge is attached with a pantry stocked with coffee, tea and simple refreshments.* A Computer area for your surfing pleasure or work.* Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.* Bicycle rentals for guests to visit and explore the surrounding attractions and eateries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your D'Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing