We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calanthe Artisan Loft
Ranked #10 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
1 review
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Had a very nice stay at Calanthe Artisan Loft for a night. The owner is very friendly and knows a lot of history and stories behind the various places around Jonker. He does guided tours which we heard are very popular, though we didn't have the time this trip to opt for it. The home is very nicely designed with self made art pieces and great attention to detail. Towels and basic amenities were provided and it definitely made our stay like a home away from home. The patio is large enough for 2 cars and it's perfect since parking at Jonker, which is just one street away, can be pretty hard to find. Overall, it was a pleasant stay and will definitely recommend to people traveling in groups or families.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Experience of staying in Calanthe Artisan Loft was wonderful and memorable for me and my family. Every corner of the loft had made impression for us. Owners Joe, Daniel and Christie were very helpful and they made us feel like a home! It was really nice of Joe, who spent hours taking us around the town and sharing his knowledge (history) about Melaka. My family and I highly recommend Calanthe Artisan Loft for your home stay in Melaka.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivysan2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

This is my first experience living in a loft and I guess this will not be the last. Colorful, creative arts and many personal touches in the loft makes you look forward for a good cosy rest after a day outing. Beyond my expectation for a home loft. Felt like a home and I wish it's my home. Love it to the max!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank eleneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I had a most wonderful time with my family (2 kids + 6 adults) in this cosy house, also thanks to the very hospitable owners Joe, Daniel and Christie... We were welcomed by a yummy herbal drink and a clean, airy house. Parking is fuss-free, and everything else was within walking distance. Joe was really nice to give our entourage a 3 hour heritage walk which really was the highlight of the trip. On the last day before I was going back to hazy Singapore, I moaned that I could not purchase a mask from Guardian nor Watson... and the owner got on his motorbike and came back with a box of masks from his local supermarket! Absolutely wonderful... Thank you for the marvellous experience :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuneGoh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajang, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I had a fantastic stay here, house is clean and with nice & creative decorated. Every art piece is unique and expressive. House is located at town area plus parking is provided purpose for self-driving visitor/family. Owner also shared with us the history Melaka that I never know. I strongly recommend this homestay that could bring you a memorable trip from Melaka. *like*

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mah-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Feel like staying at home with nice home deco. Mostly are done by the owner Joe from handcrafted lamp, painting and etc! And the owner brought us to walk around Malacca town and tell us the history for free! It's interesting!

Aaaa! It's so good and worth to stay here! Thumbs up for this homestay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heewei85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

Cleanliness and comfort of a place are the most important parameters for the travelers, but to me this place offers far above the expectations! and it's true.The beautiful interior design of this place combined with Malacca's traditional architecture make it an ideal choice when staying in Malacca. Complete furniture and cosy environment are the other important advantages of this place. There's no doubt that I will come back and i strongly suggest the visitors to check out this tasteful place. (:

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooman_Moslehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gingerflower Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calanthe Artisan Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanthe Artisan Loft

Property: Calanthe Artisan Loft
Address: No 16, Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 116 Speciality Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A natural home concept for "home away from home" - a place where you comfortable and content as if you were at home. A house with car porch located in the heart of the historical city Melaka, that is within walking distance to the UNESCO Historical Site, main business, shopping and entertainment districts by walking distance as below: Jonker Walk - 1 minHereen Street (Art Galleries, Fashion Boutiques, Baba Nyonya Museum, Bird Nest Museum, Conservation Museum) - between 30 seconds - 5 mins Malacca Stadthuys, Clock Tower, Christ Church, St Francis Church - 3 minsShopping Complex (Dataran Pahlawan, Mahkota Parade) - 10 minsOur loft with a build up of 130 square meters, fully furnished, self contained, self-service comfort and privacy. It is come with approx. 35 square meters Living with Dining room, setup with a old fashion cushion chair and 8 seaters dining set table. A 9 square meters AV room with a 39in LED Flat Screen TV, Home Theater System and Bluray Player, provide you the comfortably bean bag chairs for your leisure holidays with your treasure movie or music. We also have only bathroom with WC at ground floor, attached with hand and rain shower water heater. A useful kitchen by the indoor garden. Full facilities such like Electrical Cooker, Slow Cooker, Oven, Microwave, Dining ware etc. We also provide home basic cooking ingredients for your convenience to prepare your private meal as your wish. BBQ or Steamboat equipments will provide upon request too. One mezzanine bedroom approx. 35 square meters comfortably for 4 persons. It is a pair of King Size Bed with a branded Destress Mattress for you release your stresses and have a sweet dream in this Artisan Loft. If your plan is more than 4 persons, we will set up the extra DESTRESS MATTRESS at the AV room for make sure everyone have comfortable environment and setting for leisure. Looking forward to serve you and share with you our love and - culture of this heritage city - MALACCA ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing