We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”
Review of Casa Cucina

Casa Cucina
Ranked #393 of 681 Restaurants in Melaka
Price range: US$2 - US$13
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

A few days ago i visited this restaurant. The restaurant is acutally a family style restuarant and is very cosy and it is easy to get parking due to it located in a newly develop area. the owner is very attentice to guest but i could sense due to us being the only table. the place was a bit messy but maybe due to just finishing renovation.
Service:
The service i receive would be a 6 on a scale of 10.
-We were greated polity.
-Drinks came fast/food as well.
-The owner/chef should dress approprite le even thou it was not peak hour in the restaurant at least not in sandle and short.

Food:
Scale of food 7 out of 10
-The food is actually nice
-Main Food is fresh and not pre cooked(Other than the chesscake could taste and see it was not fresh)
-Would ask chef for his opinion on what was the days special if he had time.

He needs to buck up on his service crew. Set proper gromming standard for staff and make sure they know how to recommed the days special but not too pushy. The food is good and also he has to start better promotions to attract more people as the location of the restaurant is not that visible unless you are looking for it.
I would visit this restaurant again as i would to see the development of it as it is the only intalian restaurant in melaka located outside a hotel.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tan_909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We dined here on a Saturday night without reservations, and barely got a table for four inside as it was quite a small place. It was a quaint restaurant with limited seating and a kitchen visible from the dining area as it was only separated by glass panels. It would be wise to make reservations due to its small space, especially during weekends.

There was only a waitress, who could barely speak English and wasn't very informative. The menu was slightly limited and quite pricey for its selections. What we ordered were well-plated and very delicious, even though my alio olio was a bit too oily. The portions were also too small for its price and not exactly filling. If you are expecting food that tasted exactly like those you had in Italy or some restaurants in KL you are pretty much expecting the impossible. I realised later they also have daily specials written on a small blackboard at the back which the waitress did not bother recommending them to us, and they were written in Italian so I could not understand them.

Another note is that since the kitchen was clearly visible, we could see eveything in it, and I'm not very pleased with what I see. Despite being quite recent, the kitchen seem poorly maintained and the two cooks (not sure if I can call them chefs) seemed unhygienic. The owner, the main chef I presumed, was communicating with the cooks in quite a noisy "pasar malam" manner, which utterly contrasted the theme of the restaurant.

In overall, we did have an enjoyable time and a pretty short wait for delectable italian cuisines, and would definitely come back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiningAroundMUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food but terribly long wait!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Came on a Saturday night. Made prior reservations, so our seats & table was taken care of when we arrived. However when it came to our food and drinks - good grief! We were made to wait for more than an hour just for a glass of iced water! I understand that this could be due to not having enough staff - but really, that is not my problem as a customer.

The lady waitress who could barely speak English was reminded repeatedly for us to get our drinks served (Could barely understand what she was muttering to us)

Next was the food. I reckon we had waited for more than 1.5 hours for the first dish to be sent to us. And the best part was when everyone in my party of 5 had received our food and finished it, except for 1! She had to wait for MORE THAN TWO hours to get her food.

Despite the long wait, the mains tasted good. EXCEPT for the carbonara which was really light in taste (Nothing like what we had when we were in Italy, or any of the Italian restaurants in KL mind you).

Anyway all I wanted to say is, please get your system and timing sorted out. I'm not too sure I'd return again no thanks to the long wait.

P/S: The chef (who I was made to understand is the owner himself) was pretty arrogant when commenting about his food. Told us that regulars don't need to browse the menu but just need to ask for him to recommend the food. Erm ok thanks for the info but for first timers, how were we supposed to know that? LOL.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Located in the newly built shoplots of Kota Laksamana (and not to be mistaken with Casa de Cafe located on the main road) this recently opened restaurant serves good value Italian cruisine. The place is new, clean and well lit with the kitchen separated by glass from the dining so you can see the chef at work. The menu is fairly extensive and the serving staff (just one on the night we came) is friendly and helpful (… quick to provide an “off the menu” antipasta). The pasta was cooked to perfection and the pan fried fish (which we were informed, when we ordered, was different to that on the menu) was very tasty.

It does not serve any soft drinks, only fresh juices, coffees, teas and beer, and there is a bit of a wait for orders to arrive as everything is made fresh. Will definitely be returning. Cost was about RM150 for 5 adults for dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matsallehlagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, quaint place”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This place is a little hard to find if you're not looking out for it. It is located at the last row of the commercial centre facing the residential houses.

When we arrived, it was about 7.15pm so there were fewer patrons. We had the potato leek soup (creamy and yummy), bruschetta (bread was a tad bit hard to bite in), grilled flounder (just nice portions, not too big and very well cooked - came with a side of potatoes and asparagus), chicken skewers (delicious skewers with homemade sauce and deep fried seasoned potatoes), lamb rack (not so much a rack, small portion, cooked to perfection, goes very well with the mint sauce and accompanied by a generous portion of mashed potato), italian cheesecake (not dense enough, I personally didn't like it but if you like fluffy cheesecake, then you'd enjoy this) and tiramisu (thick coffee taste - extremely appetizing).

The drinks were nothing to shout about but the fruit juices were pricey (ranging from RM5.90 to RM8.90). Total damage to the wallet for the three of us was RM146.00

I'd like to go back to try the pasta next time around. This place has a glass panel separated kitchen and therefore you get to see what the chef is up to. Their pasta looks to be of a generous portion and is strewn with bacon and bacon bits (if you're a bacon fan).

Overall, this place has good food and if you come earlier, the crowd is much smaller.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa Cucina also viewed

Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 
Melaka, Central Melaka District
Melaka, Central Melaka District
 

Been to Casa Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing